We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Beauty. Amazing view and pool. Basic rooms.”
Review of Hotel Villa Roca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Roca
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We took the villa, which sleeps 4. It is not clear on the website at all,but one of the double rooms is actually outside the villa. So you need to wall through The main apartment then outside onto the deck, go down a flight of stairs to the second bedroom. It was not fun in the evening when it rained. The shower for this room is also upstairs in the main apartment, so, very inconvenient. The rooms themselves are old fashioned and need a makeover. The sheets and towels seemed old. It was a lot of money for a basic place. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and the pool and views were spectacular. It is a great location for everything - perfect spot. The evening bar around the pool could do with livening up. They could do a free first drink or happy hour. They never had the drinks we wanted so we went to the supermarket and bought our own.
Restaurants in the area are good. By far the best was at Gaia - a stunning hotel with amazing "in the cloud" views and great food and service.
Don't bother paying the huge fees for the private tours of the national park. They are private, but the next "private" tour is ten feet ahead! There are so many people most of the animals are scared off. Go in by yourself and just pay the entrance fee of $10.
Overall a great trip. Villa Roca has amazing attributes and I'm sure was once beautiful. Now it seems like the owners have lost interest a bit and its a shame because with a bit of remodelling in La Villa and a few tweaks and one or two generosities in order to make the guest feel special, it could be glorious once more.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Hello and thank you very much fort the “Great location” and the “Overall a great trip”.
Please consider the description of La Villa on our website: “The master bedroom with ocean view in the main floor has a king size bed. The second bedroom with a garden view in the lower floor offers a queen size bed.” We were happy to offer you a discount because it was not very clear at this time that both showers are located in the main floor.
Furthermore we want to inform you that the sheets and the towels we replaced every 2 years and the furniture of La Villa is between 5 and 7 years old and in a good condition. Our guests can see it all at the photos and the video on our website.
We are proud to offer our guests dinks like 19 international cocktails, 14 different soft drinks and spirits, 6 kind of beer, wine, Champaign, water, juices and much more.
Furthermore please consider that we are a small private resort and our gay guests prefer to stay at Villa Roca because our private atmosphere and location in the heart of Manuel Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 381 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed 8 days and had the best time at Villa Roca. The views are great! The hotel is lovely and kept clean. The staff was the best ever, doing everything to make our stay the best ever. The made reservations for our excursion and we were very pleased. We are looking forward to our return and would definitely stay at Villa Roca!
William S

Room Tip: Their all good rooms depending on the view you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill33530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We've been staying in this hotel for at least 10 years and have always enjoyed it. The staff are always smiling especially the ladies that prepare breakfast in the morning. Regularly monkeys in the morning, humming birds and don't forget the jacuzzi, always quiet at night, very good for relaxing. As long as it stays open we will continue to visit this lovely place. Very affordable in my view mostly if you are more than one in the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomayoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Villa Roca for 7 nights in February. This was our first time to Costa Rica. We stayed in Room #1. This room had an amazing view of the ocean from the balcony, two rooms, bath, and a small kitchen if you wanted to cook. Always had hot water and good pressure in the shower. The staff was amazing, especially Fernando at the front desk! He took care of everything we needed, set everything up for us. He is a great person! One of the best things we liked is meeting the other guests at the hotel. We met people that we will be friends with forever. The happy hour was a great time to mingle and meet with the other guests and the bartender was very nice. The landscaping is very pretty, and everything kept clean. Very good breakfast each morning, must better than we expected, never left hungry and a great way to start the day. For sure we would stay at this hotel again. Thank you to all of the staff for making our first trip to Costa Rica a great one!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dbrazeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I love this place and think about it often, always planing my next return. Don't expect Lux but be delighted at what all you are getting for the price. I've stayed in other hotels in MA that were dumps with service to match for twice the price. Now mind you, I've also stayed at Gaia, which is mind blowing but also three times the price. Loved it there but when looking at stretching my dollar, I always settle on a longer stay here. I know almost every room at Villa Roca and will be glad to give anyone advice if they are thinking about a visit. Pros and cons for each. It really depends on what your wants and needs are.

Room Tip: I don't know why anyone hasn't said it before but room #1 is a must if you are traveling wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azuresc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hello and thank you very much for your kind comment.
We are very happy that you enjoy like many other frequent guests since several years our resort.
The heading of your review says it all.
In MA (Manuel Antonio) we have a lot of ("gay friendly") accommodations for every budget but we know that Villa Roca is the only one place who offers affordable quality for the international travelers of our GLBT-Community and their friends.
We looking forward to seeing you with your next return to enjoy again "The best for your budget".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The view from the balcony from our room was magnificent, as was the view from the infinity pool. Absoloutely wonderful to just spend time in the pool and enjoy the view. This hotel has a fabolous location
Rooms were ok but could need some TLC. The beds not that comfortable and the chest of drawer almost falling apart. Ac was extremely noisy.
Although the rooms could have been better we really enjoyed our stay as the location is superb

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnJohnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villaroca, Owner at Hotel Villa Roca, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear guests.
We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort.
We are pleased to inform you that every year we check and renovate all our rooms before the High Season comes up.
All our beds have high quality and comfortable mattresses with Pillow-Up.
The furniture up on some real well-preserved Antiques usually are not older than 5 years old.
For the convenience of our guests we have a total of 22 air conditioners.
20 of them are very quiet mini-split systems and 2 are 4 years old Windows-A/Cs with a normal noise levels.
Next year we will replace the last 2 windows A/Cs with the new system then we will be “extremely quiet”. Welcome again.

Our best regards from Manuel Antonio.
Armin, Jorn and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 3 nights at this beautiful location. Incredible views from room and pool. Staff was friendly and efficient - their tour and restaurant recommendations were great. Our room was large with a full kitchen and balcony, and was clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
591 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
922 reviews
2.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Roca

Address: Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional | Street to the National Park, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: $111 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Roca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco-friendly resort is gay owned and gay operated. For gays, lesbians and their friends to enjoy. Villa Roca is ideally located between the village of Quepos and the National Park of Manuel Antonio. Offering 24-hour infinity-edge pool and Jacuzzi with breathtaking views to the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean. The National Park, beaches, restaurants, bars and shops are close to the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Roca Hotel Quepos
Hotel Villa Roca Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing