We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality hotel between airport and town, good stop for travellers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Quality hotel between airport and town, good stop for travellers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst travelling around costa rica, so was a good base to hop from.

In a lovely areas next to some excellent bars, restaurants and the imax cinema.....which shows films in english and is very cheap

Usefully for us as travelling tourists the hotel has a free self serve laundry room....this was very useful.

Lovely rooms, lovely staff. Gym and pool are basic but fine.

A tip, if using taxis at the hotel ask for one with a meter (con maria) as otherwise you will pay over the top....applies throughout costa rica

Good value at weekends, expensive during the week

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear DelfromLondon,
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your experience. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We hope your travels take you back to explore Costa Rica and our beautiful Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    99
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
87
26
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The facility is clean and modern, located in a new modern shopping district with dining and entertainment just steps out the door. Nice breakfast service included. Rooms are comfy and spacious. Will return again and again .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieTinMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Annie TinMia,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience and the great location where the hotel is at. We look forward having you back again and again at your new home in San Jose, Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escazu, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I spent just over 9 months "living" at the Residence Inn. It was absolutely wonderful. Location cannot be beat, near the iMax, mall, great restaurants, and the CIMA hospital. The staff there treated us like family and were always so, so accommodating. Chrys and Geiner were always there to great us with a smile, even when I forgot my key for the 100th time. The kitchen offering is wonderful, breakfast is amazing and the social hours they had on the evenings on Tues, Wed, and Thurs were always delicious with a vast amount of offerings. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel....!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindsey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lindsey,
Thank you so much for your review and for the great comments. You are right, the hotel is located in a great location with different options around. The team is missing you both a lot. We hope that your travels take you back to Costa Rica so you can visit your “Home away from Home” and your Residence Inn family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

For those of you with Rewards points looking for a good place to hang your hat while in San Jose, the Residence Inn is a great choice. Clean, modern and great breakfast, which is included. Location is great within a new upscale mall that includes a movie theater and several good restaurants. Great for medical tourism in that it is immediately adjoining La Cima, arguably the best hospital in CR and possibly Central America.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Scott A, We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your most recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu, and for your loyalty to our brand. It is nice to know that this hotel was a great choice for you and that you particularly liked the room, breakfast and location. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as bookends to our honeymoon as we flew in and out of the San Jose airport. The rooms are nice and have the typical amenities of a Residence Inn. It's nice to have a full-size refridgerator to store drinks and leftovers. What we really liked about this hotel was the location. It was a short walk to shops and restaurants. The huge multiplex mall was only a 10 minute walk down the street. Starbucks is across the street and they're building a new IMAX right behind it.

Breakfast each morning was good. It was nice having the waffle maker and someone there to make omletes. Staff was very friendly and spoke english very well. The gym is a bit small, but all of the equipment is new so the treadmill worked great for me. Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave_6857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Dave6857, Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu and for your loyalty to our brand. We are delighted to have been one of the hotel destinations for your honeymoon. Congratulations on your wedding. We are glad that you liked our spacious rooms and that you enjoyed the breakfast and the staff service. Indeed, the hotel is located in a great area with many things to offer to our guests and visitors which make the stay even more enjoyable. Hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
277 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Residence Inn in Escazu is part of the Marriott hotel chain. The city of Escazu is a modern city located about twenty minutes from the capital of San Jose and is about a thirty minute ride with traffic to the airport.

The Residence Inn is centrally located within walking distance to a Starbucks, a number of great restaurants and bars, and a food court/movieplex. Within a three minute walk there is a modern hospital and emergency room. Within a five minute walk is a modern shopping mall that rivals anything that I have seen in the USA in years.

The hotel appears to be only a few years old and is very modern. The check in was flawless. The two bedroom suite was spacious, clean and offered great views of the San Jose area. Breakfast was free to guests and consisted of fresh fruit, cereal, bacon, sausage, pancakes and homemade omelots. The food service workers were terrific and bilingual.

There was a pool on the second floor that was outside and unheated which was a little cool. They have a small workout area which was clean and had towels and a television.

If you are looking for a Costa Rican experience you won't find it here but we were interested in value, comfort and accessibility - all of which you will find at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Escazu.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Owen A, We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience. We like how you describe the area where the Residence Inn by Marriott is located because you did not miss one detail. The hotel is located in a great area with many things to offer to our guests and visitors. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotel, the location, the breakfast and service of our staff. This year we are installing a heater pump which will keep the pool warm at all times so our guests can enjoy the pool area even more. We hope to have the pleasure to host you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with everything you would expect in a hotel in the US. You are not getting a Costa Rican experience here by any means, other than some good gallo pinto and plantains at breakfast. But if you are looking for an upscale hotel on the edge of the capital city, or a relaxing stay before flying back home, then this is an excellent option. The rooms are very nice and the hotel is pretty new in a nice shopping center. When I stayed in 2012 there was still construction going on but it's a testimony to how well built the rooms are that it didn't really bother us. The staff are very friendly and there is convenient parking right next to the hotel. You're right off one of the major roads so it's easy to get anywhere, and there is plenty of shopping and things to do in this part of Escazu. I prefer generally to stay places that feel more local and less like a chain hotel, but at the end of an exhausting (in a good way!) vacation of jungles and beaches and more rustic accommodations, the air conditioning and comfortable rooms of this Residence Inn can be a welcome sight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Arin S, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience while staying with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room, the breakfast, service and location. We hope that you had a great experience exploring our beautiful country and that we can have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a extended-stay at the Residence Inn San Jose Escazu. Surrounded by activity in San Jose, Costa Rica, your after work hours will become leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing