We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel is nice, rooms are clean and comfortable. A/C and television with English language stations beamed in from Florida are nice to have when you've come back from your outdoor adventures. Breakfast is plentiful and good. Coffee, as anywhere in Costa Rica, was amazing. The pool is a nice oasis of calm in the middle of busy, rough and ready Quepos.

Our bathroom was a bit of an issue: I never could get a hot shower in the morning. The water started out hot, then went lukewarm and stayed lukewarm. The shower floor seemed pitched away from the drain, so we managed to flood our bathroom every morning.

The staff was quite lovely, incredibly helpful and friendly, and gave us many good ideas for activities and eating. There are a couple of computers available for checking e-mail, though there is wifi in the rooms.

It is a budget hotel, so there was no one to help us with our luggage, and there isn't a parking lot, but there is a security guard on watch overnight, with security cameras, and he'll guide you to park in such a way that he can see your car from the cameras.

Some nice restaurants in walking distance, a bank is nearby, and so are some bars. The hotel is a better value, I learned, than staying closer to Manuel Antonio. Good for solo travelers and couples; families may want to stay closer to Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. Its good to hear that you found our staff to helpful and courteous and we hope you visit us on your next trip to Costa Rica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 302 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Very clean rooms, love the bathroom glass tiles around the shower, nice sink. A/C, t.v. with HBO, good breakfast - eggs cooked how you want them. Lots of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, good coffee, and just a great place. I would recommend this hotel. Close to shops, restaurants and a short cab ride to Manuel Antonio. There is a small pool also.

Room Tip: We booked our room in the back of the hotel since it is close to a main road, it was much quieter in...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zarpe77, Manager at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank you for you nice comments about the hotel. We glad enjoyed our free breakfast and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a great little budget hotel in the center of Quepos. You are about a 2 min walk to the bus station, which will take you right to Manuel Antonio. The room we had was small and simple, but clean with hot water and AC. It also had cable with HBO, if you wanted to unwind a little a night. Our room was a little dark, but comfortable. The breakfast was great, especially for the value, and the pool was perfect for cooling down. The staff was amazing and went above and beyond in helping us move on from Quepos. They also told us to call them if we had anymore problems, even after we had checked out. They have a huge binder of activities to do in the area and were very helpful booking anything that can be done in the area. They also give great tips on inexpensive and good places it eat and places to swim. Probably the best budget hotel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackveggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For a "budget hotel," Sirena is a pleasant surprise. It is in the middle of Quepos. Walking distance to the new marina, shops, and eateries. A cab or bus ride to Manuel Antonio. The rooms were far better than I expected. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was readily availiable to help with questions. Pool area was nice. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Understand it is a Budget Hotel - rooms immaculately clean albeit small. Some quirks. Very responsive staff particularly Carolina and Lucia. Their advice on tours was excellent and they took care of all those details. In the heart of Quepos a fishing village - couple of gems Cafe Milagro - great coffee; The Grand Escape bar/restaurant - decent food and good ambience. So if you are ready to immerse yourself in the Costa Rica coastal village culture this is the place for you. We had a great time but it is not luxury. Met people from around the world and made great new friendships. It is an adventure with a great deal of warmth. We paid $85 a night with a full breakfast - good value.
l

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz_H_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the centre which is great for all the restaurants etc in the centre
of town. The hotel doesn't look great from the outside but inside has a Mediterranean feel with white walls, blue doors and coloured tiles and pottery. The rooms were a little basic but had everything you needed if you're just sleeping and changing in your room - two double beds, shower with hot water and great pressure, a safe (which actually worked - unlike a number of places I've stayed), a fridge and strong AC. Breakfast was fresh fruit and coffee and eggs cooked to order - great start to the day. There is also a small pool which is refreshing and gives the place a completely different feel to the streets outside.

Quepos didn't feel unsafe as some have commented but take the usual precautions you would in an unfamiliar town after dark. Great variety of food in the area which you don't find in Manuel Antonio or on the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Staying here is really a great alternative, price is much cheaper, better amenities in Quepos and Manuel Antonio is only a 20minute (and about 35p) bus ride away!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lkc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice place. Extraordinarily clean, if a little sparse. We stayed for 3 nights before moving on as planned. They had a bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us upon arriving per my request.

As far as cleanliness goes, I'll say this: my wife and I stink, simple as that. Not boasting, it just is what it is. And we'd leave every day from a room we knew stank, and come back to a clean, sweet-smelling, cool room every night. AC was phenomenal, minifridge great. Bathroom is very nice and the hot water flows well (though I had trouble one day around noon, I think when rooms were being cleaned or perhaps laundry going). Great breakfast (eggs made to order or something else...forgot what it was, didn't try it) with endless fruit, juice and coffee. Great pool that was a nice little refuge from the surrounding city. Jorge speaks phenomenal english and was very helpful. Carolina is also very helpful with equal english skills, though we saw her less. Not sure if Quepos is unsafe or not, though I never felt unsafe--i'd treat it like you would any new city, with a watchful and appreciative eye. But there was ALWAYS someone at the desk (5:00am, midnight, etc.) and if they step away for a moment, they lock the door, and are back within a minute to open it. Not sure if it might have been a better value somewhere else, but I felt like it was well worth it for the access to quaint downtown Quepos and a 15 minute gorgeous drive to Manuel Antonio. They also set up a zipline tour for us (I know...zipline...) with a great outfit that was extremely fun and well-coordinated, though I would have never expected to actually zipline in CR.

In all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Packy842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
2.1 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
3.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos

Address: | 25 Metros Oeste desde el Banco Nacional, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range: $67 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, digital safe and tour office ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing