We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JT the Real Deal are the Best!”

Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Oceans Unlimited is a PADI 5 Star IDC and Technical Dive Resort on the beautiful central Pacific coast of Costa Rica. They provide a fun, safe and high quality scuba diving service with local diving trips and dive and snorkel trips to Isla de Cano. Oceans Unlimited offers PADI dive training with courses for beginners right up to PADI Instructor Level and beyond, with professional level internships throughout the year. They also have the largest selection of technical scuba dive programs in Costa Rica with both TDI and PADI courses on offer. Their friendly instructors and dive staff are enthusiastic ad safe to give you the best underwater experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“JT the Real Deal are the Best!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

JT, Alec and Oppie(?) Got us onto a great dive site right outside Manuel Antonio Nat. Park. Don't listen to the haters that had a bad dive because they are amateurs. Conditions are conditions, there is nothing you can do but go out there and try to see the most cool stuff. If you are a modestly experienced diver looking to have a fun dive, and not worry about the minutia that some dive shops put you through this is the place to go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AreWeThereYet415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    40
    23
    16
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Diving Experience, Awesome”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I’ve just returned from another wonder trip to Manual Antonio. Added to this trip was the diving experience with Oceans Unlimited. My “scuba/battle buddy” and I completed our course and pool work in the States and did our open water certification with Georgia and JT. They were both awesome. Captain Bob was great as well. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Because of timing we were able to add in another half day of diving. Thank you Oceans Unlimited for making our first diving experience awesome. From your land locked mermaid!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you want to just swim, go...not the ones to stop and look.”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Good gear and concerned with safety, however, the dive was horrible. The first dive was basically just a stop so 2 of the employees could do their map skills certificate, not a good dive spot at all…starfish farm (or something) had 3 starfish. Tried to say there was 50 ft visibility…more like 15 at the most. The dive master was all about swimming and moving, the 2nd dive had good visibility when we were at about 65 ft and he left immediately and we SWAM for the rest of the time, not time to stop and look at things. Just swimming.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mchllsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good we came back!”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My scuba buddy and I took our school work and pool time in the states and came to Costa Rica for our open water certification. JT, Georgia and Bob the Captain, were fantastic.
From the beginning, getting our gear lined up, packed up, going through the paperwork and heading to the marina, to the actual diving and learning tasks that needed to be completed, we were glad we decided to get our certifications here!
The boat was in great shape, the entire staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgable.
As a matter of fact, so good we took another day out of our vacation to dive with them again.
I would highly recommend anyone looking for certification or a great day out in the water to utilize this team of professional instuctors and guides!
We're coming back again next year, and can guarantee we will be giving the team at Oceans Unlimited more business then!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Littlefisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly disorganized, never got to go”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We arrived in Maneul Antonio hoping to arrange a Discover class and a dive for the week. I wrote to inquire about classes nd scheduling, and received some vague answers, and a request to fill out a form with my credit card information without any mention of a schedule or available tours.

Their flyer literally says " learn and dive today!" and "transportation included!" Neither of which were true.

I asked the person who worked at the front desk of our hotel to call them, since they kept urging me to do so.

As it turned out, the only time to catch a Discover class was literally right at the time when we called ( which we would have planned for had they given me a schedule in the several emails that we exchanged), and there were no other opportunities to take the class, which was required if we wanted to dive, since we had no certification,

The day (and most of our visit to Manuel Antonio) was pretty much a bust.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Hola Deanna,
Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry that you never even got the chance to dive with us as we would have enjoyed showing you the underwater world. The learn today dive today program is the discover scuba and we do complete it in one day during the dry season which runs from December through to beginning of May. However as we enter the green season, later on in the afternoon, it can rain a little or the winds may pick up which can make diving conditions not as optimal,, especially if it's your first time. For this reason we then break down the program to class and video the previous day and dive the following morning. We try to accommodate as much as we can dependent on instructors available at the time. With regards to the "transport provided", we haven't provided transport for over a year now, with local trips so I can only think that you had access to an older flyer from the previous season which I apologize for. We provide transport for full day Cano trips only. Again our apologies that you didn't dive with us, we try as much as possible to run an organized , safe, fun dive shop and unfortunately cannot accommodate every request for classes on short notice. I hope you still look to dive soon, and have fun bubbling in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Uvita, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Oceans Unlimited Scuba Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing