We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Can't get better than this!

These guys are THE BEST. We had an awesome time! They are very friendly and work SUPER hard to get... read more

Reviewed January 22, 2020
brit963
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
Exceptional service and experience!

Captain Roberto and first mate Mako provided us with an experience we will never forget. Starting... read more

Reviewed September 10, 2018
Brent H
,
Charleston, South Carolina
Read all 48 reviews
  
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveler rating
40
5
1
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
40
5
1
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 48 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2016

My son (16 years old) and I went out with these guys today and had a great time sailfish fishing off-shore. We had a captain and two mates--all of them were friendly and knowledgeable. We reeled in 10 monster sailfish and there were a few more that hopped off the line when reeling in. The boat was in great condition and the equipment was top-notch. Neither of us spoke Spanish but the crew was fluent enough in English to teach us some new knots and pass along a lot of knowledge of the area and local fishing.

To top it off the snacks and lunch were delicious. For lunch we had some of the best roasted chicken and mashed potatoes I've experienced in Costa Rica. Charter fishing isn't an inexpensive activity, so when you do commit, you want to have a good experience. These guys can provide a great day out on the water.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank JameyVA-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReelInsportfishing, Owner at Reel In Luxury Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2016

We are so happy to hear that you had a good day of fishing with us and that you enjoyed the meals and snacks provided for you during your offshore charter.

We hope to see you again soon and remember to keep tight lines!

Pura Vida!

Mandel and the crew on Reel In 1 (36 ft Bertram)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2016 via mobile

I have long (30+ years) been in search of the charter that is a perfect balance of a great, friendly, and professional crew that is also crazy for the fish. I found it! You would never know these guys fish every day - they wanted us with tight lines all day and they got it. Chepe, Jorge, and Correa were total professionals and made our day truly memorable. Surely some luck was involved as we landed 17 sailfish in one day but I will give them full credit. Included 2 doubles (see photo) and they went out of their way to ensure all of us had a photo. This crew was extremely careful with the fish and made very clean, healthy releases. This ecosystem and all anglers should be thankful. The boat was nice and fully-equipped for the day. Lunch on board was excellent. A seemingly unlimited supply of water and beer. Spend the money - it is worth it.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank RobertMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReelInsportfishing, Owner at Reel In Luxury Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Hi Robert,

We are delighted to know that you and your family had a great day of fishing with the crew on the 36 ft Bertram. Thank you for your amazing review. We hope to see you all again soon and remember to keep tight lines!

Pura Vida from beautiful Costa Rica.

Mandel and the crew on the 36 ft Bertram

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016

We had an awesome day out on the water on Monday February 29th, 2016! From the great communication from Mandel to meeting Alfonso on the pier to direct us to the boat. Our entire experience went smooth. We had my wife, myself, and a buddy of mine book the whole boat out to ourselves. None of us had ever caught a sailfish before and that is the reason we decided to choose our vacation destination to Costa Rica this year. We ended up hooking our first sailfish within 5 minutes of being out on the water! That was riot! We ended up landing 6 sailfish on the day. We couldn't have asked for anything better! We actually had 6-8 more of our baits get bit off where we didn't connect with hooking them up so we did have the potential to actually catch more. It was an amazing day out on the water and the three of us all agreed that is was a day we will never forget!!!!! Thanks so much for the experience and if you are looking for a good time out on the water I highly recommend Reel In Luxury Sport Fishing.

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReelInsportfishing, Owner at Reel In Luxury Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Hi Jeremy,

I am extremely happy to know that you had a wonderful day of fishing with us. It was our pleasure to have you onboard and we feel very lucky that we were able to share an exciting day of fishing with you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Keep Tight Lines!

Pura Vida!!

Mandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2016

My wife and I were both fishing off-shore for the first time when we booked with Reel-in Luxury Sport Fishing. Upon meeting Mandel and the crew we were both comfortable with knowing we had made the right choice. Mandel is a first class boat owner and business man. Cheppie and the crew were great, making us feel comfortable at all times while on board. They encouraged our questions and made us feel very involved and stressed our enjoyment throughout the day. We booked a full day and were given a full day's work by the entire crew. We spent the day on the 36' Bertram and we're delighted with the accommodations and comfort of this vessel. The AC is a must have later in the afternoon. The fishing deck is perfect size for fighting the variety of species that reside in the Pacific waters of Costa Rica. We were able to land 6 sail fish in a tough day of fishing. We missed landing 3 but know the crew worked very hard for all strikes. I was impressed with the crews knowledge of the fishery, species and their adherence to conservation efforts.

You will not find a crew that will work harder to put you on fish and will fish at your pace!!

Well done Reel-in Luxury Sport Fishing!!!!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReelInsportfishing, Owner at Reel In Luxury Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2016

Hi Chad and Kayla,

I am so happy to know that you were able to catch the "Big One" and that you enjoyed fishing with the crew on Reel In 1 (36 ft Bertram).

We hope to see you all again soon.

Pura Vida!!

Mandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2016

I fished with this outfit for two days in January 2016 and had a wonderful experience. We caught a ton of sails, grouper, tuna, and a huge red snapper. The captains were experienced and the mates worked incredibly hard. Both boats had A/C, which I didn't think I was going to need, but it was really nice to cool off and get out of the sun. The lunch was excellent too; it was probably the best food I've had on a offshore fishing trip.

In addition, Mandel was very flexible with our group. We had last minute cancellations, additions, and changes to our trips, and he worked with us to get us exactly what we wanted. Check these guys out!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank kjp527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReelInsportfishing, Owner at Reel In Luxury Sport Fishing, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2016

Hi Kevin,

I am so happy to know that you enjoyed your two days of fishing with us. We had a great time meeting you and your family and we hope to see you all again soon.

Keep Tight Lines!

Pura Vida!

Mandel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews