We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing wildlife” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Amanecer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Finca Amanecer
Ranked #17 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

A lovely little, privately run, eco farm situated in Londres, amidst the heart of the rainforest. I stayed for one night just for the experience of being amongst the wildlife. You must take bug spray!! Elena is a brilliant and attentive hostess - her dogs are adorable and friendly. This is the place to go if you want an authentic tico experience, even if it is only for a night. If you are someone who needs the comfort of a hotel room with air conditioning etc then this is not the place for you. But for those who dare, a stay at Finca Amanecer will reward you with a taste of authentic Costa Rican culture.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank urbanexplorer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
askelena, Owner at Finca Amanecer, responded to this review, October 21, 2015
Bless your heart,

Thank you so much for you sweet review. Some folks are gonna think I paid you to post. LOL

My heart is really happy when guests like you arrive and appreciate the unique Tico town and the serenity offered. I only wish more people would read the profiles so they'd realize I am "off the beaten path" and "not a professional hostel". Just another sole proprietor, doing her best.

PLUS, i have totally renovated 5 rooms! As the Ticos (locals) say poco a poco (little by little).

I hope your travels brings you back to my little piece of Paradise.

Paz y luz,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    1
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
11
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay! Elena, the owner, has her imperfections, but is quite enjoyable with the right crowd and restrictions. She looks forward to guests, as I am sure she doesn't speak a lot of Spanish. Due to the location, I would recommend coming with a group of alternative friends and travelers... a little Spanish will get you brownie points with the local Ticos in Londres. Couples will enjoy their very open minded stay as well. This is a place for naturalist, eco/greensters, organic food fanatics, homeopaths, yogis, nature lovers (lots of land to explore) etc. It is not a place for the typical party backpacker, nor the place for the more conservative. The rooms are clean and the fan strong, but the bathrooms are either shared with the room next to you or communal... we got lucky by sharing a bathroom with a future good friend who was clean!! Breakfast is delicious and healthy (and varies daily depending on availability and guests). Pot lucks are common here as well...EVERYTHING IS ABOUT SHARING. Expect to meet eccentric travelers here, as it is not that close to Quepos/ M.A. and can be done alone as a separate tranquil, vacation...visit the rivers/other fincas/& selva. There are a few restaurants up the street that serve up decently priced meals. It is cheaper here than in Quepos and the food is better. Enjoy the sounds of nature at night. Not recommended for those wanting to take day trips to manuel antonio unless you have a car (less than 30 minutes)!! DO NOT GO ALONE!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freed0m0fexpl0rati0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We were lucky to include this tropical gem in our journey. A family of 3 (with a teenager) spent 3 days at Finca Amanecer in February. From the first sec we loved this place very much. Elena (the owner) is a very open-minded and creative person to speak to. Her experience of living in Costa Rica can reveal very interesting aspects of local life. She gave us a tour around the property and we were amazed by a lush of tropical plants and fruits that are usually displayed for us only in plastic bags in supermarkets. Cinnamon tea from bark that she made was just one of many exciting discoveries followed of our arrival to that magic place. My husband and me stayed in Hummingbird room and our son slept in the mixed dorm since it was empty anyway (for the same price). The nights were full of stars, fragrant air and crickets’ songs. The patio was decorated by candle lights to frame this tranquil setting. Flowing river nearby made us asleep. Manuel Antonio Park is not far from there especially if you have a car. Even if you have GPS it is better to follow Elena’s instructions from her website how to get to the Finca from Quepos. In my opinion this place is perfect for those who want to experience Costa Rican taste of nature.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ODAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2010

This place is a beautiful picture of the Costa Rican countryside. Londres is a tiny unspoiled town where Pasture land meets Jungle. The people here ore real Ticos with the usual Cost Rican fastidiousness of good manners an cleanliness.
At Finca Amanacer you can rise with the sun in a crescendo of birdsong and ramble in the garden to pick Oranges at their perfect ripeness for your breakfast juice. The garden is a Naturalists dream. The Jungle verge displays a wealth of life of all kinds. The plantings and management of the land has resulted in a self sustaining ecology that maintains plenty of delicious fruit. This is an excellent base for River Kayaking in Season. For anyone who likes horseback-riding, this is an undiscovered treasure.
I would not hesitate to retire to this tropical paradise.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Finca Amanecer is the perfect escape from the hustle of Costa Rica’s beach communities. Only ten miles east of Quepos, this quiet eco-resort offers comfortable accommodations for individuals and groups on seven acres of lush tropical forest. This is the place to experience exotic bamboo groves, flowering ginger and at least 30 different species of colorful birds. The town of Londres is a short walk from the farm. A free night is offered for guests booking river rafting on the Naranjo, horseback riding or zipline canopy tours in the area. This is the real Costa Rica!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passagemakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerseygirlgoes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2008

Finca Amanecer is a great place to escape - for those not faint of heart. Off the beaten path in Londres, a small Tico town, the Finca will give you a good sense of local life in Costa Rica (and a great place to practice your spanish). A perfect location for rest, relaxation, hiking or to try your hand at organic gardening. This is NOT a luxury hotel, but Elena knows the ins and outs of Costa Rica and can definitely point you in the right direction for adventure!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank jerseygirlgoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2008

Really a great eco lodge to stay!
Nice atmosphere and safe for woman travelling alone!
It's near Quepos and you can go by bus to the beach and the park and come back here in the little town where you, as a girl alone, can walk after sunset!!!

  • Liked — It is safe and very tranquil, you can walk the little village and meet local
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dutchDamsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Quepos hotels
6.7 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
6.5 mi away
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Central Backpackers Quepos
10.3 mi away
Kayak Lodge
Kayak Lodge
#1 of 14 in Quepos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hostel Q' Tuanis
Hostel Q' Tuanis
#8 of 25 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Amanecer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Amanecer

Property: Finca Amanecer
Address: 150 after the London Bridge | Apdo 76-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Finca Amanecer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Amanecer Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing