We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful nature experience.”
other travelers have booked this property
Chalet north from jungle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet north from jungle
outside building balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Chalet north from jungle
outside building
balcony
like a tree-house
like a tree-house
chalet-east
garden
garden
bedroom
bedroom
livingroom
bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
PuyaShari...
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful nature experience.”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was my third time in Pierre's Chalet, and as always - a delight. The surroundings are green, lush and beautiful. The Chalet, fully equipped and very comfortable. Pierre was as always great to be around - friendly, helpful and attentive.

I come here when I need some tranquility and a relaxed environment for doing some undisturbed work (of course with the option of going to the beach or socialize with people in Manuel Antonio).

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki R
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pierre's artisan jungle treehouse”
Reviewed March 10, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

first, do read the other reviews--every positive TA review is accurate (for us there were no negatives). add to that, host pierre, who is creatively accommodating (w.o ever being fussy) and absolutely committed to the finest experience of his guests. in elegantly simple quarters, we were provided absolute privacy and security, five minutes from both the airport and quepos (manuel antonio reserve is another ten minutes beyond quepos).

i write from the veranda on our last morning, soothed by the calls of a half dozen birds, several geckos, spotting the occasional butterfly, recalling the pre-dawn rumbling of howler monkeys in the close-surrounding jungle. with our friends, we enjoyed meals featuring super fresh ingredients from the outdoor market in quepos, prepared in the kitchen (well-equipped with cook tools and storage containers, xlnt appliances, great view of the mountains beyond), served on the generous wraparound tiled porch, cooled by commercial grade ceiling fans in and out, plus a sitting area and heavenly hammock, and great lighting. pierre's wonderful use of color in furnishings and local art added immensely to the sense of peace and contentment.

favorite things? upon landing at teeny quepos airport from san jose, there was pierre, to welcome and introduce us to his meticulous compound (in a private gated community, once a palm oil plantation) and the surrounding area (with needed ATM and cafe stops, driving all around at sunset so we had our bearings). pierre's absolute availability (with a phone call, we were booked on three fine adventures with world class guides through the national park, mangroves and kayaking/snorkling the coast). pierre and his visiting adult son, giovanni, offered rides to town daily which made provisioning easy (cheap local buses--$1USD for two people--and taxis--$8USD to MA) stop just outside the gates.

more favorites? the place is immaculate. giovanni's spanish lessons over coffee a few mornings. pierre's three boxers (beau, ben and sophie) and tiger cat (leo), who visited politely once our gate was open. the impromptu side trip w P and G to a local swimming hole. xlnt wifi (only once was it weak--i was in contact daily with my office--and pierre had the fix). the local cell phone that pierre provided, loaded with minutes, to facilitate communication. the phenomenon of having an idea of something nice to do and pierre offering to make it happen before the request had been spoken (thinking about a ever-unfolding sunset from the quepos seawall). the serenity of location, away from traffic and crowded tourist streets. being able to laze for hours wearing just a pareo (we visited in the warm 'dry' season). above all, pierre's respect and sensitivity regarding the individual needs of his guests (if you want complete privacy, it is yours!), which is nice for those who return regularly for many months at a time. and yes, this is a SUPERB value.

coming from working in international travel, and having experienced a nice chunk of this wonderful world, i rate pierre's treehouse beyond 5-star for our tastes, with enormous gratitude. pura vida indeed!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
we Geovani and me are glad to have meet you both : thank you!
each time we r seeing somdthing Geovany ssys ; this will please Victoria!
!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamabarbi...
Mobile, Alabama
2 reviews
“Charm Galore!”
Reviewed March 8, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Situated in the jungle and on a mountain! Can't get much more Costa Rican than that! We enjoyed every minute of our stay and found it a little difficult to pull ourselves away from just lazily lounging on the wide verandas and absorbing the sounds and sights in front of us. My granddaughter stayed in the hammock every moment spent in the chalet. The owner was so helpful in advising us and took an interest in making sure we were taken care of. We are so appreciative of his help! That added a dimension to the trip that we were not expecting!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
takemeawa...
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A unique stay in a private setting”
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Staying at Pierre's for 3 nights was a unique experience. This place provided us a comfortable and private retreat after enjoying the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area each day. Pierre was wonderful at welcoming us and making sure we got settled in. He gave us excellent suggestions for finding the best beach hang outs, getting around the area, shopping and places to visit.

This chalet is located on Pierre's secured property. The gardens and views from the balcony were awesome. It was a pleasure to just sit on the balcony in the morning and drink coffee and watch for all the birds waking up. In the evening, there was no better way to relax than to unwind in the hammock.

Thank you Pierre for adding a special element to our vacation in Costa Rica. We look forward to coming back and staying in your amazing Grand Chalet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 6, 2017
grace a vous je connais le meilleur CEVICHE...
.
GRACIAS!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveledb...
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“uncompareable”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was my second stay with Pierre and he never fails to surpass expectation. Beautiful property in a lush jungle setting. Close to everything,yet far enough to insure tranquility.
You will e very happy here unless you a a jaded, nothing is good enough kind person. You might encounter an ant...but after all you are in the tropics.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanie212
Leesburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jungle colors, outdoor delight”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband and I spent the month of June at the gran chalet in Quepos. We were amazed and astounded by the beauty of Pierre's property, grounds and home. The property is exactly as advertised and shown in the pictures. I was nervous about going during "green" season, but although it did rain half the days, the rain didn't really last all day or interfere with our plans. We spent beach days in Manuel Antonio, shopping days in Quepos, and lazy days at the chalet. Although the property does not have a pool, I discovered that there are a few restaurants in the area that have pools that you can use if you eat or drink there. We saw monkeys, iguanas, toads, and insects I never heard of. I was even treated to viewing a very small, non-poisonous snake! Pierre is a gracious host who is conscientious about making sure his guests are comfortable and settled.

Getting around was pretty easy, with or without a car. when we did not have a car we usually took a taxi to Quepos and transferred to the bus. The round trip with this arrangement was usually between four and eight dollars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The outdoor living areas.
Liked least: The property was very hilly.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunderche...
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simple accommodations, good value”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Gran Chalet North for nearly a month. Pierre's knowledge of the area is an invaluable resource; he directed us to places (beaches, restaurants, farmers' markets) that are only known to locals, and as a result, our stay was greatly enriched.

Be prepared to bring your own provisions--not only food, but also dishwashing liquid, shampoo, soap, and laundry detergent. Plenty of places in nearby Quepos will have what you need.

The Gran Chalet has one bed (in the US, it would be called "full" or "double") and two daybeds with wood frames on three sides. Each daybed would probably accommodate a child, or an adult if the mattresses were placed on the floor. The accommodations would be ideal for two young backpackers who are planning to stay a few days to a week. The Chalet is not within easy walking distance of the town of Quepos--a bus runs on the main road that is accessible from the Chalet via a steep approximately 100-meter walk--so if you are planning to stay longer than a few days, you will probably want a car, and will need to make arrangements to have your laundry done.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing