We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience for the whole family!”

Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oceans Unlimited is a PADI CDC and Technical Dive Resort on the beautiful central Pacific coast of Costa Rica. They provide a fun, safe and high quality scuba diving service with local diving trips and dive and snorkel trips to Isla de Cano. Oceans Unlimited offers PADI dive training with courses for beginners right up to PADI Instructor Level and beyond, with professional level internships throughout the year. They also have the largest selection of technical scuba dive programs in Costa Rica with both TDI and PADI courses on offer. Their friendly instructors and dive staff are enthusiastic ad safe to give you the best underwater experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Bob and JT are very professional, friendly and interesting people to help with all your vacationing needs! We watched as our 3 kids did the discover diving course and the instructors were doing a training in the pool at the same time. Everyone there loves what they are doing and they make the experience fun and safe for everyone involved. Then in the ocean we had a good visibility dive where we could join our kids for their first time! Giovanni and Felicity were terrrific in helping the kids. The next dive wasn't as good of visibility but the kids felt secure and learned even more about diving with this experience. I would recommend this top notch dive center to everyone.

1  Thank TrophyRachelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive shop"
in 35 reviews
"dive master"
in 61 reviews
"cano island"
in 21 reviews
"great dive"
in 19 reviews
"open water certification"
in 13 reviews
"captain bob"
in 13 reviews
"rental gear"
in 8 reviews
"safety stop"
in 6 reviews
"manuel antonio"
in 29 reviews
"sting ray"
in 4 reviews
"puffer fish"
in 9 reviews
"ocean dives"
in 4 reviews
"rainy season"
in 18 reviews
"fun dives"
in 3 reviews
"poor visibility"
in 5 reviews
"divemaster internship"
in 3 reviews
"costa rica"
in 58 reviews
Filter

200 - 204 of 318 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

My father and I recently went to Costa Rica for vacation together. I thought it would be fun to scuba dive together, which required my dad to get certified. Unfortunately, my father was not able to go, because of a heart condition. That is just where the problem begin. After going to the doctor, we where told we would be refunded the money for his training and dive. That deal lasted as long as it took for us to leave the office. Oceans Unlimited has since not to refund our money.

Since Oceans Unlimited was highly rated, I didn't bring any gear, knowing that they will provided what I needed. Where to start. The BC, was old and tattered. Of the three straps to fasten the BC, one functioned properly, one was missing, and one would not tighten.

The two guides on board, were both approximately 20 years old, in college, and they acted like it. They made less than humorous jokes, and didn't give complete instructions to the inexperienced divers.

In my group there were five divers including the guide. Within the first 20 minutes into our dive the guide looses the whole group. All four of us, had to waste 20 minutes of our 45 minute dive locating and reuniting with Eric.


If you want a good diving experience look for a different dive company or don't dive at all with Oceans Unlimited.

Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceans-Unlimited, Manager at Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Hola James,
We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience as we strive our very hardest to make everyones' time with us as enjoyable and safe as possible. It was unfortunate that your father couldn't dive but for safety reasons we follow a doctors recommendations at all times. We communicated with you the additional cost of a medical examination for any persons that have existing medical conditions and you chose to continue. Once your father was unable to continue you decided to take the cost from the original payment of your fathers discover scuba. He elected to take a boat ride in addition on the boat anyway which is welcome and then on completion of your dive trip you expressed that you had fun and enjoyed your time with the guides on the boat. In addition to the instructor that was made available during your fathers visit, the medical cost and the boat trip, it balanced out to the same cost as the discover scuba program so a refund was not available for that reason and therefore never discussed with you. Its a shame that you chose to not address any issues you may have had at the time with the staff as we value all feedback and strive to learn and improve from each customers time with us. Once again thank you for your comments and happy diving in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The team at Oceans Unlimited is fantastic. Two of us did Discover SCUBA with Felicity and AJ, then went out on a half-day trip (two dives) in Manuel Antonio with Bob. Everyone was helpful and accommodating.

Their facility is excellent---there's an on-site pool, which makes Discover SCUBA really convenient.

The experience was lacking because the water during the rainy season is unclear and choppy. Oceans Unlimited made it a good experience despite that.

Thank tesuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Myself and two of my newly licensed daughters went on a two dive half day. Conditions were rough and visibility poor. However, the knowledgeable staff managed to lead us to some great wildlife and we had a great time. Thanks AJ!

Thank Bbryant11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This shop is BY FAR the most professionally run dive shop I have ever encountered in Costa Rica. The concern for their clients' safety and enjoyment is unparalleled. They make you fell so comfortable.

Thank Dru55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing