We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Friendly reception, clean, spacious rooms, delicious breakfast included. Excellent value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Jose Escazu to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly reception, clean, spacious rooms, delicious breakfast included. Excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is situated in a gated, safe community. It has a modern and very clean feel to it. Within the 'compound' It is surrounded by an array of outstanding restaurants, specialty shops, all in short very safe walking distance. The personnel is very friendly. Our room/appartment had a small kitchenette/living area and one bedroom.
The breakfast consists of 2 hot dish choices, cold meats, local delicacies, delicious fresh fruits and even waffles one has the pleasure to bake themselves. This place is at about 20 mins from the airport, thus not too far but still far enough to be quiet. It is utterly recommendable to business people and tourists alike. We were told that people often use it for short stays.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Anne-Marie W,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review in detail your experience while here with us. The location of the hotel is one of the best features and we are happy you enjoyed the surroundings a lot. The breakfast has a big variety of options to choose from being the Waffle station one of the favorites among our guests. We are delighted to know that you really liked our breakfast selections.
We hope to have you back soon again so you can enjoy our beautiful hotel even more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    88
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
99
68
23
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrison, Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Location, friendly staff, wonderful breakfast, free laundry, beautiful property. Ask for Alonzo Chaves at the front desk as a wonderful, safe driver. He is great! Juan Vargos is an excellent hotel staff member. You are in good hands with both gentlemen

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank QR365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear QR365
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for your great comments. We are very happy to learn that you liked our accommodations and enjoyed our amenities.
We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is great for business travelers on a long stay. Positives to consider:
1) Near to many restaurants and shopping. There's a Starbucks across the street, and a mall 10 minutes walk from the hotel.
2) Service and staff are all very friendly.
3) Breakfast/staff is positive and helpful. Keeps breakfast running and the dining room clean all morning.
4) Small, but useful gym. 2 treadmills.
5) Rooms consistent with expectations for a residence inn.


Watchouts
1) Not Many...no consistent hotel shuttle from hotel to nearby places.
2) Close to Escazu but a little longer to the airport.

Overall, a good experience. Would stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank My_Feedback_4_U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear My_Feedback_4_U,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for your feedback. We are happy to learn that you had a good experience with us. We look forward to having you again very soon with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Without a doubt, the property is remarkable in that it is exceptionally clean, very conveniently located, near great restaurants and other services every employee I encountered was so professional and caring that I truly feel it is my Home Away from Home.

In fact, however, the greatest asset of The Residence Inn Escazu are the employees! From the Parking Lot Attendants, the Front Desk Staff, Housekeepers and the Maintenance Team, everyone is so personable and genuinely interested in ensuring the guest is comfortable and happy during their stay at the property. Although everyone employee at the property is outstanding, Front Desk employees Luis, Adriana, Geiner, Marlon, Maria and Jeffrey and Maintenance Staff Members Danny, Steven and Simay are truly exceptional, in that everything they do they do with a genuine smile.

Residence Inn by Marriott in San Jose, Escazu, is highly recommended!

Vladimir Korolev

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Korolev,
We really appreciate you taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu. Your comments make us smile and happy knowing that you had such a great experience with us. The staff takes lots of pride in providing exceptional customer service and I thank you for recognizing their outstanding job especially from Luis, Adriana, Geiner, Marlon, Maria, Jeffrey, Danny, Steven and Simay. We are delighted to know that we have become your Home Away from Home.
We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel exceeded all our expectations ! Excellent Location, Excellent food & facilities, Excellent Service and Staff. Family Friendly and Pet Friendly. Great as well for Business trips. Highly recommended.
We stayed here for 17 nights with kids and pet and for the first time ever, an hotel exceeded all expections we had.

Thanks to all staff for making our stay wonderful !

Room Tip: Pet Friendly / Family Friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Hugo N,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to learn that your stay was perfect and that we exceeded your expectations. For us our customer satisfaction is very important and this is why reading these comments make us very happy.
We hope to host you all back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is fantastic for business travellers. It is not a great location if you are a tourist bringing a family (just because this is the city, and you want to be out in the country/on the beach), but if you have business to attend to in the San Jose area, I can't recommend this hotel enough.
The suites are super.

Room Tip: Get the suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tee Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Tee Jay R,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you had a great stay with us during your business trip. We look forward to having you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Panama, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staff was very friendly, spoke English and were very accommodating. Rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The location is great. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Within walking distance of the CIMA Escazu Hospital. They offer a discount if you have someone staying at the hospital, so be sure to ask. They will also fix you a bag of fruit to take with you to the hospital each morning if you ask for it. Additionally they will do some grocery shopping for you and deliver the food to your room. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxParrothead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear TxParrothead1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and experience about the Residence Inn Marriott San Jose Escazu. Having someone in the hospital is not easy and we are very happy to know that you felt very comfortable here with us.
Our best wishes for all of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#1 of 17 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.9 mi away
Real InterContinental Costa Rica at Multiplaza Mall
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing