We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Family-oriented: Deserves much better reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mirador de Quetzales
Santa Barbara, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and Family-oriented: Deserves much better reviews!”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I almost didn't stay here, because of some of the negative reviews. But it's actually among my best overall experiences in four years of coming to Costa Rica. I guess it all depends on what you're looking for. Beautiful uncrowded hiking trails with a variety of birds--including close-up views of collared redstarts and a pair of black guans--and lovely waterfall with bromeliads everywhere. Gorgeous hummingbirds. And yes--many striking views of the Quetzales on the guided morning hike. Jason, our guide, was very knowledgeable about other birds, even though he focused on the dramatic quetzales. Beautiful flowers tended by the family--and FOR the family, not just the tourists. Other reviewers are right about how cool it can be at night, but wrong about the food--my dinner was excellent and generous. Great overall value!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    9
    9
    0
See reviews for
9
22
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The Mirador de Quetzales is a family-run lodge high up in the middle of the Parque Nacional de Quetzales. The accommodation is homely although fairly basic compared to some other establishments. Each wooden cabin is equipped with simple shower, toilet and sink, and meals are taken in the main house, where you can also spend time relaxing by wood-burning stove, and reading about the history of the family farm or playing pool in the games room.

The Serrano family are very hospitable, and experts in spotting the resplendent quetzals which live in the surrounding forests - the guided dawn walk is an exciting opportunity to get a glimpse, and both times we went, our guide showed great dedication in locating this unique bird.

The panoramic view from the lodge is spectacular and you can walk at your leisure following the trails on the estate during the day. This is a very tranquil area, with an abundance of hummingbirds and beautiful sunsets. Due to the high altitude, temperatures drop during the night so you need to make use of the blankets and hot water bottles provided by the hosts. The showers can be cold, but I believe the proprietors are in the process of modernising the cabins. You make an advance choice of evening meal, which is then prepared for you and served by the hosts; we found the dinners delicious. You might want to bring some snacks for during the day, however, as there is a limited range of food available to buy on-site.

This is a really peaceful and scenic place to stay, it feels secluded and you have a very good chance of seeing (or at least hearing) a quetzal. The family are kind and attentive but at the same time you have the freedom to do as you please during much of the day. A real 'escape' to deep quetzal country! Not luxurious but an adventure :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The location is very nice and if seeing the Resplendant Quetzal is your goal your odds are very high here. There are also a ton of other birds to see. Especially hummingbirds up close and personal right at the feeders next to the lodge. Rustic best describes the lodging. We stayed in A frame #3 which has two single beds, shower, toilet and sink (all separate) downstairs and a double bed upstairs. There is no heat and it does get cold by morning. They offer hot water bottles in stuffed animals to warm your bed and a pile of blankets made for slightly smaller beds. So we used them sideways doubled up and that was fine. The staff is friendly and some speak a bit of English. The food was basic but fine.

We went on the morning bird walk both days and saw a ton of birds before we even got on the trail the first day. One of the guests was an ornothologist. Between him and our guide Jason we saw many different birds. Jason would show them to us in a bird book so we could read their names in English. The highlight of the trip is a Quetzal nest on their property virtually assuring a sighting every tour if people are willing to wait for them to come and go. We got great close-up views both days. Our guide the second day was poor to say the least. I found two Quetzals he walked right past. He was focused on getting to the nest and that was it. He really didn't show or identify birds along the way. I felt bad for guest who this was their only visit. In the end we did see four Quetzal so mission accomplished for the guide.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montanan_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Plenty of blankets are provided in cabins, so no need to bring your own. Nevertheless, I did sleep in ALL my layers: t-shirt, long-sleeved t-shirt, sweatshirt, and oversized hooded sweatshirt (hood up), under 5 blankets, with the hot water bottle. It was down in the 40s overnight.

The showers are tricky. To get to Barely Warm Enough you have to run the water for about a minute, till it seems to start to get the tiniest bit warmer, then turn it down to a gentle stream to give the showerhead heater a chance to warm up the water as it goes through the head. But turn it down too much and the heater shuts off, and you have to start all over again. I managed 2 lukewarm showers and one Barely Warm Enough shower while I was there. I didn't use my small portable hairdryer on my hair -- but it was invaluable in warming my body (and my clothes) after a shower.

I'm 65 and reasonably fit, but found the early morning quetzal trek exhausting. The altitude did a number on me, and the guides took us up steep hillsides, down, up again, down again, up again and down again in quest of quetzales. We saw a few during my trek -- all at considerable distance and tough to see. I didn't go on quetzal treks after that first morning because I knew I had the whole rest of my trip ahead of me and I feared over-exerting myself. But people who went on subsequent days reported pretty good sightings.

I left a day sooner than planned -- stayed 3 nights. That was plenty. Still, I'm glad I went. The scenery is spectacular. The hummingbirds (which flock at feeders just outside the reception area) are fun to watch. Food is basic but fine. (Don't order the chicken sandwich.)

Room Tip: Bring long johns
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPLimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We got lucky because the whole place was empty so we got a discount (even if it's still expensive...) but we paid 40$/p for Diner, Night, Breakfast, and tour in the morning to get to see the birds. (And we did.)
Yes the room is cold at night but they gave us hot water bags, and extra sheets and blankets for the beds. We were in Cabin number 4 and honestly the view was breathtaking. it's was a very good stop on our way.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planetadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

First of all: Before you stay, find out the price and pay in advance. We were charged double the price that we were originally given - $120 per night for two people is too much when you are staying in a simple, very basic mountain cabin, even if the (not too big) meals in the morning at at night are included. They also charged us $8 for a beer!
Overall, the family running the place was very nice (they even gave us hot-water bags for the second night), but did not really seem very professional or very organized (except for the morning Quetzal tour).

If you want to see the resplendent Quetzal, this is the place to be - the tour in the morning is included, and you'll see a bunch of them. The view over the mountain range in the morning and the self-guided hike through the cloud forest are also great.

Be aware, it get's really cold at night, as this is over 2600m high. Also, the promised hot water didn't work, not even with the Costa Rican electric "suicide shower".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durin2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason S, Public Relations Manager at Mirador de Quetzales, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Mister Ulm,

Thank you for writing this review! We truly appreciate the time you took to write it and help us by showing the areas of opportunity we do have. These truly are words that we are taking seriously for our coming makeover of the lodge.

As you might know we are a local family that learned about hotel management on the way and sometimes in our history this lack of academic preparation shows. However we are now changing a lot in the hotel and are willing to review the value and extras that we provide to our guests.

We are starting new hummingbird areas around the rooms, getting our cabanas to be cozier...and yes! Warmer!

So, if you are ever in the area again and want to honor us with your visit we really hope your next review will be a word on positive changes.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed here one night. It's located above 8000 feet, so it gets really cold at night. If you stay here make sure to bring warm pjs and perhaps an extra 5 blankets. The cabins aren't heated, but they do provide warm blankets. The showers are heated by and electric contraption that warms up the cold mountain water only marginally. The food was very typical tico fare. The cabins were basic. The trail around the property was nice. We did go on the quetzal walk and did see 1 nesting female and 3 flying quetzals. When we were here the tour was not included in the price, make sure to ask. The staff speaks a little english.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin9728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Province of San Jose
7.7 mi away
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve &...
#2 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
752 reviews
6.2 mi away
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
Trogon Lodge San Gerardo de Dota
#1 of 4 in San Gerardo de Dota
603 reviews
17.2 mi away
Rafiki Safari Lodge
Rafiki Safari Lodge
#6 of 661 in Province of Puntarenas
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
Paraiso Quetzal Lodge
#1 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
228 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cabinas El Quetzal
Cabinas El Quetzal
#7 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
19 reviews
25.9 mi away
Nacientes Palmichal
Nacientes Palmichal
#39 of 170 in Province of San Jose
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador de Quetzales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador de Quetzales

Property: Mirador de Quetzales
Address: Interamericana km 70, Ruta 2, 10075, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 170 Specialty Lodging in Province of San Jose
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mirador de Quetzales 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watching the Resplendent Quetzal is a magical experience... you see its iridescent feathers, its wavy flight and can understand... why these creatures were considered to be a representative of God. The Resplendent Quetzal is an astonishing sight... But, the setting to see it is as important as the bird itself. Being in a peaceful setting, where the beauty of nature meets the beauty of humanity happens to be an ultimate amazing experience. This, happens in MIrador de Quetzales. It is not that you will meet fashion models... skinny tall women... No! You will meet the Serrano Family. Transparent, a little naive, smiling, decent, honest, easy laughter, easy hugs. People that are willing to help, to make you have a wonderful stay in their farm and their house. Staying with them and have a talk at the edge of their fireplace is a compulsory experience.. never mind if you don't speak any Spanish... or that they don't speak English. That is what traveling is about... isn't it? Enjoy, learn, laugh, wear a good jacket and feel the highlands rainforest among the quetzals, the buzzing of dozens of hummingbirds, and the kindness of the Serrano Family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Mirador de Quetzales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirador De Quetzales Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing