We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price”
Review of La Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Small hotel, small property, very good front desk, had no problem speaking english as another reviewer mentioned, excellent breakfast, excellent location if for some reason you need to stay in Quepos--like fishing--the marina is 5 minutes by cab and that saves you alot of sleep time in the early a.m. as opposed to staying in M.A., waiting for a cab, etc. Rooms are clean, small, nothing fancy. The rooms are very, very close to the pool so if there are kids staying there which happened when I stayed there, forget about sleeping in very late. Hey, kids will be kids! They're on vacation!

No parking but give the security guy a buck and keep your car close to the front. Theft from cars is rampant in CR. It's app 1 block from the sea wall, a night time hang-out for a very bad element. Be careful walking the seawall street at night, in fact avoid it and get back to this hotel from the other direction.

Room Tip: Towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
omas

Thank you for your review of the hotel. According to your review, we see that even though you seem to have stayed with us almost a year ago, in April of 2013. Its good to see that we must of made quite an impression on you for your review of the hotel almost a year later...

In your review, you thought both our breakfast and location was excellent. As we always are trying to improve our guest experience, I noticed in your review that although you seemed to be very satisfied with your stay with us however you only gave us 3 out of 5 stars on value, location, sleep quality and rooms and 4 out of starts on Cleanliness and Service..

If you have the time, can you please send us your feedback on what we can do to improve these areas to get 5 out of 5 stars?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    103
    44
    23
    12
See reviews for
39
140
43
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Pros:

+ inexpensive accomodation
+ breakfast free included (you can choose between 4 warm dishes which are freshly prepared)
+ in the heart of quepos near bars/restaurants
+ pool available (i did not swim)
+ friendly staff

Cons:

- sleeping with a/c is not possible (very loud)
- walls are not sound-proof (i needed ohropax)
- staff hardly speaks english
- wifi signal is poor in room and pool but it works most of the time
- pillows could be better were was ok
- room 8 has not window

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your giving us your review on both areas where you think we are doing well as well as areas you believe we need to work on. In your report, I am glad you found our staff friendly, however it is the first time I have been told that our staff does not speak English well. Usually our guest tell us on how well they speak and it is often noted in previous reviews.

I am going to review your other issues such as the WI FI and AC to make sure that no future guest has these issues.

Hopefully, should you return, we can get a 5 star review and that you will only have "PRO's" to report. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Booked on line for a Saturday through Monday night (3 nights). My arrival date changed suddenly and I needed to come a day later than my original reservation. Although the terms of my online booking said no refunds or changes could be made, the hotel had no problem changing my dates..so far so good.

Checked into room 6 upstairs in the back. It had three single beds and a small bathroom and a window AC unit. AC blew cold but it really doesn't cool the room until night. Bed was comfortable and it was quite at night! I spent my first two nights here with no problems.

I ended up extending my stay by one more night which wasn't a problem but I had to change rooms. They moved me to room 15, still on the second floor but closer to the pool area. The Ac unit was now a wall mount style which I thought should have been better. It worked but the fan blades osculated and there was no way to control that. I like the air blowing right on me at nights but that wasn't going to happen this night. Speaking of AC…in room 15 you have to make a choice. There is only one three prong outlet in the room and it fits only one plug at a time. So the choice is plug in the refrigerator or the AC unit but not both at the same time!! I chose AC

No fault to the hotel, but I noticed that the rooms closer to the pool were subject to the outside noise of a popular night club. The low boom of the bass in the music was very noticeable. I'm sure the rooms right on the pool could even here it more. As a side note, if you're coming down and want to go out at night, Club Cubana is the club that makes the noise but I went on Saturday night and had a great time there (can't beat them join them).

Location rocks! I read some reviews stating there was nothing around this hotel. You need to know that El Centro is 4 blocks long and about 6 blocks wide. You could probably walk the whole town twice in a hour. That being said, everything is close. Some of the best restaurants I have eaten at are here in Quepos. Manuel Antonio is 5 minutes up the mountain and a $3 cab ride depending how far you go.

Security is good with a vigilant guard working at night. All desk staff speak English very well. The staff in all is very helpful and nice. The pool area is clean and well kept. The breakfast is ok and prepared by the morning crew.

Room Tip: Room 5,6,& 7 for quiet nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbailey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review as well as the tips for future guests on rooms as well as the what to do at night. We are also glad to here that you liked are location and for explaing the benefits of being at our location as well as how easy it is to get to Manuel Antonio. We are looking into your issue about the outlets but I belive there is another 3 prong outlet in room 15.

We apologize about the noise from the nightclub, although it is not something we can control, we have filed a report with the Municipality and we believe the noise issue will be taken care of quickly. Hopefully when you return in March it will no longer be an issue for you.

Thanks again for your review... We are going to do our best to get a 5 star rating from you after your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Our room was small, but clean and quiet, even though it was near the pool. It had a safe and good air conditioning.The staff were all very helpful and cheerful, and spoke good English. The breakfast was always good, and cooked to order. (The menu was limited, but that did not matter so much to us). Overall it was good value, and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: A room on the upper level may have a bit less foot traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thanks for your recommendation and detailed review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you considered us a good value. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

La Sirena is very near the center of the busy town of Quepos but once inside, the outside noises disappear. Our room was right near the pool, but always quiet. The pool area is quite nice and very clean. The breakfast area overlooks the pool and garden, and the included breakfast offers a choice of eggs, omelette, french toast and losts of fruit, juice, coffee and tea. There are good restaurants within a few blocks, as well as grocery stores and bakeries making it easy to put together lunch for a day at one of the many beaches. It is a quick and easy bus ride to Manuel Antonio Park and various beaches both in and out of the park itself. Prices near the park are much higher and you miss the experience of a real Costa Rican town. Across from the hotel is a short malecon along the ocean, perfect for watching sunsets and families strolling with their children. Friday and Saturday there is a farmer's market with excellent fruit and vegetables, meat skewers, and some crafts. The hotel will give you towels not only for the pool, but to take to the beach, which I really appreciated. Even though we had our own, it was great not to get them all wet and sandy before traveling.

Room Tip: Avoid any rooms that might face the street. Upstairs rooms along balcony looked like they could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for kind review of the hotel and also for letting other Trip Advisor readers know what is around the hotel. Its also nice of you to send along a few tips for your fellow travelers. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and that you took advantage of what the Sirena has to offer with the pool , the breakfast etc... Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Central Quepos location, nice outdoor pool, good local breakfast included. Very helpful in booking tours. Right downtown so it could be a bit noisy traffic wise, but once asleep it wasn't a problem. Second stay and we'd come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelgreeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I want to thank you for your review and I am glad to see you found our hotel fit your needs. It also very nice to hear that our staff was helpful as customer service is our No 1 priority. We realize you have many choices so I am glad we fulfilled your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We recently visited Quepos, and stayed at Hotel Sirena! It was a great choice. The hotel is very clean, pretty, and the staff is very nice and helpful. The swimming pool is great, in the day or at night. If you're looking for a 5star hotel with 5 star prices, you wont find it here. But, it was a very good place and was very inexpensive. Not to mention, it is in the heart of the Quepos center. Youre very close to everything. On Fridays, youre only a few blocks from the Farmers Market. A few blocks from all the restaurants and shopping. And, only a 10-12min taxi to Manuel Antonio. Air Conditioning was perfect. Free breakfast was great. Wifi was fast! Only one issue we had, we didnt know we could not take the towels to the beach. Our friend lost our towels. And we had to pay $20 usd Per towel! Thats A LOT of money for a towel. Also, they didnt tell us anything about towels, or explain any rules to us until after the fact. But, thats okay, everything else was a great experience.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank itsjmackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at La Sirena Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. However, we do apologize over the issue with the towels and we thank you for your understanding about the price. We try to use the highest quality towels and that can be expensive in Costa Rica.

Due to your comments we are going to take the appropriate steps to make sure our future guests are aware this issue and thank you for pointing it out. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,534 reviews
3.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sirena Hotel

Property: La Sirena Hotel
Address: West of the entrance to town 100m, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is budget in price NOT in quality and is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, tiki bar, digital safe, tour office and laundry services ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your La Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
La Sirena Hotel Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing