We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing Vacation”
Review of Pueblo Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pueblo Real
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Reviewed June 9, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Pueblo Real for one week in April. We took a bus from the airport to Quepos, which was an excellent way to become aquainted with Costa Rica. Although the bus ride was long, it went through the towns and over the mountains. The scenery was beautiful!
Pueblo Real is very relaxing, with the hammocks and the wildlife all around you. We took taxis into the town (10 min ride) and Manual Antonio State Park (20 min). You could book tours at the hotel, which was convenient.
We would definitely go back there. You do have to rough it a little and there isn't any exciting night life activities, but for relaxation and for nature lovers, it's the best!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jcg_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 163 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2008

Just returned from Costa Rica which included a 7 night stay at Pueblo Real. We booked this vacation through our vacation club, Geo Holiday. we stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with our kids and found it to be very clean and stylish. We had one of the recently refurbished units and the decor was beautiful. the balcony over-looking the pool was our favorite place to sit and relax.

Most of our time was spent by the pool reading and swimming. One day we even saw some of the white-faced monkey's hanging around in the trees surrounding the pool!

The eco-tours are a MUST when visiting the resort. We organized 3 different tours through our on-site GeoHoliday rep, Elizabeth. 1) a day trip to the beautiful Manuel Antonio Park with untouched beaches and plenty of monkey's and the 3-toed sloth! 2) The RainMaker tour which involved a tour deep into the rainforest walking on suspended bridges and finally 3) the monkey tour which leaves by boat right from the resort into the mangroves and lets you experience them close up. Ask for Diego on the tour. He's the best!

Overall we had a great vacation and would recommend this resort to anyone wanting to experience Costa Rica at its best. the travel from San Jose to Quepos by car or bus is long but worth the wait!

For other GeoHolidays owners I would say this is one of the best and we will be returning next year.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank castor55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We really enjoyed Pueblo Real even though upon arriving we felt it did not meet our expectations. We booked through RCI and they had labeled it silver crown. Not really. Yet, it is amazing what you can get used to!
Units: The units are very basic but clean, except for the ants.(You are in the jungle.) You need to keep your food put away. Same with clothes, they will get damp if the AC is not on. There was a septic smell several times when we returned from a day trip.
Also, my cell phone went missing. I did find a maid going through my stuff one day! So always use the safe. This is the same in any hotel in CR.
2 bedrooms and 2 baths are a good size, so for four people it worked well. The living area is crowded and awkwardly laid out. Beds were hard, Kitchen was spare. We used it for breakfast and lunch.They have 2 BBQ pits available. AC worked, but only an on and off switch, which was fine. It has great views of the gardens and pool if you are on that side. Very peaceful to watch the birds. There are lots of animals, lizards, geckos, frogs, around the place each day. Fun to watch. Families there seemed to really enjoy it.
This is a small condo resort, 28 units and so you get to know the desk staff who are friendly and helpful. The maids and other staff do not speak english, so best to make your requests through reception. They are only on from 7am- 7pm.
They could improve this place with upgrades to the bedding and waterfront. They kept the main areas outside clean and well maintained. Nice small pool, never crowded. Don't order from the pool bar, our margaritas were soaked in salt! Go to happy hour in Manuel Antonio.
A great place to stay because of its location. They also arrange trips from the hotel. Best to have a car, but taxis are cheap. Always watch your stuff.
Great location! Just minutes from Manuel Antonio National park which is where we spent most of our time. There is shopping nearby if you are used to small stores.
I would go there again, because it was away from the hustle and bustle of Quepos and Manuel Antonio and they arranged tours for you. Quiet and beautiful.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank muchogracias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

My family and I travelled here one year ago through Geo Time share and stayed for two weeks...we liked it so much we came back the next month and my parents bought a condo there. Just recently got back from another trip from Dec29th-Jan8th 2008. It is a great place to go that is more rural! 3 hour drive from San Jose but WORTH it!!! It is located on an Estuary where the tide goes up and down dramatically. When the tide is up you can take a boat across and walk across Isla Damas and be on a secluded beach! Pool at the hotel is great!

I would suggest that you do rent a vehicle as Quepos is a 10 minute drive and Manuel Antonio national park is a 20 minute drive. Or a taxi is 20$ to the national park.

Michael and George are AWESOME...at the front desk and will be sure to help you out with anything you may need!

Elizabeth works for Geo and she is really great as well she can help book all your tours and anything else you may need!

All in all it is a very relaxed setting there are a few local restaurants located within walking distance from the hotel Cayuga being one which is very well priced and good home cooked food! All rooms are equipped with full kitchens and there is a grocery store 5 minutes away.

Check out Chino's Monkey tours with Diego he is excellent and you will be SURE to get up close to the Monkeys! or his night tour where you can go look for Crocodiles and spot frogs/toads/snakes/birds!!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank luvinmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinJule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BibiGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: mucha tranquilidad, excelente vista en las mañanas, acceso rapido a la piscina, muy bien equipados l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christofer0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
5.9 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#18 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
925 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
3 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kayak Lodge
Kayak Lodge
#1 of 14 in Quepos
124 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hostel Plinio
Hostel Plinio
#5 of 41 in Manuel Antonio
239 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wide Mouth Frog
Wide Mouth Frog
#6 of 32 in Quepos
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Real

Address: Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: $117 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pueblo Real 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pueblo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Real Hotel Quepos
Pueblo Real Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing