We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY OVERATED RESTAURANT”

Restaurante Buru by the park
Ranked #8 of 85 Restaurants in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican, Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open air restaurant , located near by parking lots and just 50 meters from Manuel Antonio national park main entrance.
Harlingen, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“HIGHLY OVERATED RESTAURANT”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate at Buru Friday September 20th strictly based on reviews on Trip Advisor. The big probem with reviewing restaurants is that on any given day the personnel are not the same. We unfortunately must have chosen a night when the real cooks and servers stayed home and the janitor and his assitant took over. The service was poor and poor is a stretch. We were left sitting for 15 minutes before we were served drinks, we had to get up and look for our server to get more drinks. The food was bland and undercooked. I forgot to mention there was just the four of us and one other couple in the restaurant. The most disappointing meal during our week in Costa Rica.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigjac1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    35
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a nice surprise!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at Mimos Hotel, wich was very good, but what really surprice me was ist restaurant Buru at the poolside serving local dishes,which has been prepared with such great care,the flavors and perfumes are jumping of the plate and into yours nostrils.the simplicity with wich the preparation takes place is all the more a must for trying it out .Many locals go to this restaurant ,and when a local dines in one of their own restaurants geared towards tourists,it must be good and it is.it is the biggest compliment a restaurant can get .... 120% recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nortonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A great experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

While staying at Mimo's Hotel for the week, I have to say that my favorite part was the wonderful Buru's Restaurant. The food here was amazing. We ate here many times for breakfast, lunch and dinner and every dish was fantastic! Our desire for quality, traditional food was definitely fulfilled. Not only was the food good but the service was fantastic! Every need we had was catered to and everyone there was very warm and welcoming. They treated us like family and we can't wait to go back and visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicole t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Clean Food”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We came here for a bite to eat on our second night at Manuel Antonio. We had a salad with grilled tuna and a chicken burrito. Both were quite good. The service was terrific, as were the coconut margaritas. The server was super friendly and patient, especially considering our limited use of the Spanish language.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KamilandPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good eatery”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

On our second (and regrettably final) night in Manuel Antonio we headed for this restaurant following a warm recommendation from a Tico friend of ours.

That really was good: excellent aguacate-based appetiser, a really good salad dish and excellent coconut and orange cod dish. All from a wood-decked terrace overlooking the forest. Would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sconti555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Buru by the park also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Restaurante Buru by the park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing