We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”
Review of Tierra Magica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tierra Magica
Ranked #3 of 14 Escazu B&B and Inns
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Barbara is quite the amazing host, and her B&B is really lovely. The woodwork and artwork are beautiful, and the shower is great.

Barbara was so helpful, too. We arrived as it was getting dark and didn't feel like going out for dinner, so she took us along to the supermarket with her. We got food there and took it back to our room so that we could just relax and eat in.

The breakfast on the patio was my favorite breakfast in Costa Rica. It was so relaxing to sit out and have a delicious breakfast.

I would absolutely recommend Tierra Magica to anyone staying in Escazu. We even just stayed there in between flight days, and the taxis were easy and inexpensive from here.

Room Tip: It's a small B&B, so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
16
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Many places don't quite live up to their web site photos, but Tierra Magica exceeds expectations! I enjoyed just being in my room, which was lovely and spacious. The owner is an artist and this shows in the attention to detail in the architecture, furnishings and landscaping. She is interesting, good-humored and happy to answer questions or make suggestions. Breakfast was always delicious and there was more available than I could eat. I've stayed in six places during this trip to Costa Rica and Tierra Magica is my absolute favorite! I give it the highest possible recommendation!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slh-az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Tierra Magica - what an appropriately named bed and breakfast! This magical place is relaxing and the artwork by the owner is wonderful. Everywhere you look it is a delight to the eye. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and wonderfully unique. Breakfast on the little garden terrace is also lovely. Obviously we loved staying here! Tierra Magica is my new favorite place to stay in San Jose.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I recently stayed at Tierra Magica and it was wonderful. The rooms are unique and the artwork is incredible. The owner is really helpful. I could not have asked for better accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seminolejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

One day, I will have a room in my home just like the rooms in this artist owned and designed B and B......and the breakfast is great!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chchazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We stayed at Tierra Magica for a couple of nights on a business trip to the Central Valley and absolutely loved the place. To begin with, the place is in immaculate shape, from the very clean and functional rooms to the beautifully appointed gardens. The breakfast is wonderful and the service is very personalized, yet unobtrusive.
The only recommendation I have for Dona Barbara Odio, the owner, is to put out a sign in front of the B&B, as it took us a while to locate this gem up in the hills of Escazu.
We'll definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcelMPfister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I've stayed at Tierra Magica on several different occasions and it's always excellent.
I've stayed in both rooms and they're both great. TM is one of those little secret places you find and just know you won't stay anywhere else again. When my sister was traveling to San Jose I gave her the info to book and just knew she would be taken care of by the staff.
And she was. Writing this review sunday morning at home and I wish I was headed to the patio at TM for the amazing breakfast. English breakfast tea, fruit and granola, eggs w/ gallo pinto, toast and jam, and then off to travel or take care of business.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbellosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.0 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn San Jose-Escazu
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
3.1 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 78 in San Jose
889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tierra Magica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tierra Magica

Property: Tierra Magica
Address: Calle San Miguel, Escazu 10201, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tierra Magica 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Escazu, the best quarter of San Jose, Tierra Magica is a new and quaint B&B and Art Studio. It offers beautiful and independent rooms with the choice of a king size or two queen size beds with wireless internet, telephone, safe and cable TV. A complete breakfast is included and will be served at the garden terrace every morning between 7:30 and 9:30 am. Tierra Magica B&B is situated about 20 min. from intl. and 10 min. from domestic airport, which makes it an ideal starting point to explore the natural wonders of Costa Rica. Escazu also offers a great variety of excellent restaurants and shops. Transfers to/from airports can be arranged. We also offer the services of a private driver and tour guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Tierra Magica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tierra Magica Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing