We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful country and beautiful people”
Review of Pueblo Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pueblo Real
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013. The people running the resort are awesome. They will help with anything. Anna, the lady who runs the restaurant is an amazing cook. Not to mention she is one of the nicest, kindest people I have ever met. We did the Canopy Zip line tour. It was so exhilarating! So fun.
The only thing I would warn you about is stopping at the bridge with the crocodiles on the way from San Jose to Quepos. We did, and we had our stuff stolen. We ended up having to drive back to San Jose to get new passports the next day.
Other than that. What an amazing beautiful country!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank stephdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 165 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you choose to use timeshare at this location:
On your own visit Manual Antonio National park for $10 each to see the monkeys on the beach, sloth, iguanas, crabs, racoons, white bats. Be sure to WEAR your swimsuit and bring your snorkel gear as you can swim once arriving at the beach towards the end of the path. You must drive ALL the way to the PARK to park and REFUSE to pay more than $4. Also, Refuse tours as it is obvious when the guides are pointing their cameras along with other tours groups.
If you surf it would worth your time to stay in Jaco. Jaco is better organized, cleaner, with internet cafes, souvenirs (do not know the prices).
If headed north to San Jose from Quepos, about 8km before Jaco is a large gravel pull off on the top of the hill, a rail on the left, 2 islands, and a bus stop (turn around to the gravel stop and look for parrots on oceanside or high up on the top of the cliffs). There are about 20+ parrots that live and fly in that area.
One more stop there are alligators where may want to stop (you will definitely see people looking and walking on bridge). $6 for a wood moveable alligator. Do NOT buy cokes or snacks here as you can get them cheaper in the Quepos local market. There are also 2 local internet shops in Quepos for about $1 per hour. I prefer the one by the bridge as they are more honest but does not have AC like the other one in the dirt market place. Best Western is a great place to get directions and park.
Do not eat at the hotel as the BBQ was not worth the money and the local market place costs only $3-$6 and tastes better vs. $25 at the hotel for something that was only ok.
You can also buy preseasoned meat at local place and BBQ sauce a lot cheaper and better taste.
Internet at the hotel is $15 hour.
Their Fridge froze our food at setting 4-5 so be careful and it may be worth eating local depending on how many people are in your party and how many meals per day you wanted. We only needed 2 per day due to the heat. Stock up on water and juice (freeze it and take it out for your day trips).
None of the tours are worth the money in this area of Costa Rica.
Take your ziplock bags so you can take your $$ with you at all times!!
You may want to limit your time here to 2-3 days unless you like staying by the pool or driving to the beach.
Soda Shops and grocery markets (Maxi Pali) have better exchange rate outside of San Jose but pay the tolls in colones as they will cheat you with USD.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This resort is not on the beach - it's about 15 minutes away. The location was great for us - we are an active family so we didn't stay at the hotel much. The grounds and the pool were a welcome relief for a very active day!
The staff there is terrific - very helpful with everything!
$70 for the utility fee still is accurate.
$15 for internet for the week and yes it still doesn't work well in the rooms - better at the pool and the lobby however we didn't come to Costa Rica to surf the internet - we came to surf the waves!
The first meeting was extremely helpful and not a sales pitch.
I would recommend this place for it's location, cleanliness and safety.
I read about the cleaning staff stealing - we left a laptop, a $500 Ipad, three itouches and nothing was missing. We left our cash and jewelry in the safe and that too was left alone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enjoyingourchildren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week in January 2013. We found the condo to be very nice and clean. The manager was helpful in giving us information on tours. Our bad experience came the last day we were there. We had about $200 taken from the safe in the condo. We had to leave early the next morning so we left this information in a note with the manager. We were never contacted in any way. They have a policy that they are not responsible for anything left in the safe so there is nothing we could do. I read where others had money taken so I wouldn't ever leave anything in the safe. It ruined our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue_Nac63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is very nice, but not close to ocean or restaurants. There was 1 restaurant close by with very good food. The internet did not work in the room, so you had to take your computer to the UN air conditioned lobby!

Room Tip: When in Costa Rica ,stay on the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank applecart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we loved our week at the Pueblo Real. We stayed in #205 which overlooked the lovely pool area. We traveled with another couple and really appreciated having the two bedrooms at opposite ends of the condo. Each bathroom was spacious and had a large spotlessly clean tiled shower. We prepared most breakfasts and lunches in the kitchen. Salt, pepper, and dishwashing supplies were provided. For $8 the front desk will deliver a huge 5 gallon bottle of filtered water. You can also buy a bag of safe ice. You may think you see a microwave in the photos, but it is a convection oven(with electric elements inside plus a glass turntable) which was a new experience for all of us. Directions are all in Spanish which made using it even more fun. I am more than certain that the guys at the front desk would have given us a lesson, but we successfully figured it out. The maid, Laura, did a fantastic job of sweeping, cleaning showers and making beds each day. Management asks that you keep your kitchen tidy yourself. We had two new flatscreens and one older TV with cable. We got to practice our Spanish because only two channels were in English. We brought some DVDs from home and enjoyed them when we were too tired from all of the activities and were ready for some great AC.

The pool is warmed by the sun and the people there are quite friendly. There are good pool towels available at the front desk. You will be given pool cards at check in which you exchange each time you ask for a towel. The very nice T shirt artist mixes up really delicious tropical drinks from a list of 5 or 6 for $4-$5.

Be sure to attend the orientation at the breakfast rancho on site Monday morning. Elizabeth, the outstanding manager, will keep you well entertained with amusing stories and many really helpful tips such as spray yourself with repellent containing Deet by 5:30 each day as many of the local insects begin to search for their dinner at that time. She will remind you that you are right beside a mangrove swamp. She has handpicked tours and negotiated rates for her guests and it is easy to sign up with the friendly guys at the desk. Be advised that you will need colones for the downpayment on all tours. If the tour is offsite, the guides will take you to their office to charge the rest to a credit card. The monkey tour (so much fun!) is a very short walk and they do not take credit cards so have cash ready for the whole cost. The same people will take you to Damas Island when the tide is high for free or you may use a kayak for free to visit it. If you want to kayak the mangrove area, there is a charge and a guide provided.

We loved eating at Anna's Cayuga Restaurant just about a short "block" down the dirt road. The Cayuga accepts credit cards. When you eat breakfast in the rancho on site, you will need cash. They will figure out the bill in both dollars and colones. Be sure to try Anna's casado.

We bought groceries at the Maxipali in Quepos. No AC so be sure to have your shopping list ready. The little grocery in the middle of Quepos had a much greater selection of Costa Rican coffees to take home.

Be certain to have breakfast or lunch at Café Milagro. It really is a good as the TA reviews say. You will drive right past it each time you go into Quepos.

I will close with important tips on locating the entrance off the main road. Our flight was delayed so we actually found the PR at night on the first try. The entrance is in the middle of a fairly large palm plantation. At checkout I asked them to try to post a photo of their sign on TA. It is about a yard wide and has a big green reflective arrow on each side pointing to the entrance road.

If you have any questions, I will be happy to respond. We all hope to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Beachreader7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pueblo Real was an excellent experience for us. They organized all of our excursions for us, were extremely friendly. The resort is clean, well maintained and they provided us with fast, friendly and professional service. The pool is beautiful, the grounds are beautiful and the units are beautiful. The best part is the location, Quepos is a quiet little area just outside of Manuel Antonio which we loved because you weren't right in the middle of the busy, noisy larger town and yet everything you needed was just a five minute car or taxi ride away. Elizabeth, Jorge, Michael and Oscar were also AWESOME at answering questions and helping us to enjoy the BEST possible vacation while in Costa Rica !

Room Tip: Request a unit on the upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kristy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
7.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
272 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
456 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hostel Plinio
Hostel Plinio
#5 of 42 in Manuel Antonio
241 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kayak Lodge
Kayak Lodge
#1 of 14 in Quepos
126 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hacienda Pacifica
Hacienda Pacifica
#26 of 32 in Quepos
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Real

Address: Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: $145 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pueblo Real 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pueblo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Real Hotel Quepos
Pueblo Real Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing