We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas Tranquilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villas Tranquilas
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly, and always there for us when we needed their help. The rooms/houses were spacey, clean and modern with a great kitchen and two bathrooms. The pool area was cozy and nice. The hotel is located a 3-minute drive from the centre of Quepos, and a 10-minute drive from the amazing national park Manuel Antonio. Exotic and jungle-like surroundings - we could even hear monkey screams. A big super marked called MaxiPali is just a one minute drive away, so you could prepare your own home cooked meals in the fully equipped kitchen. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALER113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family of four stayed for five nights at Villas Tranquilas, and we didn't want to leave! The location is beautiful and peaceful, but close to town and the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park. We enjoyed having a car, but you could get by without one, as most of the activities will come pick you up. The grounds are beautiful, with lots of wildlife! A wonderfully comfortable home base.
Maria and the rest of the staff were indeed as wonderful as all the other reviews state. You couldn't ask for more helpful, kind, and attentive people.
My kids loved the pool, and walking around the grounds to see what animals we could find. We also absolutely loved all of the day trips that Maria arranged for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My boyfriend's family and I just returned from a 6 night stay at Villas Tranquilas, and let me tell you, I've never received such amazing and helpful staff as they have here. Maria in particular is the most helpful concierge I've ever had the pleasure of being around. Upon arrival she gave us not only her direct office line, but also her cell phone so we could reach her with questions at any time during our stay. She continuously set us up with the BEST tours and tour guides of the area ranging from a simple tour of Manuel Antonio National Park (which is beautiful!) to zip lining through the canopy of the rainforest. She would also call us whenever there was some sort of wildlife native to Costa Rica in the trees around the office so we wouldn't miss a thing. Maria never once led us astray, and she made us feel like family the entire time we were there.

We found the villa to be very comfortable with two bedrooms (both with King sized beds and air conditioning), 2 full baths, a great kitchen and living room, and it also had a washer/dryer in the unit as well (very helpful during the rainy season!).

All in all, our stay at Villas Tranquilas left us wanting for nothing, and sad to leave at the end of our trip. I highly recommend these villas for your next trip to Costa Rica, and tell Maria hello!

Room Tip: We had 5 people with us, and wished we would have had one room with 2 queen sized beds, rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The condos at Villas Tranquilas have an open feel with a kitchen set up for entertaining. We went to the local market and cooked a feast! Maria was the perfect advisor for the best tours and restaurants in the area. Her attentiveness and expertise helped us have a wonderful vacation as we explored the area. Maria booked a Catamaran tour for us... we saw a mother and baby whale! Diego and the security guards were also so helpful with any questions we had. Not only is the property beautiful and the staff amazing, the wildlife is plentiful! It was so much fun to see the monkeys and sloth. I would recommend Villas Tranquilas to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Villa Tranquila for 5 nights this past week with a few other friends staying in other villas there. I can't say enough nice things about the staff. Maria, Diego, Carlos and Javier treated us wonderfully. They treated my husband and I like friends or even family and were more than willing to help us out with whatever we needed. Booking spa appointments, reservations, shuttles, anything.

At night someone would always be walking the grounds in case you needed anything and it made us feel safe that someone was always being vigilant.

The villas themselves are modern and very spacious. They had utensils and pots and pans to use when eating in. It is about 5 minutes from the MaxiPali supermarket which made it easy to stock the fridge. We had a two bedroom duplex with two bathrooms. The pool is on the small side but it was never crowded. There is a nice covered deck with a grill and tables.

The location is a very short drive to Quepos or Manuel Antonio. Very close to ziplining at MidWorld (highly recommended) and the Rainmaker Tropical rain forest.

I would recommend Villa Tranquila to anyone wanting to stay off the main busy street in Manuel Antonio/Quepos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelLuvsCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed for a week and wished we could stay longer. The Villa's are two stories, two bedroom, full kitchen and two bathrooms, both with showers. The bedrooms are air conditioned and the living are has a fan the keeps it very cool. We lowered the blinds before we left each day and returned to a cool Villa. We spent many afternoons around the poo, which is lovely, and enjoyed watching the Iguana, lizards, monkeys and numerous birds and butterflies as we relaxed at our Villa or by the pool.

The team, Maria, Dieho, Carlos and all the other great caretakers were more than we could have hoped for. If you come with no plans they will make recommendations you should take. Rainmaker park, Vanilla Spice tour, waterfall repelling, Manuel Antonio park, etc are all great.

This is the best kept secret in Quepos, if you want quiet, beauty, top quality Villas and great service, this is the place. We will be back!

Room Tip: I think they are all wonderful, but if you don't want the monkeys to wake you get one facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khakijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

If you want to save big in Quepos by cooking some of your own food, you just can't beat Villas Tranquilas. For the price of a medium quality hotel room in Quepos or Manuel Antonio you have a two bedroom private condo with very nice furniture and appliances.

But the icing on the cake is Maria. Having run my own tour business for 40 years I have never come across a hotel manager better than this lovely lady. She seems to be quite tireless in her endeavors to please her guests and make sure they have everything they need. Together with her able assistant Diego they run this 16 unit complex with the quality of service you should expect from a Hilton or Sheraton. Maria truly goes out of her way to please her guests.

Maxi Pali have just opened a real supermarket less than a kilometer from the Villas which makes it easy to supply all the things you need to live comfortably.

We checked the prices of all the good hotels in Quepos and found them way overpriced. Villas Tranquilas is the answer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
3.3 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Preserve at Los Altos
The Preserve at Los Altos
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Tranquilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Tranquilas

Property: Villas Tranquilas
Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas Tranquilas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical rainforest retreat in Quepos/Manuel Antonio Costa Rica. Four plantation style villas in each building offer two bedroom, two bath contemporary custom accommodations. Every town home sleeps up to six guests with a fully equipped kitchen. We have two pools for our guests and are one of the most affordable rental communities in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villas Tranquilas Hotel Quepos
Villas Tranquilas Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing