We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 10 - 12”
Review of Hotel Mono Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mono Azul
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and can't say enough about the staff and facility, clean good food at the restaurant. The staff we pleasant and very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. They arranged for a guided hike to Manuel Antonio Park with guide Freddy a truly passionate guide.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredBower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 397 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

In November 2012 my wife and I along with another couple spent three nights in Quepos/Manuel Antonio at the Hotel Mono Azul. The staff was friendly and the rooms quaint. The best part of Hotel Mono Azul is the bar and restaurant. The food is excellent and the drinks are inviting, though limited in selection.

Room Tip: The rooms are generally quiet though some of the rooms on the corners of the building have noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCJim397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked a room and when I got there I was suprised. It was in a beautiful garden setting. They were great people that run a nice place. Will go back. Right on bus line to park or Quespos, and cabs are cheap. I will go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Standard Room seemed a little overpriced for what we got, but we had a chance to look at the other rooms on the property and it looked like those would be much more comfortable. Definitely a "money-saving" option, not a luxury hotel by any means, but it was nice to have space to walk around and 3 different pools to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank some_trekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monoazulhotel, Owner at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

We are grateful for your response and take all our reviews to heart. At Hotel Mono Azul, we pride ourselves on having accommodations for every budget and traveler. That being said, our Standard Rooms are the most basic type of lodging that we offer and do not have the space and amenities of our other rooms. As this reviewer said, our Deluxe Rooms and Villas are definitely worth the upgrade - in many cases, these more spacious rooms (all have A/C) are only $10 more than the Standard Room and will make your stay with us that much more enjoyable. Hope to see again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great hotel, good food, and nice grounds. The rooms could use an upgrade, and it would be nice if there was a safety deposit box in the room. If it was closer to the beach we would have stayed longer. Cute cat at this resort! I love how the resort is trying to help preserve wildlife.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I travel with a group of students. We love the idea of the place to support conservation of biodiversity. The room was nice, a little close to the road, but wasn't noisy. The staff was very helpful and give us good recommendations about the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carcalumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Mono Azul two times during our trip to Costa Rica, a total of 4 nights.

We had a three bed room with a private bath. The rooms were clean and hardly had any bugs ;) In Costa Rica you usually meet some bugs during your travel.

The pools were nice for my daughters to cool down in. The restaurant serves good food, good smoothies and has good coffee :) There is a small giftshop with nice souveniers (all the income from the gift shop goes to "Kids saving the rainforest"). It is easy to get to Quepos (2000 colones for a taxi) and easy to get to Manuel Antonio and the beautiful, but busy and hot beach (bus every 30 min).

The people who work there are friendly and very helpful!

Room Tip: We preferred a standard room upstairs - more air :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linehafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
2 mi away
La Foresta Nature Resort
La Foresta Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Quepos
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#10 of 14 in Quepos
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
447 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mono Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mono Azul

Address: Manuel Antonio Road | On The Road To Manuel Antonio National Park, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range: $53 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mono Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mono Azul is a comfortable, environmentally-friendly oasis in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We are also closely related to Kids Saving The Rainforest (KSTR). Our hotel has 2 swimming pools, a full service restaurant with breakfast and dinner and bar, free WiFi, and tour booking. We offer a wide range of lodging options. Hotel Mono Azul is under new management as of December 1st, 2014 and continues to be owned and managed by Americans and has been a pillar in the Manuel Antonio Community for over twenty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mono Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mono Azul Hotel
Mono Azul Quepos
Hotel Mono Azul Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing