We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great room for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great room for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night before heading back home. The hotel was immaculate, the front desk was excellent and the complimentary breakfast was one of the best we had all week. I was amazed to find an omelette chef and full buffet to choose from. We were also able to purchase our departure tax for a few extra dollars which was worth every penny because the lines at the airport were extremely long. Highly recommend and we are a family of 5.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mommy3girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about the experience on the last night of your trip here in Costa Rica. We are very happy to know that you and the family enjoyed the hotel, the breakfast and the service of our staff.
We look forward having back again at the Residence Inn by Marriott.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    95
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
113
78
24
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Great location within walking distance of the mall and very good restaurants. The staff was very nice, but not very helpful in setting up any sightseeing trips or other activities. The room had loud a/c that blew directly on me while sleeping. I constantly woke up due to noise.

There are a number of private cabs waiting to take you to the office or wherever you need to go at double the rate of the metered cabs that require a 5 minute wait. Recommend either offering them half the rate or asking the hotel to get you a metered cab.

At checkout, they converted to USD without asking at a significant markup.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor. Street noise can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandLinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your comments about the experience. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations this time. We take guest satisfaction very seriously and appreciate when a guest let us know where we need to improve and what we can focus on. We have shared your comments with the staff and have looked into the different feedback you have given us to work on this.
We hope that you give us the opportunity to host you back again and show you the true Marriott way.
We look forward having back again at the Residence Inn by Marriott.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed there for two weeks. It is located in a very nice area, walking distance to shops, a mall, hospital, many world class restaurants, Starbucks across the street and two supermarkets within a short drive, one of them being a Walmart. The security in the area is guaranteed by mall security guards holding shotguns so big that I have never seen then out in the open like that. This hotel has the same perks a Residence Inn has in the US, one of the perks being the social hour with free finger foods, salad and non-alcoholic refreshments (common to other Residence Inn hotels I have stayed at) but at this property it is not every weekday, on the 1st week it was held on Tue, Wed and Thu, and on the 2nd week on Wed and Thu only. No alcohol was served as in other social hours I have participated. Huge parking lot, if spots are not available at the hotel, you can use the mall parking.
They had a supermarket shopper service, in property coin laundry and complimentary breakfast. All rooms have cabled and Wifi available. The only detail I would have fixed is the water that does not get heated properly at some early hours. Besides that it is a highly recommended hotel.
A nice touch was when my wife arrived at a later day during my recent stay; they cared to send her a small fruit basket and a welcome card. Well done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andytravelerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for allowing us to be your home away from home here during your trips to San Jose. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and letting us know how much you enjoyed all the amenities of the hotel and the places neear by. We are glad to know that your wife enjoyed the fruit basket.
We look forward hosting you again in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here last night (3-14-2013) and will be returning next week. This property is next to a Starbucks and a half dozen of the best restaurants in the city. It's also in arguably the best commercial development district in the city. And though hopefully you won't need to visit, the newest, most modern hospital in the country is also next door.

For business travelers, I highly recommend this property. The bed was comfortable. The wifi connection was outstanding, and the rooms were incredibly clean...though they should be given the young age of the property.

The downsides are minimal. Though the rooms have kitchens complete with large refrigerator, electric stove and dishwasher, there is no minibar (in case that's something you want), and the bathrooms are somewhat spartan. I wouldn't describe the price as an incredible value, but it's decent. And I suspect that if you are planning an extended stay, the hotel will work with you on the price.

One final thing I would note is that the staff members were uniformly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay. It is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us and particularly the WI-FI connection, the room, location and service. It is nice to hear that you liked our hotel so much. Thank you also for recommending us.
We look forward hosting you again soon in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Claudia Sanchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had an accident and was treated over time at CIMA as an outpatient and the staff at this hotel was outstanding. They catered to me and assisted me and had an amazing bilingual staff that was friendly and caring in a distressful time. I loved this hotel so much that I will continue to come here and recommend it to anyone that is visiting. There location is incredible. I really can not say enough amazing things about this place. A hotel can be an impersonal place but the people there add the heart and this place is full of love.

Room Tip: I was always located on the top floor. Fantastic every time, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank evapistola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Your friends at the Residence Inn by Marriott hope that you had a successful recovery and that you are doing much better. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to take care of you during this time; especially when you needed us the most. We thank you for your loyalty and preference.
We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Loved this place. As much as we did not enjoy Escazu, we loved this hotel. It wasn't insanely busy and the staff was extremely helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and have great amenities like dishes, stoves, fridges, etc. Nice not to have to go out constantly to eat. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning. We found it to have plenty of options and everything was fresh. The pool is a nice area and the fitness center is quiet and handy. If you like to shop, this is a great location. We dislike busy city centers and only stayed here because we had points and no other Marriotts had room. That being said, the hotel was great we just did not enjoy the location. Many people would, though! It's a few blocks away from the Multi Plex with great shopping. And there are a few shops and restaurants right outside the hotel. Would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Stay here if you like trendy areas with lots of action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear guest,
Your “Home away from Home”, The Residence Inn by Marriott thanks you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us. We are glad to know that even though the location was not to your satisfaction, the hotel met and exceeded your expectations. Your feedback about the breakfast is highly appreciated. The team has been working really hard to keep improving the variety during breakfast. Thank you so much for your loyalty to our brand and for being one of our Marriott Rewards members.
We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were in Costa Rica specifically to have dental work performed. The management and staff at this hotel are caring, empathetic, and professional. When they found out I was having dental surgery, they brought my wife and I a wonderful soft vegetable soup! The room and the hotel are wonderfully cleaned daily and the entire area of Escazu rivaled top notch American city areas.

Room Tip: I am a very light sleeper and requested a room away from road noise and interior noise. They had my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BmattIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your comments about your stay. It was our pleasure to host you and to take care of you during your dental treatment. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and that our location is perfect for the purpose of your trip. Thank you also for the comments about our staff. Everyone in the team gives their best efforts to take care of our guests especially when they need us the most. We look forward to have you back soon in your home in Costa Rica, the “Residence Inn by Marriott”.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 16 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a extended-stay at the Residence Inn San Jose Escazu. Surrounded by activity in San Jose, Costa Rica, your after work hours will become leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing