We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting.”
Review of Hotel Villa Roca

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Roca
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We had a very nice time staying at Villa Roca (March 08). The pool is beautiful and the hot tub area is really well landscaped (you feel like you are in the jungle). Our only complaint was that the hot tub was no where near hot enough... something about it being solar powered. They should really fix that!

Also, I highly recommend a massage with Javier.

The power went out briefly a few times which was not a big deal. The water also went out for about 12 hours which was a bigger problem! When the water came back it tasted like it had turpentine in it.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jsg333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 383 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2008

For a break from it all in an accepting, hospitable and friendly spot, you can not beat VILLA ROCA. There is courteous attention
to every need. The breakfasts are delicious. The Infinity pool and view of the pacific from it are spectacular. The pool, hot tub and rooms are well tended. After four visits I would have to say that the hotel attracts very beautiful and friendly guests from near and far. Whether single or a couple, I'd highly recommend this vacation spot. It is in walking distance to fine and economical restuarants. Irwin, the general manager, shepherds a wonderful staff and the boys at the reception desk are intent on making the proper reservations and sharing insight to enhance any vacation. Check it out, you'll love it.

Stayed: February 2008
3  Thank OldForge_NYBobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We had a wonderful time here. The room was great. We had an incredible view. Sliding glass doors to a terrace that overlooks the Pacific Ocean. What a great way to wake up every day!
The staff was friendly and nice. The cocktails at the infinity pool at sunset was wonderful. We met a lot of nice people each night there. Dont miss out on staying here!
We loved the food in Costa Rica. We really enjoyed almost all the places we went but stay away from the Gato Negro. We were told that the service was bad, and we went anyhow. What a mistake. The service was horrible and their attitude was unlike any I had seen in Costa Rica. Everyone was so nice everywhere we went! We were so disappointed that we went there.
Fortunately, our experience in Costa Rica (and here at Villa Roca) more than offsets this!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Irishman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2008

Costa Rica and our stay at The Villa Roca is one of my favourite trips/hotel experiences.
The setting high on the hill overlooking the ocean is beautiful and the grounds of the hotel are really lovely.
We also really enjoyed the infinity pool - I highly recommend gazing at the stars while taking a midnight dip.
The staff was efficient and the other quests were friendly.
The food in Costa Rica is the best I've ever had - Cafe Milagro for breakfast was amazing.
The beach is terrific but extremely hot in Feb...be sure to take your sunscreen!
Overall, amazing trip and great place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

Stayed in 6B which was very comfortable, had an incredilbe ocean view, and the best maid service imaginable. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. We were very active the week we were there, ie. LOTS of walking/hiking. However many of our fellow guests seldom left the hotel grounds and pool area except for dinner or coctails. The breakfasts offered are very good and a great way to start the day. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PlatterTalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

We really liked Villa Roca. The views are amazing, the hotel is clean, the fellow guests were quite friendly, and the staff was attentive.

For gay travelers, this is the best spot to stay in Manuel Antonio/Quepos.

The pool is very pretty; with an infinity edge. Nightly there is a happy hour poolside, with a lot of the guests watching the sun set from there.

The location is nice, a quick walk to lots of restaurants and the only gay bar in the area.

I would recommend this to anyone and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank markinmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2008

We had a great time at this villa Roca (I think owned by swiss or german people). The villa itself was quiet, the setting with the pool is out of this world and the crowd is coming from Europe, Canada and America. We had a great relaxing time for 3 nights. In low season, it might be quiet and nothing much around so go to other regions for a few days too like Puerto Viejo and discover other part of the country.
In Manueal Antonio, we compared with another gay resort and this one is nothing compared to the other one. There is also a beautiful independant coffeshop in a great setting, it felt good to see something else than those numerous boring Starbucks.
Enjoy, don`t even think about somewehere else in Manuel Antonio.
Merci !

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,631 reviews
0.8 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,442 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Pacifica
Hacienda Pacifica
#24 of 32 in Quepos
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Roca

Address: Carretera hacia al Parque Nacional | Street to the National Park, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: $197 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Roca 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The eco-friendly resort is gay owned and gay operated. For gays, lesbians and their friends to enjoy. Villa Roca is ideally located between the village of Quepos and the National Park of Manuel Antonio. Offering 24-hour infinity-edge pool and Jacuzzi with breathtaking views to the rain forest and the Pacific Ocean. The National Park, beaches, restaurants, bars and shops are close to the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Roca Hotel Quepos
Hotel Villa Roca Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing