We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is a great place to stay close to San Jose airport. It takes $25 by taxi to get there but the rooms are perfect, just as in any other Residence inn. Breakfast is great, thanks to Jorge (George ?) who prepared fresh omelet and rice/beans for us every morning and was quite enthusiastic about recommending items from the menu.
The pool is cold though. It is close to a big mall, grocery, expressway, subway, tacobell, starbucks, you name it.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RushHour707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very happy you had a great time in Costa Rica and at the Residence Inn by Marriott Escazu. We are also happy you enjoyed the food prepared by Jorge.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    100
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
125
88
27
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Great service. Convenient location. Very well maintained. Outstanding coffee at breakfast downstairs.

Also, they helped me book a tour on very short notice (same day). Staff at front desk are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnTheRoad28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Jose Escazu, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Nice comments! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us at the Residence Inn by Marriott San Jose Escazu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great location to take a break from "adventure travel" in Costa Rica. Friendly staff, location in small upscale shopping area with movies and great food.

If you are looking for a taste of USA, this is the place for you.

Room Tip: get a room away from mall construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickphoenix11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We've stayed at this property since it opened a little over a year ago (I think) and it just keeps getting better.....we travel to San Jose from Quepos for our monthly shopping/business trip.....it's right in the middle of all the places we frequent.....plus Avenida Escazu (the shopping complex where it is located) continues to develop......unique, upscale restaurants and movies.....the staff is very friendly....the breakfast very good.....and the rooms are perfect for our needs.....not the hotel for the North American tourist looking for a Costa Rican experience.....but for Costa Ricans and business travelers looking for a great spot in SJ!

Tulemar Dave

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the "avenue" to watch all of the action....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulemarDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

It is my probably 20th visit to this property in the centre of Escazu area in San Jose.
One of the best things about this hotel is location - you can walk everywhere - New IMAX complex, great restaurants, and the large mall with a supermarket. The area itself is very safe and pleasant.
Also it is handy to stay here if you visit a modern Cima hospital.
I stayed in studios, one and two bedroom suites. They are all very clean, have modern amnesties and fully equipped kitchens with dishwasher, cooktop, fridge etc. - ideal both for short and long stay.
What make this hotel outstanding is service. They are always pleased to see you at the reception, honor your requests like early check-in or late check-out. The cleaning staff is remarkable - it is almost like hospital cleanliness - you feel like at home.
This hotel is always my top recommendation for people who come to San Jose.
By the way, they have an airport shuttle which departs every hour (the last one at 8.00 pm).
And guess what - I'm at this hotel right now - and they again allowed an early check in at 9.00 am.
It is a really nice property.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. They have a sofa bed even in studio rooms, and they are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olga9139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara Costa Rica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whenever I have to go you the San Jose area I always prefer Escazu and stay at the Residence Inn. It is so convienent. Right across to my favorite restaurant "Saga's". It is right in the middle of all the great places, the Multiplaza, Pricesmart, Office Depot, Walmart, and Cima Hospital not to mention a lot of other great restaurants.
The hotel has everything to need, a kitchen area with a full size refrigerator, living room area, either a studio, 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom 2 bath suites. A very nice breakfast buffet with omelet bar and personal Tv in the booths if you choose. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. There is a pool but I always find it too cold in the city to want to use it. There is also a free laundry on site.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatSamaraCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Excellent hotel in very upmarket area outside of San Jose. Parking is provided and there is security as well. The area is very upmarket and the Multiplaza shopping center is just down the road. Right next to the hotel are several dining opportunities, as well as a Starbucks location.

The hotel is wonderful and clean. Reception staff very friendly, and the rooms are well appointed. Includes a small kitchen, sitting room area and bedroom. The buffet breakfast is excellent and varied.

I would recommend staying in this hotel and not downtown San Jose .. the drive into San Jose takes only a few minutes. Make sure you have 290 colones available for the toll booth situated just before the exit to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reyn_nanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a extended-stay at the Residence Inn San Jose Escazu. Surrounded by activity in San Jose, Costa Rica, your after work hours will become leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing