We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far Overpriced”
Review of Pueblo Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pueblo Real
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Far Overpriced”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had an unplanned/unbooked stay in Room 112 at Pueblo Real. Our stay was not part of any vacation rental or timeshare group. The condo is 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom with a kitchen, living area, and covered patio. My rating would be much higher if the price had been much lower. We paid $175 per night for part of the stay (using a credit card) and $145 per night for the other part (paying with cash). Either way, it was far over-priced for the condition of the condo and the cleaning service provided (which was almost non-existent).

The condo smelled mouldy, the bed was not comfortable and didn't seem clean, there was a faint sewer smell in the bathroom, the hot water in the shower ran for a couple minutes only, there was only 1 key for two couples (they eventually did cut another key), and we needed to buy the basics for the kitchen (ie. coffee filters, salt, detergent, dish cloth). We left all of those things and wonder if they will stay in the condo for the next guests.

In terms of the property itself, the location requires a car or taxi or bike if you want to go anywhere - although there was a shuttle into Quepos at least one day during our stay. The location is not necessarily bad or good - it all depends on what you want. The grounds of the property (including the pool and pool area) are really nice.

You could buy drinks at the pool during the day and could have meals at a very nearby restaurant - it didn't always seem open so be aware of that if you are depending on them for all your meals. We were gone from morning to evening on all our days so I don't have anymore information on meals/drinks at or near the complex.

We have friends who own/have owned condos in the complex and some of the condos are very nice...however, Room 112 is not. Many of the other people staying at Pueblo Real during our stay were very pleased. As I said in the beginning, the condo would have been perfectly fine for a much lower price. We don't travel in luxury, nor do we want to, and we aren't demanding or complainers - we will happily stay in all kinds of accommodations based on a fair price...however, this was NOT a fair price for what we received.

Room Tip: Be selective - the condos vary greatly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NorthernAlberta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    73
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
71
54
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Lovely hotel with a fabulous pool and lovely quiet relaxed vibe. Perfect for surf families as it's within reach of many amazing surf breaks, La Isla Damas, Manuel Antonio, Dominical, Esterillos, Playa Hermosa and more. You would need a car of course. Andrey, who caan be contacted through the reception or with the Monkey Tours that are run just by the hotel would be happy to be your guide and take you surfing, providing you have a car. He may also be able to rent you a board. The hotel itself is perfect if you are into quiet and your children or you love a good swimming pool. I loved waking up and opening the balcony door to take in the beauty of the garden, wildlife, birds and pool. Plenty of room on the balcony for some morning yoga or dining al fresco. We cooked in our kitchen most days as it was very well equiped and we found it easier than eating out with our children who are finicky eaters and a little impatient at times! There was a grocery store not more than a km away. You could have breakfat in there outdoor ranchos and lunch or dinner in the restaurant just in front.
We also visited Manuel Antonio National Park. It was fantastic with all the bustling wildlife. Bring your swimsuits too as the beach in the park may be one of the best in the whole world!
We had a great stay, were sorry to leave and would go back.

Room Tip: 208 is the best room if you want a pool and garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SurfFamilyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We used RCI points to stay here for a week in December 2012. The resort location really requires that you have a car to explore the area, or arrange tours for most days. There is one restaurant within walking distance, and it is only open for lunch and dinner. The on-site restaurant is run by the same family, and it is open only for breakfast (which is fabulous). You have to plan your days out in advance, so that you know if you are going to eat out or in. We were at the beach in Manuel Antonio, and it would have taken us 20 minutes to drive back to the condo to shower off and change, and then 15 minutes to drive back into Quepos if we wanted to eat there for dinner. We ended up either eating stopping at the grocery store for dinner supplies or eating at a restaurant sitting in our wet suits with sand all over. The restaurants did not seem to mind though!

The condos are nice, but I was frustrated with all the extra charges: a $70 utility fee, $15 to use the internet for the week (I asked on Thursday night and was only charged $5 since we only had 2 full days left), no complimentary toiletries except bars of soap. They do have movies you can rent for $2 and they had a good selection. Make sure to attend the orientation session on Monday morning. We did not take advantage of any of the tours they offered, but they did set us up with a private guide for Manuel Antonio National Park. His name is Diego, and he is the guide that operates their National Park tours and the Mangrove Monkey tours. He was really, really informative and did a great job including our two kids, ages 6 and 9. We were charged $50 for 1.5 hours in the park, not including transportation or park admission. Note that there is no park admission fee for children under age 12. Also note that most tours were cash only, payable in US or Costa Rican currency only. They can email you a copy of their tour list if you want to plan out what you want to do. Their prices seemed very reasonable, but we had already done most of the tours in other locations in Costa Rica.

The pool was nice and there are 4 chairs that are always in the shade because of cabanas. It was nice that they had both air conditioning and fans in the unit. We ran the air conditioner when we were awake and in the condo, and then we ran the fans at night to keep us cool.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a balcony with a table and 4 chairs. Rooms on the first floor have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SpokaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

The property is lovely with great units and a lovely pool area. The exterior and the landscaping is a bit shabby but the place has a certain charm about it. I would recommend bringing some professional and skilled landscapers. Staff is super nice and attentive to every need. Location is great because it is really off the beaten path but only minutes away from the supermarket and all the great restaurants in the area. Advice: rent a car at the airport otherwise you r trapped and also get a SIM card at the airport for your stay. I got a local phone line with 100 minutes outgoing and free incoming for $6 and unlimited Internet for 15 days for $9. The Internet gave me access to Waze which offers free GPS throughout Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Icchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The property is really nice with fabulous landscaping that makes you know you are in the rain forest. There is nature everywhere, the pool is nice, and the units are very comfortable and clean. Here are the Do's and Do Not's:

Do:
Rent a car from the Quepos airport, its much cheaper than through the property and they will deliver it to you, we used Budget. Get the liability insurance, your credit card should cover you for any damage to the car. YOU WILL NEED A CAR

Tours: Do the Canopy Safari Tour and the Whitewater Rafting Tour, both were terrific and great fun. The ages on these tour tours ranged from 8 years old to late 60's.

Restaurants: The restaurant across the street from the PR is great for day 1, but after that get out and check out the local places such as: Cafe Milagro (in both Quepos and Manuael Antonio for great coffee and breakfast), Cafe Azul and Ronny's )both in Manuel Antonio) for sunset dinner and great food.

Groceries: Maxi Pali (like a little Costco) very close to PR, but you need a car.

Bring OFF bug spray

Bring an umbrella or hooded jacket, it rain's a lot in the rainforest, who knew

Pay the $15 for the internet service at PB, try our code first it was "realgeo25"

DO NOT:

Manuel Anotnio National Park Tour: It's too long, involves too many people, and not very informative and they don't bring you all over the park. Buy your tickets right at the front gate to the park and hire a personal guide there. Admission to the park is only $10 and you will save money by getting your own guide which is much more informative. We were trapped for 4 hours on this tour with nothing to do as the park part of the tour only lasts 2 hours. GO EARLY, otherwise it is TOO HOT, get there by 7:30AM as they also limit the number of people that can enter the park.

RENT a car from PR, see above.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem the same, but 1st floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Ronald E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bridger, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The condo was very clean, well appointed, very good staff, great pool area, lovely grounds.
It is a little isolated from Quepos (about a 5 minute drive) but we found that there is not a lot of attraction in quepos town other than a few resturants, it is mostly banks, grocery stores, etc. for the community. There is a maxipali store between the condo and quepos which was the best place for groceries, and the resturant across the street from the resort had terrific food both times we ate there. You can take a mangrove monkey tour right at the edge of the property and we did, we enjoyed it a great deal. We look forward to staying at this location again.
If you are the type that likes night life, discos, and barhopping, you will not likely enjoy this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank madmatt192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nice quiet resort near Quepos Costa Rica. Clean rooms with kitchen, two bedrooms and two baths good for 4 people. Nice balcony overlooking gardens and pool. The first day we were invited to an orientation which I found very beneficial as this was my first trip to Costa Rica. Elizabeth the manager, has many tours set up at reasonable prices. We went on the mangrove monkey tour, the zip line and rapelling tour, the nature walk and beach day in the Manuel Antonio National Park, river rafting and catamarans dolphin watching tour all through the resort. The pool is very nice. I enjoyed neighboring dogs also as I was missing mine. Back at home.

Room Tip: There are two floors and no elevators. A hotel employee helped us with our bags up to the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveldiane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
4.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
3.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 13 in Quepos
299 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
387 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Real

Property: Pueblo Real
Address: Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pueblo Real 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Pueblo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Real Hotel Quepos
Pueblo Real Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing