We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Cascadas The Falls(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel California(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mimos(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Mymosa(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Hotel Mare Nostrvm(Manuel Antonio)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
125
112
45
24
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
112
45
24
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla sirenabudget hotelthe busthe breakfast areamanuel antoniocosta ricalovely little hotelfresh fruitplenty of hot watereggs and toastsmall hotelstayed here for nightswi fipizza placepool area isnice poolnew marina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 319 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2007

The pool was not as pictured in photos. Management had let it turn Aqua color. We just wanted a room so we stayed, which was a MISTAKE.

The room was clean, but when we (three rooms) placed our valuables in the room safe and returned from fishing for the day, some of the money was removed. Apparently management was hoping we wouldn't notice some cash missing. The manager then lied to us when we reported the robbery, stating at first that no one had access to your self entered combination safe. However, after being confronted about bypass keys, she admitted there were bypass keys but then said she needed the combination along with a key to open it. After being confronted again that you don't need the combination to open the safe with the bypass key, she then admitted it but then said she was the only one with access to the keys and that she didn't take the money! Our group lost a total of $1,500 to the scam.

A report was filed with the Organization of Judicial Investigation in Quepos.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank i_like_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Place was clean, quiet, safe and well worth the money. Right in the middle of down town Quepos.

1  Thank NewjerseyRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We booked 4 rooms for clients, sent the right information about the date but didn't review what the reservation sheet they sent(they changed the date), when the moment came they told us we have to pay twice, but it gets even worse... they already rented 3 of our rooms for that night, they new what they did, and they were trying to get even more money out of that.
They told us breakfast was include but... surprise... it wasn't, even when we talked to them the day before, and they said yes!
The last thing... they said they charge wrongly for the kids room, and when the group was already there, they asked us to pay $50 more or they couldn't stay.
The worse experience ever!!!
Please be careful with these people's lies!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bbcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exilerob, Manager at Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2007

This letter arose because the actual clients made them pay for their mistake during the busiest time of the year. This confims the old adage "no good deed goes unpunished." They are agents that are not very professional and sent us the wrong dates for their clients. They admit this in their letter. They called the day of the reservation when when the realized that the date was incorrect. We had the hotel booked for Christmas Week, like all of Manuel Antonio, with all the other rooms booked except for the rooms these people had booked for one night. We turned away many people that we willing to pay our Christmas week rate because we had the one night for these people bookedin the middle of the week. We took the booking after the pleaded to our manager to please "help them this once." Obviously taking 4 rooms for just one night when we have a 5 night minimum (like all the hotels here) was not in our best interests but we did it. When the agency cancelled their one night the same day of arrival and rebooked for the next night we charged them less than the normal rate of $89 (minus 10% ) but more than the agent rate of $50 that they had booked. Finally its a shame that this forum is being abused by an agency looking to "get even" with a competitor. Notice that its not the clients complaining. We explained everything to them and they understood. I am imagine that they made the people that wrote this deceitful letter give them a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2006

My fiance and I recently returned from a trip to Costa Rica. We were there to fish, surf and do the general eco-tourist thing, which is why we chose Quepos as our hub, as it has all three within a short distance.

On the recommendation of a friend, we stayed at the La Sirena Hotel. As we had planned to be gone fishing, surfing and hiking all day long, security was a major concern of ours. We were pleased to see how safe and secure the La Sirena was. It's a very clean and comfortable hotel with a quaint atmosphere and a nice tropical feel about it. It even has a swimming pool in the tropical center courtyard (The only hotel I noticed there with a pool) . The staff was very friendly and helpful, and spent a lot of time to assure that our stay was pleasant. They even serve breakfast!

The La Sirena is just minutes from everything. Surfing, fishing , nightlife, and Manuel Antonio which consists of some of the most beautiful beaches and hiking trails I've ever seen anywhere in the world. We walked most everywhere except Manuel Antonio which is just a few minutes by bus or car.

We will definitely return to Costa Rica and we will stay at the La Sirena and I highly recommend it for anybody looking for a nice affordable hotel in one of Costa Rica's nicest areas.

2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC
18
Reviewed June 10, 2004

Watching the sun set every nite over the ocean, from a hammok on the terrace alone is worth the price. And the price- this is now a hostel, part of Hosteling International, with private cabins also available- the best value in Manuel Antonio. You will be an extended member of the family here. For budget travel, in a very pricey part of Costa Rica, this place can't be beat. Not a place for loners- you will get to know everyone there. A restaurant nearby was just opening by the owners when I left . .
So, my rating of above average(for the price).

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews