We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel Ever”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Linda Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Linda Vista
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

the only thing nice about this hotel is the view, no pool, no spa at all, bussines center is one computer, ugly and not clean rooms, worst breakfast ever, taxis wont go to the hotel after 18:00 affraid of being robbed

Room Tip: stay away fron this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felipe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, General Manager at Hotel Linda Vista, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Felipe,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry your experience was not a pleasant one.
We have review your comments and found that you had left the do not disturb sign on your door therefore housekeeping informed us that after seeing it, they did no clean the room following our policy of not disturbing the guests whe the sign is hanging on the door. We sincerily regret that misunderstanding
We do have a small swiming pool. We do not have a Spa. But upon request we do offer pedicure, manicure, and masage. We do have for our guest a computer and printer in the lobby for their convenience
The breakfast is continental and complementary. Guest can order breakfast from the menu at a cost.
San Jose, as any big city, has some problems with crime, but this is not Mexico City,we have never heard that taxis are afraid to drive to the Hotel. This is basically a very safe area.
We are making changes to improve the quality and service we provide. We thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    14
    7
    13
See reviews for
16
32
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Don't know where to start.Suppose to be a nine day stay, left as fast as i could the next morning.Lets start with dirty, bad area,no one spoke english, the room was a joke, small , smelled awfull.I almost started crying laying on the bed.Honestly this place makes a motel 6 in the states look like a Hilton.Just decided to leave as quickly as possible and knew of a slightly more expensive resort which was absolutely incredible.I'm not over stating that this place should be condemmed it's that disgusting, all because i was saving 15 dollars a night.Just want people to be warned.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank downtown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Escazu hotels

Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Having stayed in the Multiplaza area of Escazu, I wanted something a little more quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Escazu. The Best Western Paradise Inn was the perfect solution. The views over downtown San Jose are incredible - both during the day and at night when the lights are laid out at your feet. The staff made every effort to make me feel welcome and were very friendly.

Right up front, this is not a five star hotel (but then the prices aren't five start either). The rooms are very clean, comfortable, and well maintained. The property is also maintained well. While there aren't a lot of restaurants within easy walking distance, the hotel restaurant serves a light breakfast (complementary - boiled eggs, coffee, juice, toast, fresh fruit, cereal, and yogurt), lunch, and dinner. The lunch and dinners are well prepared, a nice variety menu, well presented, and good portions - and the prices are very reasonable.

The only downside is that the hotel isn't easy to locate - either use a GPS or call and get turn by turn directions (not unusual for any driving in Costa Rica). I spoke with one couple staying at the hotel that had wandered for over 3 hours looking for the hotel (I would have given up and asked for help after 1 hour).

The combination of a quiet, relaxing location, rooms are clean and comfortable, friendly staff, decent restaurant on property makes this a good value for the money. The views are priceless.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms 16 through 28 have incredible views and a shared patio with chairs to enjoy look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I booked Best Western Paradise Inn & Spa for the last 3 days of my holidays in Costa Rica with the idea of having a quiet, peaceful place to get myself ready for the work afterwards. Indeed sitting in front of the window of my room was such a visual luxury. I very much agree with lots of reviews here about the friendly staff - they care about visitors!
Special thanks to Raul for a ride to Escazú so I can save some bucks for my errands in the city. Bryan for helping with the taxi arrangement and other requests. I forget the name of the chef but his casado and chicken sandwich are AWESOME!
One thing for others to consider is the location. It is a bit of remote to San José downtown, so it's worthwhile to take this into account when arranging activities.
Costa Rica is such a beautiful country that I'll come again. When I come, I'll book this hotel, too!

Room Tip: Join the Best Western Rewards to get an upgrade, which has a better view of the city from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burkeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Owner at Hotel Linda Vista, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Here at BW Paradise Inn we look forward for costumer satisfaction. We want our guests to feel at home. We also value any feedback provided to us as it help us only to improve for the best.
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our visit to the BEST WESTERN Paradise Inn & Spa located in Escazu ,was a trully unique peacefull & relaxing expierence, like no other in Costa Rica,our first experience was at the counter with Bryan make us fell welcome,with such a friendly smile ,all the time,took the time to explain all that is available ,T & C of hotel policy,offer us something to drink,walk us to the room,then later at the evening, for Dinner he greed us again at the restaurant ,he introduce us with the Chef Aris, that also was very friendly and smiling all the time ,the grill chicken was was tender, the vegetables were fresh,my wife loved the Italian lasagna ,nothing like tradditional Costa Rican breakfast ..the views of San Jose and other provinces are like no other,we would come back here...thank you.!!

Room Tip: the view ,just the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I arrived, was picked up at the airport and taken care of until departure. The staff is excellent,accommodating and very gracious. the views of San Jose are just incredible bring your camera. The food is delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raul C, Owner at Hotel Linda Vista, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We really appreciate you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the comment.
We'll keep doing our best and striving to the best costumer care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed here few times and recommended including my family. The location has breathtaking views and you are just 15 minutes away from town. Every need and want I had was satisfied, they will take care of you. Paradise made sure to communicate and discuss my itinerary and dietary needs prior to arrival.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
1.6 mi away
Out of Bounds Hotel
Out of Bounds Hotel
#9 of 15 in Escazu
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada El Quijote
Posada El Quijote
#8 of 15 in Escazu
193 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
3.5 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
279 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apartotel Don Francisco
Apartotel Don Francisco
#10 of 15 in Escazu
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Linda Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Linda Vista

Property: Hotel Linda Vista
Address: Calle 105 | 400 mts Este y 3 km al sur de la Iglesia de San Antonio de Escazu, Escazu 10202, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Paradise)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Linda Vista 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Linda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Paradise Inn And Spa
Best Western Paradise Hotel San Jose
Hotel Linda Vista Costa Rica/Escazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing