We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient, Friendly, and Helpful”
Review of Hotel Mono Azul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mono Azul
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convient, Friendly, and Helpful”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked a room and when I got there I was suprised. It was in a beautiful garden setting. They were great people that run a nice place. Will go back. Right on bus line to park or Quespos, and cabs are cheap. I will go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trollman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    113
    60
    62
    25
See reviews for
108
115
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Standard Room seemed a little overpriced for what we got, but we had a chance to look at the other rooms on the property and it looked like those would be much more comfortable. Definitely a "money-saving" option, not a luxury hotel by any means, but it was nice to have space to walk around and 3 different pools to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank some_trekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monoazulhotel, Owner at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We are grateful for your response and take all our reviews to heart. At Hotel Mono Azul, we pride ourselves on having accommodations for every budget and traveler. That being said, our Standard Rooms are the most basic type of lodging that we offer and do not have the space and amenities of our other rooms. As this reviewer said, our Deluxe Rooms and Villas are definitely worth the upgrade - in many cases, these more spacious rooms (all have A/C) are only $10 more than the Standard Room and will make your stay with us that much more enjoyable. Hope to see again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great hotel, good food, and nice grounds. The rooms could use an upgrade, and it would be nice if there was a safety deposit box in the room. If it was closer to the beach we would have stayed longer. Cute cat at this resort! I love how the resort is trying to help preserve wildlife.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I travel with a group of students. We love the idea of the place to support conservation of biodiversity. The room was nice, a little close to the road, but wasn't noisy. The staff was very helpful and give us good recommendations about the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carcalumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at Mono Azul two times during our trip to Costa Rica, a total of 4 nights.

We had a three bed room with a private bath. The rooms were clean and hardly had any bugs ;) In Costa Rica you usually meet some bugs during your travel.

The pools were nice for my daughters to cool down in. The restaurant serves good food, good smoothies and has good coffee :) There is a small giftshop with nice souveniers (all the income from the gift shop goes to "Kids saving the rainforest"). It is easy to get to Quepos (2000 colones for a taxi) and easy to get to Manuel Antonio and the beautiful, but busy and hot beach (bus every 30 min).

The people who work there are friendly and very helpful!

Room Tip: We preferred a standard room upstairs - more air :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linehafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reva, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Monkey after we discovered how far out of town the Blue Banyon Inn was, and the owner of the Blue Banyon called the Blue Monkey and made sure we had a place to stay. At that point, late in the day, we were in no position to do any research, and while we were grateful to have a place to sleep, we agree with those who gave the hotel fairly low ratings.

The building itself was architecturally interesting, with different levels and balconies, and lots of plantings. The rooms were minimally furnished, the sheets were threadbare, and one didn't want to look too closely at the pillows and mattresses. The top of the toilet in one of the rooms was cracked, and the fixtures generally were only moderately clean. As in many Tico bathrooms, there was no hot water in the sinks, but the shower was good and hot. There were window air conditioning units, which did work. The rooms were just plain dark and depressing.

The restaurant was a pleasant space, and we found the service to be fine and the food adequate. We were there to go to the park and didn't use the pools, so can't comment on that. As far as location goes, it's definitely a drive, rather than a walk, to the park.

We were pleased to see that proceeds at the gift shop go to kids saving the rainforest, as was true at the Blue Banyon. That project, among other things, has hung ropes across the road in Manuel Antonio so that the monkeys can cross rather than trying to use the electrical wires and being electrocuted. And the waitstaff at the restaurant made a point of calling our attention to the monkeys when they came by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleopatra714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monoazulhotel, Owner at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. We take all every comments to heart and appreciate your feedback.

Because of the layout of our hotel, we have many different room-types available with different prices, amenities and opportunities for outdoor views. To help our guests enjoy the lush surroundings of our hotel, we recommend reserving a room with an outdoor porch of which we have many.

Another point that we want to make is in regards to the location of our hotel in relation to the National Park. There are only a handful of hotels that are within walking distance to the National Park. We don't recommend walking on the dangerous roads in our area and the few hotels located next to the park are often are more dangerous since they are located next to the public beach which can be a little unruly at night.

In reviewing your comments, we would like to add that we have spoken with the maids responsible for cleaning your room and are in the process of improving our room-by-room cleaning checklist. We have also recently bought new high-thread-count sheets and will be making improvements to the mattresses and bedding.

Thanks again for your comments, we are doing our best to keep making improvements to the facilities and services that are offered at Hotel Mono Azul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quepos hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Mono Azul is a hotel by the road in Manuel Antonio, so the sound of the road makes it noisy a little. Not the ideal place if you want something quiet.

The hotel itself was ok, but nothing exceptional. Clean... but could have been cleaner. The rooms were what we needed, comfortable. The service was good and helpful (we had help for calling and making other reservations and for making our laundry). And the price wasn't too expensive.

So overall... good, but nothing great. Wouldn't recommend it. But's ok for a few nights in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 13 in Quepos
299 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
2.2 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mono Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mono Azul

Property: Hotel Mono Azul
Address: Manuel Antonio Road | On The Road To Manuel Antonio National Park, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mono Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mono Azul is a comfortable, environmentally-friendly oasis in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We are also closely related to Kids Saving The Rainforest (KSTR). Our hotel has 2 swimming pools, a full service restaurant with breakfast and dinner and bar, free WiFi, and tour booking. We offer a wide range of lodging options. Hotel Mono Azul is under new management as of December 1st, 2014 and continues to be owned and managed by Americans and has been a pillar in the Manuel Antonio Community for over twenty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mono Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mono Azul Hotel
Mono Azul Quepos
Hotel Mono Azul Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing