We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, amazing pool!”
Review of Hotel Villa Roca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Roca
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place, amazing pool!”
Reviewed October 22, 2008

My partner and I stayed here for almost a week, and both of us enjoyed ourselves. The pool is great, with it's infinity edge overlooking the jungle and the ocean beyond that. The staff is friendly. The grounds are well kept. The room was clean and neat. They feature a great hot tub that is below the hotel in the jungle perfect for late night use.

  • Liked — Def the pool and grounds, great cocktail hour each night.
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Scottinaboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    77
    27
    9
    4
See reviews for
3
193
64
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We were at Villa Roca for 9 days in April/May, 2008, and had a spectacular stay. The moment you enter the property you are greeted with a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean and the well-manicured grounds of the property. We stayed in Room 12, and despite another review here that suggests it is overpriced and has a bad view, we were ecstatic with the long-range view from our balcony! To further attest to the desirability of Room 12, we met two guys at the hotel on our first day. After introducing ourselves and telling them which room we were in, they jokingly exclaimed "so YOU'RE the guys that got our room!" Apparently, they reserved that room every year but were a little late getting their reservations in, so we got it instead, and we were very happy with it! We also were happy that all the other guests were quite friendly, and a number of them were "repeat customers." The staff were both attentive and very personable. (Regarding the prevoius Room 12 review that mentioned noisy housekeeping staff, that issue apparently has been completely resolved.) The location of Villa Roca is perfect - several terrific restaurants close by and the beach was an easy walk downhill (and an even easier bus ride back uphill!) We did not go to the "gay beach" but instead found the main beach to be fine for us - comfortable chaise lounge chairs, a big umbrella and servers delivering drinks -- beats the heck out of a towel in the sand with a tepid bottle of water! When we went to the beach, we usually ate lunch (and had a few beers) at the Marlin restaurant, next door to which is an internet shop for checking email (beware - they apparently only have dial-up connections in Manuel Antonio- very slow!) The computer at the hotel was down so we visited this shop a few times. We picked up some fun souvenirs for family and friends at "beach market" as well. The hotel includes free breakfast daily, and we found it to be quite filling and tasty. Fresh fruits,vegetables, cereals, coffee, and juices were complemented by eggs cooked to order and bacon. Evenings, we went to these retaurants: Agua Azul (excellent! ), La Mariposa (also very good, and with a spectacular sunset view!), Kapi Kapi (probably our favorite!), Bambu Jam (freshest and largest shrimp I ever had!), L'Avion (good food at a good price), and Gaia (arguably the most upscale restaurant in the area-- pricey, but well worth it, especially for a celebration like my partner's birthday!). Next door to the hotel is another hotel, Si Como No ("sure, why not!"). We ate a light lunch at their pool bar immediately after checking in and really enjoyed it. There's an Italian restaurant just down the street (can't remember the name!) and we enjoyed lunch there twice and dinner there once.
Finally, be sure to set up a guided tour of Manuel Antonio National Park with Gama - it was a blast!

  • Liked — convenience, price
  • Disliked — no blackout curtains for the windows
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

This place is beautiful, the staff is super-friendly, and the location is terrific. Breakfast at the pool was a great start to the day --- the nicest 2 ladies would make eggs to order, and you could self-serve gallo pinto (rice & beans), cheese, fruits, and I think there was also cereal and yogurt. We ate well and with breakfast included, it helped save money because we usually only had one more meal! And the view from the pool is terrific -- mountainside, ocean, and a hummingbird feeder. Plus, a friendly iguana.
This is mainly a gay resort and that was what we were looking for; but note that no nudity is allowed until after breakfast ends, so you dont have to see it --- really it was just some people skinny-dipping for a few minutes.
Anyway, the location is perfect --- you are outside downtown Quepos (which is much more touristy than when I lived there 15 years ago) and a 10-15 minute walk to the beach, but taxis and bus are available and cheap. No car is needed. You can walk to a handful of restaurants and bars and shops. Barba Roja, Latino Lounge, and the Avion are recommended, and if you're up for a ride to Quepos, check out Milagros, the restaurant opened by the wonderful expat who also runs Cafe Milagro -- located five minutes from Villa Roca and also in Quepos.
The primary gay bar is above El Gato Negro, across from the Avion, and is just a five minute walk. Its not cheap, but has a good weekend crowd.
There is a "gay nude beach" will isn't necessarily worth the effort to go to --- you have to time it right with low tide and climb over rocks. And there's now an illegal hotel there that posts a guard who calls the cops if people get naked, and they'll take you to the police station and then you're no longer at the beach. The best beach is Playa Manuel Antonio inside the park.
We loved our room, especially the huge patio out back --- it was very private and the only problem were the mosquitos, but they did have candles to burn. The view was great. And the fridge in the room was packed with beer, sodas, waters, and at decent prices ($2 for many items, including beers). And it had an ice-maker, so buy a bottle of rum and a 2-liter of soda and you're good for a few days!
OK...more than enough said.....except to mention again that the people working at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Breakfast at the pool and happy hour at the pool.
  • Disliked — Stairs...but it was worth the views and the privacy.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank gringuitoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I was disappointed in the rooms, but the pool is really nice and the grounds are lush. And the views are absolutely incredible. First, you need to realize that this is in the rain forest so there will be some bugs in the room. Mostly I saw little tiny bugs (I think they are sugar bugs) and some flies. When I first walked in, I saw them crawling around the bathroom sink. I had a package of Halls in one of my bags and the bag had lots of the tiny little bugs after a day. So if that bugs you (haha) then maybe you should pass on this place (or, in fairness, maybe any place in Quepos). The people at Villa Roca were nice. The location is between Manuel Antonio and Quepos center but cabs are pletiful and cabs were $3 to $6. I stayed there just after the high season ended, so the prices were good - around $60. And that was probably a fair price putting everything in the mix.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — the rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank krawimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Besitzer at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this review, June 17, 2008
Google Translation
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the observations. You know that Villa Roca is located in the middle of the Rain Forest with an exotic wildlife including monkeys, sloths, parrots and more in their natural habitat. Certainly, bugs are not very welcome in a hotel room but the bugs you talked about are very usually in this area and they are also looking for food like your Halls in one of your bags.
But in this moment we are fumigating once again all our installations in a new ecological way. Welcome again and enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Before arriving to Manuel Antonio and Quepos, I was really confused where the town, park and beach were. I wanted to be far enough away from the city and/or touristy area but have a great view of the water, and several choices where to eat. Villa Roca was ideal. It is pretty much a gay accommodation, but there were non-gay guests as well. It was not a party scene, despite the clothing optional rule for the pool. During the 4 days we were there, no one went nude. It is simply a comfortable and beautiful place. Our room had a king bed and a balcony with a view of the ocean, for about $100 with tax.

We went on the Titi canopy tour booked through the hotel for $55. It was fantastic. 3 hours, which was perfect. I was scared before doing it, but this is something that should not be missed and I'm glad I didn't let my fear get the best of me. We also took a guided tour of Manuel Antonio park--you can get the bus for about 30 cents to the park. You have to contract your guide on the street before entering the park. $20 per person is the going rate. They have telescopes that help you see the animals up close.

Villa Roca has a great breakfast with eggs included. The pool is wonderful. There is internet although the dial up connection is slow compared to cable modem. They have chess which we used during the rainy evenings. Nearby is a great restaurant El Avion, order the Pura Vida cocktail! For a gay friendly dining experience check out Latino Lounge, past the tapas bar Salsipuedes and Barba Roja. It was inexpensive and the manager Jim and owners Eric and Rodney quite friendly. For a treat, go to La Mariposa for lunch, use the pools, and enjoy the unbeatable view. It's also walking distance.

I think 3 nights was the right amount of time for us to be in Manuel Antonio. Because our trip was during the rainy season, it rained a lot, and an umbrella was necessary, however it was sunny during the mornings. One lucky afternoon we even caught the sunset at Barba Roja before the rain returned.

We flew from San Jose on Nature Air, and were glad it only took 20 minutes to get to Quepos. The cab to the airport from Villa Roca was only $10.

  • Liked — The view, the room size/decor, the breakfast, the pool, the location
  • Disliked — there are a lot of stairs, which were OK but may be hard for some people
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank gilead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2008

My partner and I just returned from 7 days at Hotel Villa Roca.
It was a great vacation and we loved staying at this unique hotel. The staff was very helpful in setting up our extensive list of tours and events .We stayed in Room #1 which has the most wonderful view of the Pacific. The pool, which also overlooks the Pacific, was
awesome. Many of the hotels guests got together for breakfast and cocktails around the pool every day. We recommendation the hotel and plan to return next year.
G&G
New York City

  • Liked — the staff, the views, the pool
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JorgeNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

My partner and I have just returned home for one week at Villa Roca which is between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. For our spring vacation, we have usually gone to Mexico and I approached this small resort with some trepidation. However, we were very pleasantly surprised.

We arrived by regular bus from San Jose and the bus driver dropped us off rather prematurely as we were the last two people on the bus. However, we didn't have long to walk and we were greeted very warmly at Villa Roca. We had booked Chalet 6B which has a wonderful view of the jungle and the water beyond.

The most impressive aspect of our stay was the warmth and helpfulness of the staff, both at the front desk and bar.......the other folks staying at the resort were also a very positive aspect of the stay. Alll were friendly and engaging and polite. The infinity pool is lovely and the breakfasts are very pleasant.

It is a bit of a hike to the beach, but we soon learnt to take the bus or a taxi for $3!! There were several walks back, including one through the jungle.

We will plan to return. Its a restful place. I highly recommend the canopy tour......

  • Liked — View
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scoubiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Roca

Property: Hotel Villa Roca
Address: Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional | Street to the National Park, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Roca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco-friendly resort is gay owned and gay operated. For gays, lesbians and their friends to enjoy. Villa Roca is ideally located between the village of Quepos and the National Park of Manuel Antonio. Offering 24-hour infinity-edge pool and Jacuzzi with breathtaking views to the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean. The National Park, beaches, restaurants, bars and shops are close to the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Roca Hotel Quepos
Hotel Villa Roca Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing