We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Smithfield, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Overall a really nice property- Clean, clean and nice rooms.
Gym is small but good for a workout.
Morning breakfast was really nice- good selection.
Friendly staff- always helpful
Try the Peruvian restaurant around the corner- outstanding!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TONI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Tony B, thank you for sharing your comments about our property and for highlighting what made your stay memorable. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    100
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
125
88
27
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This property is a great location for Business or Pleasure. I have been here a number of times but now that the restaurants, food court , and Starbucks is open you can have the best of both worlds. Either a nice typical meal or a more high end experience. The staff, rooms, and security is excellent. I also like the fact that this place is 25 min from the airport, and cab fare is cheap and safe. I have brought my family here during a business trip and they loved the options the location presents. The breakfast with the omelette bar is awesome as well as the evening lite fare which consist of some different finger foods etc....

Room Tip: Top floors are great, however elevator can be really slow during the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Eric P, we highly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. The staff is delighted to be recognized for their service especially the Restaurant staff. Indeed the best omelet in town. The hotel is centrally located with many options around which make it convenient for our guests to have the best of both worlds as you mentioned. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We travel to San Jose occasionally for business and have found this hotel to be a perfect "base". It is near major shopping areas and our business appointments as well. The location in Avenida Escazu provides lots of dining options at night, without having to drive. The rooms are great for working and relaxing. Breakfast is very good. This hotel works well for us! There is construction going on next door, so request a room away from it.

Tulemar Dave

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulemarDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear TulemarDave,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are very happy to learn that the Residence Inn has become the perfect base for you when you are in San Jose. The spacious rooms we have will definitely give you that comfort that you need to feel just like home, complementing it with the great location where the hotel is at and the delicious breakfast we serve every morning.
You can count that the construction will have a minimal impact during your stay because of the great service and location that we can provide. Once the tower is completed, you will enjoy this hotel even more with the different options that Avenida Escazu will offer.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed for 3 nighs in early August. The hotel was super. The employees were helpful, the suites were outstanding, the breakfast was tasty & the location was excellent. The restaurants & shopping in the area of the hotel were top notch, especially the Peruvian restaurnat behind the hotel. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jeff B,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for the great comments about the service, breakfast, and location. We take pride in our guest satisfaction and we are really happy to learn that you had a fantastic experience. We also cannot wait to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, DF
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Residence Inn is well located at Escazu area. Surrounded by some restaurants, has also a supermarket close to it. The breakfast is good, with some local specialties like "gallo pinto". Rooms clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Very quiet area, so you won't have problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Thisamura,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Gallo Pinto. We constantly get great comments from guest during breakfast because of the Gallo Pinto and the different options we have. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This a good hotel, especially if you are planning to stay for a long period of time. It has all the amenities you need to almost be at home. In addition it has a great location is you visit Escazu. Around the hotel you will find a few good restaurants. However if you like to walk in the city and explore you should look for another place, this hotel is far away from downtown San Jose

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leoncioreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Leoncioreyes,
We really appreciate the time you took to write about the hotel and your experience. As you mentioned the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu has all the amenities to ensure that you feel like home surrounded by great shops and restaurants. We hope to have you back again soon in your home away from home in Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
298 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had two rooms (using points so I can’t comment on cost) as a transition from Jaco to the San Jose airport. The Jose Residence Inn is a perfect transition hotel. Sure, it would be great for an extended stay but it served our purposes for why we were there.

The front desk check-in and subsequent check-out went perfect. Pleasant greeting upon arrival. Seamless registration. Best part is you can pay your departure tax at the hotel. Depending on your flight time, it is well worth the extra five bucks from what you pay at the airport.

Typical Residence Inn room. Clean. Comfortable. Never used the kitchen but functional. Decent exercise room. Small but enjoyable outdoor pool depending on the weather.

The best part is the location. It is in walking distance of great shops and restaurants.

Only minor negative is the main entrance is hard to find. Our cab drove around a few times as there is no signage directing you to the main entrance.

Marriott has several properties in San Jose, Costa Rica and I highly recommend the Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Overall, not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Allen R,
Thank you for sharing your comments, suggestions and experience. The Residence Inn by Marriott is a perfect hotel suitable for a short or an extended stay. We take pride in our Guest Satisfaction and we are really happy to know that the Front Desk team did a great job meeting your expectations.
On regards to the comment about finding the main entrance, we really appreciate letting us know about how difficult it was to find it due to the signage. It is something that we will definitely look at to improve the experience of arriving at the hotel.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a extended-stay at the Residence Inn San Jose Escazu. Surrounded by activity in San Jose, Costa Rica, your after work hours will become leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing