We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & friendly”
Review of La Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
1 review
“clean & friendly”
Reviewed August 30, 2009

The staff spoke fluent English and were friendly and helpful. We had a problem with the safe in the room at first, but the desk clerk quickly fixed it for us. There's an internet terminal in the lobby as well as wifi in the hotel (although we didn't use the wifi). Our room was basic, but very clean and the a/c worked well. We liked the location. We stayed there while visiting Manuel Antonio, so we spent the day down at the beach, but came back to Quepos by bus (very easy!) where there are more restaurants as well as shops.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildrabbit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    103
    44
    23
    12
See reviews for
39
139
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
Reviewed May 8, 2009

Nice and clean,with a friendly staff a great value and I loved the pool!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackjohnNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montréal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Montréal, Qué. February, 16, 2009
We are back from a two weeks trip to Costa Rica. We spent the last 10 days to Quepos, February 01 to february 11, 2009, at the Hotel La Sirena. We were enchanted by this hotel of about 13 rooms. The hotel is located in the center of Quepos, near all: the restaurants, terraces, bars, shops, two steps of the sea to go to admire the splendid sunsets all the end-of-days…When we arrived the first day, we were accomodated with the smile by Marcos, the employee at the reception, which gave us all the necessary informations. The following day, for our greater comfort, Carolina at the reception , was with an incredible availability. We had a large room, very clean, with two double beds (bed linen incredible cleanliness), a large and clean private bathroom with hot water, refrigirator, conditioned air, safety box, access illimited to internet in two private spaces in the Hall of the hotel, swimming pool impeccable cleanliness, service of bar and washing of linen, all generous breakfast included (eggs, fruits, juices and excellent cafe) and always been useful served with the smile by Patricia and Gilma. We left the Hotel La Sirena the last day with a certain nostalgia and the desire to certainly go back. All the personnel was with a great availability. Thanks to all employees for having made us spend this splendid 10 days to Quepos at the Hotel La Sirena. We had a wonderful time and we’ve already been saving many positive things about this hotel.
Michel and Daniel

  • Liked — Kindness of employees and cleanliness of the hotel in general.
  • Disliked — nothing special to report
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank leolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

There isn't anything great about La Sirena but there isn't anything horrible about it. The staff was excellent but the rooms are an achilles heel mainly because they were tiny. Our room had two mediocre single beds. Despite the somewhat cramped quarters we were comfortable because the air conditioning works well and they get plenty of TV channels. We did not have any problems with theft in the hotel or anywhere in Quepos or Manuel Antonio. La Sirena has a night watchman who only lets hotel guests into the building.

We stayed here for 3 nights and overall it was comfortable but at $90/night it seemed expensive because of its basic amenities. It is 15 minutes from Manuel Antonio park, roughly 4,000 colones (less than $8) each way.

The staff was very accommodating and the front desk people speak excellent English. They have free wifi and an public internet access computer in the front room. There is a pool but we didn't use it. I would say the highlight here was the free breakfast. They bring you eggs, toast, juice, and fruit. It's a hearty meal that lasts until the afternoon.

I'm not sorry I stayed here but I doubt I would have a repeat visit. It's probably best for a short stays. 3 nights is probably the maximum I would stay at La Sirena.

  • Liked — Quepos culturally an interesting place
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happyboredom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2008

My two daughters - 22 and 7 and I stayed at La Sirena for 10 days and loved it! The place was spotless and the pool sparkling. I have travelled to many countries and never met a nicer and more hospitable staff from the cleaning ladies to the front desk. Quepos is a small, friendly, and quaint town - a treasured spot away from the hustle and bustle, but with all the amenities within walking distance. I will stay there again - Best Place Ever!

  • Liked — Courtyard Bar and Pool
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VeganWaterLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2008

I called the phone from bus terminal to ask if they had wireless Internet, my only requirement. They said yes, so I carried my bags to the hotel. The nervous American receptionist told us she made a mistake with the price she quoted on the phone and asked if we could pay $10 more. Eventually she agreed to her quoted price (I had carried the bags a long way). She proceeded to give us the room furthest from the Internet. By the time I determined the Internet signal was too weak, she had left the office and turned off the Internet ISDN server (Quepos does not have DSL). The manager came down, and spent a short amount of time trying to help us. She turned on the server, and when I was then able to get a signal, she accused me of playing games, of changing my story. At that point they more or less told us to leave and refunded our money., I had no idea if she would leave the server on (she claimed it was not necessary) or if I could get a good signal in any room, so I agreed. Initially she said I could work by the pool or in the office, but later she retracted this. So at 10 PM I was on the street with my heavy bag. Luckily at the Best Western Internet worked fine.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank tfriedel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerLaSirena, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2008
Our hotel for families is well located in downtown Quepos, only one block from the bus station. If you will decide to travel with heavy bags you can reach our hotel by cab for only $ 1 (cabs are located in front of bus station). I have in my hand the receipt signed by the customer for a full refund of $ 50. How everyone can check that is the rate for a single room (that was the reservation we received by phone). And finally that was we charged not to discuss also if the customer didn't arrive alone. We offer free internet service to our customers from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. That is clearly specified with a blue sign at the front desk and in the "welcome book" you could find in each room. Each room (we offer only 14 comfortable rooms) receives a clear signal if the utilized equipment is compatible. We can't let any no authorized person working in the office of the reception being the place where we custody properties and personal information of our customers. Also if the customer decided to leave the hotel at 10 p.m. we offered a full refund to stop any discussion. Sorry that didn't work. Enrica Minardi (Manager Hotel Sirena).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2007

Friendly staff and clean premises but room safe did not work so (luckily) kept valuables with me when off the property. Clothing and other items went missing from room. Unfortunately, cannot recommend.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Gotgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
386 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 13 in Quepos
116 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sirena Hotel

Property: La Sirena Hotel
Address: West of the entrance to town 100m, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is budget in price NOT in quality and is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, tiki bar, digital safe, tour office and laundry services ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your La Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
La Sirena Hotel Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing