We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great view harsh neighborhood” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Paradise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paradise
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Escazu
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great view harsh neighborhood”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I will be short as my stay here was not so pleasant. I was booked for a queen room they knew my wife and I have service dogs. At arrival was told they could not provide us with the queen room and then tried to charge additional fee for the dogs. After pulling out all nessessary paperwork they gave us a 2x double bed room but charged us the price of the queen. Beds were like sleeping on a rock. Nice view is all I found positive.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCMattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    13
    7
    12
See reviews for
15
32
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

the Staff (Gisele specially ) was the nicest most informative employees ever. the view will take your breath away and is worth the stay for that alone.

the room we were in was very small and needed some updating, but we did only pay $30 /night
internet connection was great and the place was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momoDMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is the BEST most enjoyable hotel Inn in all of Central America! Nothing comes close to this hotel Inn in all of Costa Rica. This is the very Best for your money. The location is the BEST most scenic location in all of Costa Rica. Nothing compares. This Inn is only a 40 cent bus ride into San Jose one way each hour. This is the most scenic hotel Inn in all of Costa Rica. The employees have been carefully selected. They are all the most professional, most intellient and most courteous men in women that I have ever seen in any hotel in all of Costa Rica. These hotel Inn employees are only happy if their guests are Happy at the Paradise Inn. This hotel
on the Mountain side over looking San Jose, has a better view than the Ifel tower in Paris France and for only a fraction of the cost. Al, is the Manager and owner of the Paradise Inn. Don't even think about staying at any other motel or Inn in Costa Rica when you are visiting the San Jose area. Nothing even comes close to what this Inn offers. There is also an excellent restaurant only one block away if you prefer eating out at a nearby restaurant near this Best Western Inn. The nearby Americana Restaurant even has music on Friday and Saturday nights. It's less than a city block away from the Best Western . Al, a retired medical doctor, the owner and manager is an excellent super friendly intelligent man who is originallly from southern Florida and the Florida Keys. He speaks perfect English and perfect Spanish. If you like dogs, this is the place to stay. Al loves Dogs and has 5 or 6 very friendly loveable pet dogs and a couple friendly cats on the property all looking to get petted. This Inn was kind of a home away from home . I spent two full weeks there. I hated to depart this excellent Inn on my last day. I'm now thinking about purchasing some land nearby this excellent Inn and build my home up on this same super beautiful mountainside. What a super beautiful view of the city each and every evening! The best mountain side view of a city that I've ever experienced in all of Latin America.
Nothing compares to this super scenic mountain side Best Western Inn location. This is the best ! Thanks Al ! Also I thank all the excellent professional thoughtful curteous kind staff at the Paradise Inn Best Western! DEAN

Room Tip: All the rooms are super clean and the location is super quite, safe and very secure. You won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

For the cost of $50.00 a night it was more than worth it!! The view overlooking the city of San Jose from this hotel is absolutely amazing! The staff was very friendly and very attentive to whatever we needed. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone. We even told our friends that live in Cartago and they will most likely try to spend a night or two up there just for a little get away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharklover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have never lodged at an establishment Like this one where every one from The Owner Raul right down to every member of his staff did so much to make me comfortable. They asked if I had any special needs I had a couple and they tended to them cheerfully and at no additional charge. Julia (whom I would Nominate for Maid of the year if such a title exists) and the other maids not only cleaned the room but sanitized and deodorized every day. The Chef was masterful not only Creating dishes that I could eat after my surgery but he made delicious them as well. The view of San Jose is awesome. The Hotel itself immaculate. But I must reiterate the It is the people that make this Inn among the best places That I have ever stayed.

Room Tip: The north facing Rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

the only thing nice about this hotel is the view, no pool, no spa at all, bussines center is one computer, ugly and not clean rooms, worst breakfast ever, taxis wont go to the hotel after 18:00 affraid of being robbed

Room Tip: stay away fron this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, General Manager at Hotel Paradise, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Felipe,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry your experience was not a pleasant one.
We have review your comments and found that you had left the do not disturb sign on your door therefore housekeeping informed us that after seeing it, they did no clean the room following our policy of not disturbing the guests whe the sign is hanging on the door. We sincerily regret that misunderstanding
We do have a small swiming pool. We do not have a Spa. But upon request we do offer pedicure, manicure, and masage. We do have for our guest a computer and printer in the lobby for their convenience
The breakfast is continental and complementary. Guest can order breakfast from the menu at a cost.
San Jose, as any big city, has some problems with crime, but this is not Mexico City,we have never heard that taxis are afraid to drive to the Hotel. This is basically a very safe area.
We are making changes to improve the quality and service we provide. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Escazu hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Don't know where to start.Suppose to be a nine day stay, left as fast as i could the next morning.Lets start with dirty, bad area,no one spoke english, the room was a joke, small , smelled awfull.I almost started crying laying on the bed.Honestly this place makes a motel 6 in the states look like a Hilton.Just decided to leave as quickly as possible and knew of a slightly more expensive resort which was absolutely incredible.I'm not over stating that this place should be condemmed it's that disgusting, all because i was saving 15 dollars a night.Just want people to be warned.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downtown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
3.6 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 16 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
3.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
2.1 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 16 in Escazu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 16 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
3.8 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 16 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradise

Property: Hotel Paradise
Address: 2 Km S Iglesia San Antonio de Escazu, Escazu 23556, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Paradise Inn & Spa)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Paradise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Jose, Costa Rica, the Paradise Cosmetic Inn Surgical Recovery Center is just a few minutes away from all major hospitals and plastic surgeons clinics, airport. Our unique surgical recovery center inn was built especially for patients looking for the best surgical retreat and aftercare. Costa Rica plastic surgery, plastic surgeons and surgeons in general are world renowned for their skill expertise and professionalism. That is why Costa Rica excels in the field of medical tourism. Enjoy the best views of Central Valley on top of a breathtaking mountain. We offer a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful new accommodations. Our English speaking nurses and professional staff are waiting to pamper and indulge your every need! Come and recover in the serene ambience of Costa Rica's natural beauty! Come and enjoy Costa Rica the country that offers the best medical tourism in the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise Inn And Spa
Best Western Paradise Hotel San Jose
Hotel Paradise Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing