We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal ”
Review of Hotel Mono Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mono Azul
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Good price for area
Nice common area and pools
Friendly staff
Busstop just outside

Cons:
Breakfast not included
Not really walking distance to restaurants
Very loud AC (atleast in our room)
Rooms a bit worn

You can find many nicer hotels in MA but for its pricetag this is a good option specially during high season. Its not really walking distance to restaurants mainly because the road feels unsafe due to traffic but the busstop is just outside and busses goes from quepos to MA regularly.

Breakfast is not included so if you want to eat outside every morning add 5000-10000 colones per person per day to the pricetag, good to think about when comparing hotel prices. Buying your own breakfast will of course be cheaper but keep in mind that the room we stayed in had no fridge.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 393 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed with two friends for two nights. The location is a bit remote with not too much within walking distance but the bus runs every 10 minutes or so to MA and to Quepos.
Our room was on the ocean side behind the restaurant so it was super quiet at night. There are two pools and both are located in charming jungle settings.
Our room was very comfortable with super strong A/C, comfortable beds, and good linen. We didn't eat at the restaurant but they gave us complimentary coffees in the morning.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diverdan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I was in Manuel Antonio for 4 days and I loved staying at the Mono Azul! The staff was so friendly and the food was delicious. The room was clean and very comfortable. I loved the Kids Saving the Rainforest store. I even bought paintings off the wall! Also, the staff can help you set up any tours you would like to do. They are very knowledgable about the area. The pool was pretty and comfortable. Everything about it was great. I also loved the scenery. It had a great garden and plans going on. Great value. Good price. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here a few months ago. I had a standard room near the pool. The place was clean and the service was friendly. I had no issues at all. The bus picks you up right outside the hotel. About 90% of the hotels in this area are away from the beach and you have to take a bus, no matter where you stay since the beaches are mostly in the national park (unless you stay in the actual little town of Manuel Antonio, which has only a few small hotels). The area around the mono azul is pristine jungle, which was perfect for getting in some monkey sightings. I've been visiting the Manuel Antonio area for the last 15 years and have stayed in a number of hotels in the area (and spent six months here in the past) and the Mono Azul has a great reputation. You can't find a better place for the money. I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the road. I had a very quiet stay and could only hear the sounds of the jung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Quepos was a last minute diversion for us, so we had a hard time finding a room in one of the places recommended by friends and locals. After a few phone calls we ended up booking a room for three at Mono Azul. It seems as though some care went into making this a friendly and cozy place when it was first built, but things have deteriorated and the place is in need of some clean-up.

The room we stayed in was very musty smelling, with damp sheets, and a very clunky AC unit. There was also a strong odor of insect repellent, which wasn't pleasant. It did not feel like a cozy room, but a place one would be willing to stay for a night to stay out of the street.

Mono Azul isn't walking distance from Manuel Antonio, but it's a short ride. The price was reasonable at around $70 for three people.

Unfortunately, Mono Azul was my least favorite lodging during my trip to Costa Rica.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank clementineSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We came from Canada and stayed at the Hotel Mono Azul for 8 days, we had a wonderful time. Chip and his wife the owners were very nice and quite funny. Carmen and the rest of the staff were very helpful and made the place feel special. They helped us book a variety of activities to do on our vacation. The price was excellent, and our room was clean with a fridge and stove, extra towels, and close to a bus stop. It was only 10 minutes away from Manuel Antonio, and 5 minutes from Quepos. We stayed in a Villas room A and B and the monkeys did come to the hotel! We ended up seeing more monkeys at the hotel than Manuel Antonio National Park. The gardens are beautiful; it was like living in the rainforest for a week. I highly recommend this hotel. If we come back to Costa Rica we will certainly stay at the Hotel Mono Azul again. Thank you for everything, everyone was so welcoming!

Room Tip: I would choose the Villas again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 4Innes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Especially with kids, this is an excellent choice. For this area the price is great and the owner graciously gave us an upgrade, at no coat. The bus stop is right there, $1.20 to Manuel Antonio in 10 minutes. Staff is super helpful. Miserable LACSA/Sansa delayed our outgoing floght, blowing our SJO connection home, but Maria ably got a very reliable driver, Deiber, who got us to the airport in plenty of time. The restaurant serves surprisingly good food, very kid friendly... Spaghetti bolognese and alfredo, good burgers, sandwiches, juices and breakfasts. Its not fancy but is is clean, with nice pools and howler monkeys overhead most mornings... Safe and relaxing... And theres BEER for tired parents...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabiolaPal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#6 of 14 in Quepos
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
751 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,587 reviews
2.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mono Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mono Azul

Address: Manuel Antonio Road | On The Road To Manuel Antonio National Park, Quepos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range: $52 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mono Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mono Azul is a comfortable, environmentally-friendly oasis in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We are also closely related to Kids Saving The Rainforest (KSTR). Our hotel has 2 swimming pools, a full service restaurant with breakfast and dinner and bar, free WiFi, and tour booking. We offer a wide range of lodging options. Hotel Mono Azul is under new management as of December 1st, 2014 and continues to be owned and managed by Americans and has been a pillar in the Manuel Antonio Community for over twenty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Mono Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mono Azul Hotel
Mono Azul Quepos
Hotel Mono Azul Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing