We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location elevates a solid property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Escazu
Certificate of Excellence
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
235 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Location elevates a solid property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Over the past 12 months, my family and I have stayed at this hotel for over 2 months. This a relatively new property with a staff that strives to deliver good service. Please note that if you book even number rooms with lower numbers (i.e. 202, 204, 206, 302, 304, etc.), your window will face a giant parking lot that gets full frequently and thus you will have little to no privacy. You can close the shades but then you won’t get natural light.

Conveniently situated in a new area called Avenida Escazu - the hotel provides easy walking to a few high-end restaurants, a food court with Western fast food chains, a brand new Starbucks directly across the street (although the lines here snake slowly out the door in the afternoons and evenings), an IMAX theater, and the CIMA hospital complex. A shuttle provides service to the fancy Multiplaza shopping mall which is maybe a couple minutes away. One possible downside is that this hotel is located in a very popular entertainment district so it does get crowded often, especially in the evenings and on weekends. At times, you may experience lots of traffic.

We stayed in a standard room which is a 1 bedroom with a kitchen. The room was clean and comfortable although the pillows were a bit too soft and small. The kitchen did have basic pots & pans along with utensils in case you were inclined to cook some basic meals. However, a buffet breakfast is available every morning and while the food is decent, it did get quickly tiring due to a lack of variety. Dinner encompassing different cuisines such as Costa Rican, Chinese, Mexican are available on some evenings.

There is a small gym with the latest workout equipment. The small pool was consistently cold so we never used it. Besides the gym, the options for exercise are quite limited as running on the streets is not advisable.

This hotel provides a great value and its location is great for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Please note that if you book even number rooms with lower numbers (i.e. 202, 204, 206, 302, 304, etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bt_mpls_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    99
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
121
87
26
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We arrived at the hotel for our last night before returning home, and we wished we had got there sooner. Great rooms, comfortable beds and a service you a expect to receive at a Marriott chain hotel. Besides the kitchem the floor amenities included a laundry. So important in Costa Rica, when it rains all the time and all your clothers get wet with not chance to get them dry because of the humidity. The included breakfast was very rich and included several Costa Rican dishes. when I asked about one of the chesses offered, the waiter told me about how is it made and brought a huge packet of cheese for us to enjoy it later in the day...to bad we were headed back to US and couldn't take it.
The only difficulty was getting there. The GPS showed us how to get there, but we got to the back of the hotel and couldn't get to the front. To get to the front we had to head back to the highway and do a few complicated turns

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldieGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 3 weeks. Loved the property and the staff. Having a free laundry center on site was very helpful. Staff were very professional, friendly, and welcoming. Gym was nice and private Food was wonderful. Omelettes and belgium waffles and fresh fruit every morning 2-3 nights a week they had a managers reception with decent food that saved us so much money on eating out Better than the resorts. 1st floor business center allowed us to keep our business running smoothly Only complaints were a leaky shower head, kitchen was hard to make food in and pool was too cold to go in. Overall very impressed. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albie_kaliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night (the day we landed in San Jose) before going to La Fotuna. The hotel rooms are very nice and they serve a nice breakfast along with complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. There is a mall across the street which has a food court as well as a movie theater and a children's park. It is a little futher from the airport (cab took $32 USD) but we had no issues going to it.

Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MASSeatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn Escazu for the first night of our 2 week vacation in Costa Rica. It was a nice relaxing place amongst the craziness of San Jose. Escazu is a nice area and everything you could need is close to the hotel. There is a Walmart just up the street (though a bit different in it's offerings than a Walmart in the States) and there's an Outback and Hooters just around the corner. The first & only Starbucks in Costa Rica is in the little square right next to the hotel and the hotel is set back from the highway so it's nice and quiet. The hotel is top notch, super clean and has everything you'd need. The breakfast selection had a taste of home (made to order omelets, bacon & American cereal) and some Costa Rican fruits and local staples. (try them all!) The pool was a bit small but fun for the kids - the workout room had everything you'd need and had state of the art equipment. Check in staff was super friendly and upgraded us even though I'm just a lowly Elite level member. Also nice was that they had free onsite laundry which was hit or miss at the other hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica. The last hotel we stayed at before flying home was a Doubletree that didn't have washing machines and we flew home with 2 suitcases of dirty clothes. (Laundrymats are not common in Costa Rica so if you want to wash clothes on your trip be sure to check ahead and make sure your hotel has laundry facilities on site). I highly recommend this hotel - if I had more points to use we definitely would have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Hotel isn't too hard to find but I strongly suggest getting a GPS with your rental car for any v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaTravelBug05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Visited San Jose, CR for a few days and stayed at the Residence Inn in Escazu. Great place, Maybe the best breakfast in any hotel in Central America and above all, the staff will to their best to please you. The property is located in a very trendy area, with malls and food courts just a walk away. They even provide shuttle service to a couple of local malls. The front desk is one of the best of the Marriott chain and they should be very proud about it. My only displeasure was leaving, I hope I will be back soon. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

After driving around the San Jose/Escazu area we finally arrived at the hotel, we were lost for about 2 hours, even though the hotel is not far from the airport. Make sure you get off of the exit after the toll booth,, go down and then go back underneath the freeway, stay to your left and go until you see an entrance into a mall type area. The hotel will be just sitting there next to the large parking lot. There are signs along the highway for the hotel, but once you get off the main highway the signs disappear, there are also no signs at the entrance to the mall area stating that the hotel is there.

The hotel is a typical Residence Inn, nothing special. We usually stay at Marriott Hotels when we travel due to the consistency and they are fairly clean. The room was a basic suite, we traveled with two children ages 2 and 7 so they just kind of hung out and watched tv since with all our luggage, there wasn't much space left to move around.

The breakfast was basic and since we arrived a few minutes before they were closing, we felt very rushed, which made us feel very uncomfortable. We quickly ate the basic breakfast provided and took off.

We stayed for the one night since our flight arrived at about 3:00pm, so we just wanted a place to spend the night before heading to the mountains the next day. Would not stay at this hotel long term.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weluv2travelAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escazu
0.4 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Escazu
0.8 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
1.7 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose la Sabana
2.8 mi away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Jose Escazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Jose Escazu

Property: Residence Inn San Jose Escazu
Address: Ave. Escazu Complex, Prospero Fernandez Hwy, Escazu 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Escazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Escazu
#2 Business Hotel in Escazu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Escazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn San Jose Escazu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of a extended-stay at the Residence Inn San Jose Escazu. Surrounded by activity in San Jose, Costa Rica, your after work hours will become leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Jose Escazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Hotel Escazu
Residence Inn San Jose Escazu Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing