We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed for 3 nighs in early August. The hotel was super. The employees were helpful, the suites were outstanding, the breakfast was tasty & the location was excellent. The restaurants & shopping in the area of the hotel were top notch, especially the Peruvian restaurnat behind the hotel. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jeff B,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for the great comments about the service, breakfast, and location. We take pride in our guest satisfaction and we are really happy to learn that you had a fantastic experience. We also cannot wait to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    99
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
87
26
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, DF
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Residence Inn is well located at Escazu area. Surrounded by some restaurants, has also a supermarket close to it. The breakfast is good, with some local specialties like "gallo pinto". Rooms clean and spacious.

Room Tip: Very quiet area, so you won't have problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisamura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Thisamura,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the Gallo Pinto. We constantly get great comments from guest during breakfast because of the Gallo Pinto and the different options we have. We hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This a good hotel, especially if you are planning to stay for a long period of time. It has all the amenities you need to almost be at home. In addition it has a great location is you visit Escazu. Around the hotel you will find a few good restaurants. However if you like to walk in the city and explore you should look for another place, this hotel is far away from downtown San Jose

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leoncioreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Leoncioreyes,
We really appreciate the time you took to write about the hotel and your experience. As you mentioned the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu has all the amenities to ensure that you feel like home surrounded by great shops and restaurants. We hope to have you back again soon in your home away from home in Costa Rica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I had two rooms (using points so I can’t comment on cost) as a transition from Jaco to the San Jose airport. The Jose Residence Inn is a perfect transition hotel. Sure, it would be great for an extended stay but it served our purposes for why we were there.

The front desk check-in and subsequent check-out went perfect. Pleasant greeting upon arrival. Seamless registration. Best part is you can pay your departure tax at the hotel. Depending on your flight time, it is well worth the extra five bucks from what you pay at the airport.

Typical Residence Inn room. Clean. Comfortable. Never used the kitchen but functional. Decent exercise room. Small but enjoyable outdoor pool depending on the weather.

The best part is the location. It is in walking distance of great shops and restaurants.

Only minor negative is the main entrance is hard to find. Our cab drove around a few times as there is no signage directing you to the main entrance.

Marriott has several properties in San Jose, Costa Rica and I highly recommend the Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Overall, not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Allen R,
Thank you for sharing your comments, suggestions and experience. The Residence Inn by Marriott is a perfect hotel suitable for a short or an extended stay. We take pride in our Guest Satisfaction and we are really happy to know that the Front Desk team did a great job meeting your expectations.
On regards to the comment about finding the main entrance, we really appreciate letting us know about how difficult it was to find it due to the signage. It is something that we will definitely look at to improve the experience of arriving at the hotel.
We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabarete, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My Husband and I recently spent a week in the Residence Inn by Marriott at San Jose Escazu. Very well placed hotel in a new busy area about 15/20 minutes from San Jose, with lots of good restaurants, shopping and an Imax cinema. The Hotel is surprisingly excellent, far better than we expected. The staff absolutely first rate, friendly and obliging and all well trained and English speaking. The rooms were above standard, well sized and clean with good maid service. Breakfast fresh, plentiful and varied every day. We have stayed in 5 star hotels in Central America which did not come up to the experience we had at this hotel. Congratulation to managers Claudia Sanchez and Allan Granados and their staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Gilian G
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and comment about the fantastic time you had with us. We are delighted to know that we exceed your expectations with our service, breakfast, hotel facilities and the variety of options around the hotel. Thank you also for the compliments on the well trained staff; they are thrilled to hear about your comments.
We hope your travels take you back again to Costa Rica and to your home away from home at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This RI is located in new, posh area of the Costa Rican capital. It is the perfect place to come with your family. Not much in terms of food and beverages, but there are many excellent eateries along the street. Rooms are large and comfortable and they have a kitchennette.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Raul J,
We really appreciate you taking the time to comment about the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu. As you mentioned this is a perfect place for families as well due to the spacious rooms, the fully equipped kitchen and the great location where the hotel is at with excellent variety of restaurants right outside the hotel. We hope to see you again soon in your new home in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst travelling around costa rica, so was a good base to hop from.

In a lovely areas next to some excellent bars, restaurants and the imax cinema.....which shows films in english and is very cheap

Usefully for us as travelling tourists the hotel has a free self serve laundry room....this was very useful.

Lovely rooms, lovely staff. Gym and pool are basic but fine.

A tip, if using taxis at the hotel ask for one with a meter (con maria) as otherwise you will pay over the top....applies throughout costa rica

Good value at weekends, expensive during the week

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear DelfromLondon,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We hope your travels take you back to explore Costa Rica and our beautiful Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a extended-stay at the Residence Inn San Jose Escazu. Surrounded by activity in San Jose, Costa Rica, your after work hours will become leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing