We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Sirena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Sirena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Round Top, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

For a "budget hotel," Sirena is a pleasant surprise. It is in the middle of Quepos. Walking distance to the new marina, shops, and eateries. A cab or bus ride to Manuel Antonio. The rooms were far better than I expected. Very clean and comfortable. The staff was readily availiable to help with questions. Pool area was nice. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    95
    37
    23
    11
See reviews for
36
128
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Understand it is a Budget Hotel - rooms immaculately clean albeit small. Some quirks. Very responsive staff particularly Carolina and Lucia. Their advice on tours was excellent and they took care of all those details. In the heart of Quepos a fishing village - couple of gems Cafe Milagro - great coffee; The Grand Escape bar/restaurant - decent food and good ambience. So if you are ready to immerse yourself in the Costa Rica coastal village culture this is the place for you. We had a great time but it is not luxury. Met people from around the world and made great new friendships. It is an adventure with a great deal of warmth. We paid $85 a night with a full breakfast - good value.
l

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz_H_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in the centre which is great for all the restaurants etc in the centre
of town. The hotel doesn't look great from the outside but inside has a Mediterranean feel with white walls, blue doors and coloured tiles and pottery. The rooms were a little basic but had everything you needed if you're just sleeping and changing in your room - two double beds, shower with hot water and great pressure, a safe (which actually worked - unlike a number of places I've stayed), a fridge and strong AC. Breakfast was fresh fruit and coffee and eggs cooked to order - great start to the day. There is also a small pool which is refreshing and gives the place a completely different feel to the streets outside.

Quepos didn't feel unsafe as some have commented but take the usual precautions you would in an unfamiliar town after dark. Great variety of food in the area which you don't find in Manuel Antonio or on the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. Staying here is really a great alternative, price is much cheaper, better amenities in Quepos and Manuel Antonio is only a 20minute (and about 35p) bus ride away!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lkc84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very nice place. Extraordinarily clean, if a little sparse. We stayed for 3 nights before moving on as planned. They had a bottle of chilled champagne waiting for us upon arriving per my request.

As far as cleanliness goes, I'll say this: my wife and I stink, simple as that. Not boasting, it just is what it is. And we'd leave every day from a room we knew stank, and come back to a clean, sweet-smelling, cool room every night. AC was phenomenal, minifridge great. Bathroom is very nice and the hot water flows well (though I had trouble one day around noon, I think when rooms were being cleaned or perhaps laundry going). Great breakfast (eggs made to order or something else...forgot what it was, didn't try it) with endless fruit, juice and coffee. Great pool that was a nice little refuge from the surrounding city. Jorge speaks phenomenal english and was very helpful. Carolina is also very helpful with equal english skills, though we saw her less. Not sure if Quepos is unsafe or not, though I never felt unsafe--i'd treat it like you would any new city, with a watchful and appreciative eye. But there was ALWAYS someone at the desk (5:00am, midnight, etc.) and if they step away for a moment, they lock the door, and are back within a minute to open it. Not sure if it might have been a better value somewhere else, but I felt like it was well worth it for the access to quaint downtown Quepos and a 15 minute gorgeous drive to Manuel Antonio. They also set up a zipline tour for us (I know...zipline...) with a great outfit that was extremely fun and well-coordinated, though I would have never expected to actually zipline in CR.

In all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Packy842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel located conveniently in Quepos if you want to be close to the central bus station.
Rooms are very basic and not very clean. Breakfast mediocre. All this would do if the rate wouldn't be about $100 a night which is outrageous for a dump like this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcberlin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. Breakfast area was small, not many choices for vegetarians. The price was average, but you will get a better experience if you stay closer to Manuel Antonio Park. Quepos seemed unsafe at night. There was a lot of street noise and yelling. Mattress was also very hard. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel due to its location, but if you are after price, it may be worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bpieraccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was a nice quaint place, enjoyed it. The breakfast was very good it was cooked to order and the ladies were very polite. The rooms were nice, they were doing a lot of renovating so it should get better. We stayed there with friends we all enjoyed the pool and playing cards. The security guard was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor by the pool very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
2.1 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#3 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#7 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,222 reviews
3.3 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
2.0 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sirena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sirena Hotel

Property: La Sirena Hotel
Address: 100m West of the entrance to town, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Sirena Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is budget in price NOT in quality and is located in Costa Rica on the Central Pacific Coast, just a 25 minute flight or 2 hour drive from San Jose. We proudly offer 14 lovely rooms with air conditioning, cable television, mini fridge, telephone, swimming pool, tiki bar, digital safe, tour office and laundry services ALL conveniently located in the center of Quepos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your La Sirena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Sirena
La Sirena Hotel Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing