We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote Quiet Spot”
Review of Pueblo Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pueblo Real
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nice, quiet, secluded,friendly staff. Located at the end of a dark bumpy road. There are 2 restaurants, one on the road open for lunch and dinner and one on sight open for breakfast. The food was great, fresh, home cooked and inexpensive. The room was large and updated. They had drinks by the pool nightly from 3:00-6:00, no "happy hour". They had a bar b q night on Wednesday for $5.00 a plate and it was delicious,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank maxe1lab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 162 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2011

I took my two teenage boys here for our annual vacation. I was quite surprised in the quality of the property. You must rent a car since it is about 5 miles out of Quepos. It is then 1 mile off the main road on a dirt road in the center of a rice/palm plantation. We flew from San Jose on Sansa Airlines. I booked the flight through Tico Travel in San Jose. The condo was clean and well-supplied. The personnel was cheerful and helpful. I did notice the smell others have talked about, but after the first day we were used to it.

The pool is very nice and big. The couple that make the breakfast and have the restaurant across the street do a great job. The food was good and not too expensive. The drive up to the park is difficult with the narrow roads and no shoulder for pedestrians. Don't try it at night until you're used to it.

We booked all our tours at the hotel and were very pleased. All in all, it was a fantastic trip and didn't cost a fortune.

Room Tip: The rooms are all about the same. Second floor, overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We arrived late, therefore no explanations were given...we were never told about a barbecue they have available once a week nor anything about tours being available. We went as a time share exchange. The place did not live up to comparable time shares....though they show the beach to be less than half a mile from the hotel which leads you to believe that you can walkt to it...actually it is half a mile by boat with an extra charge of $ 20 per person....
The hotel is locagted between a rice field and a river which makes it mosquitoe heaven..we had to leave the pool area in the evening because the mosquitoes were swarming...repellent had no effect
They have a soda nearby which was very nice but again we could not eat in peace because even with repellent and fans on us they were eating us alive....
Manuel Antonio Park is very nice but the beach has rip tides and is a bit dangerous specially for children and older people...
They also claim to have a spa....the spa consists of calling a masseuse for you.
We all agreed we would never go back to this place.......so many other beautiful places to visit in CR and stay as a time share...I recommend Condovac La Costa in Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank marsebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prealcr, General Manager at Pueblo Real, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

I apologize if you feel that we didn’t give you any information because you arrived late on the week.
But because of that in all our timeshare units we have an information book that is full with all the information about the resort services and also about the activities including the barbecue night.
About the beach I’m really sorry if you thought that it was closer to the hotel and that you can get there walking. We do provide a shuttle boat that goes across the estuary to get to Damas Island where is the beach .This only takes 5 minutes by boat is totally FREE and is tide depending .The same boats that we use for the shuttles also do the monkey tour and for this service they do charge.
The mosquitoes issue is something that we can’t control especially if you decide to take your vacation on the jungle during the rainy season.
We never advertise a spa in the hotel. What we offer is spa service and as you explained consist of calling a masseuse that comes to the hotel and gives a massage to our guests for half her regular price.
About the location that’s what people like about the resort is that it is quiet and far away from crowds but easy to drive to the Park and Beaches

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Pueblo Real is a hidden gem in the Manuel Antonio area. Having travelled to Manuel Antonio frequently on various occasions with my girlfriends, we were thrilled to find these 2 bedroom condominiums where we could all stay together with AC AND a full kitchen!!! Even though the hotel is located on the outskirts, you just have to plan ahead with transport and make use of the daily shuttle to the beach and the transportation that the tour companies offer you. We still thought it was a great find taking into consideration that before we paid just as much, if not more, to be in a hotel room that only offered us 1 bed and no other amenities. The condos have 2 nice bathrooms with hot water showers (not always the case in Costa Rica), a nice sized living room with cable tv and a DVD player so you can bring your own DVDs or rent one of the ones available in the hotel lobby. Being able to eat in when you want is a real $ saver and the kitchen came with everything we needed. The staff is great and helpful with anything that you may need and the pool is wonderful! I definitely recommend this place as one of the best deals for your money in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank floeasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I stayed here for a week, and it was for the most part an enjoyable experience. I saw no evidence to support the negative, cautionary remarks from some of the other reviewers.

I felt safe all the time. I felt no more concerned for my safety than any other place I have traveled.

The room was comfortable and outfitted with 2 TVs, a DVD (not that you'd use it), fairly comfortable beds and nice, hot and forceful showers. The refrigerator was larger than the average hotel room unit.

The smell that some people have alluded to was in my opinion bug spray. Remember, you are in the countryside in a tropical environment, so bugs are a reality. I did notice that this odor came and when and seemed to coincide when our room was cleaned. It bothered me a little at first, but I either got used to it or it subsided.

We put our stuff in the combo safe in the room and ever gave it a second thought.

The cleaning staff, the folks at the front desk were just fine. There was a good mix of folks from North America, UK and EU during our visit. Everybody was down to earth and friendly.

The comments by others about eating and the restaurant next door are largely accurate.

They charged me $15 for internet access for the week. When I was there, the password was "Mangrove".

Pueblo Real hotel largely caters to timeshare owners as far as I can tell. My time there was enjoyable and without any issues worth mentioning here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

This resort is about 5 kilometres outside of Quepos, Costa Rica and 7 kilometres from Manuel Antonio Park. The resort is small with half the units for rent and half the units owned, I think about 30 in total on two floors. We had a two bedroom unit on the second floor that overlooked the pool. The units are not new but are clean and well kept up.
There was a full kitchen, dining area, living area, balcony, and two bedrooms with two baths. The units provide lots of room for two couples. There is no dish washer in the unit but we never found this an issue since we ate at the local restaurant most of the time. The beds were comfortable, large bathrooms and closets and a safe in the master bedroom. The staff was very friendly, always a smile and an olla! Fresh towels were provided every other day and the unit was given a brief tidy by the room staff. Pool towels are provided, you just get them each time you go to the pool and turn them in when you are done. They were a little thin and stained but did the trick.
The pool is very nice and warm and there is a great lady making fresh drinks (pina coladas with fresh pineapple) each day from about 2-7 at the swim up bar. Her special drinks were $4 each and beer was about $2 so very reasonably priced. There also was a tennis court but we did not use this so can’t comment on its condition but we did notice people playing on it each day.
There is a restaurant just beside the resort, Cayuga run by Anna and her husband that is open for lunch and dinner till 8 pm. She has a varied menu and makes everything up as you order it. You could get dinner and a beer for under $10 so that is why we rarely cooked in our own unit. Anna also cooks breakfast at the resort each morning. Again everything is made up fresh when ordered, eggs, pancakes, cereals, lots of fresh fruit, etc. Breakfast would range around $3-$7 depending on what you ordered.
The first morning we were there a staff member went over what was available to do in the area. She went over where to buy groceries, best ways to get around, where to exchange money, etc., a very informative event. From this talk we booked zip lining with Canopy Safari, white water rafting with Rafiki Safari Lodge and a trip to Manual Antonio National Park. For all of these trips we were picked up rights at the resort which is great considering the poor conditions of some of the roads. We also did a monkey trip which is right from the resort on the river that runs beside it. We were taken out to see the monkeys and we came across a large group that came right up to the boat and ate bananas from our hands. The resort also held a barbeque one night by the pool and you could have beef, chicken or fish or a sample plate with each and all was accompanied with rice and salad for about $5.
We had a very good stay at Pueblo Real and would recommend it to others. It is clean, comfortable and offers good activities and is handy to Quepos and Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JBVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I just return from a week long stay at the Pueblo Real. We had an amazing experience throughout our stay there. The facilities were all clean and well kept. It is located wonderfully outside of Quepos giving you the provacy of being 1km down a dirt road only surrounded by local residents, as well as the convenience of being only 4km away from Quepos and Manuel Antonio. The staff at the front desk were very helpful with anything we needed, and all spoke good English. At 9:00PM you could ask the person at the front desk to set up an excursion for the next day and before you knew it they were on the phone and had a van ready to pick you up in the morning. If you didn't know what you wanted to do or where to go they were able to give you knowledgable advice about activities as well as general information about the area. I would most definetely come back to this location in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bwa_2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
5.9 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
3.3 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
3.0 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Clandestino Beach Resort
4.6 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
7.2 mi away
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel
#1 of 1 in Palo Seco
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pueblo Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pueblo Real

Address: Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: $176 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pueblo Real 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Pueblo Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pueblo Real Hotel Quepos
Pueblo Real Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing