We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Breath of fresh air” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mono Azul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mono Azul
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Compared to other rooms we looked at in the Quepos area from large expensive hotel chains to hostels to some sketchy B&B's edged with razor wire, The Hotel Mono Azul was a breath of fresh air. Tropical colors, lush vegetation, pretty pool, clean rooms and best of all minutes from Manuel Antonio. The non a/c rooms were very reasonably priced. The restaurant was closed in the off season, but the staff directed us to nearby food in walking distance. It's not fancy, but it does the job and does it well. And they had complimentary coffee in the morning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    103
    58
    62
    24
See reviews for
97
107
32
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calle San Juan de Dios 250, Centro Historico, Cusco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

great place, good food, affordable prices friendly atmosphere and nice rooms.
I went with a large group and they were able to accomodate all of us in short notice, so I was happy about that.
It´snot far form the manuel antonio reserve and the have great reccomendations for tours and activities.
Overall very nice!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MundoHemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is not a hotel! It has the potential to be something very nice and lovely but it isn't. It feels very dirty, outdated and tacky. The price was not even that much cheaper than other better places. I guess its all about location, since it does have a good location if you are looking to stay in Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quepos hotels

Keller, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Overflowing toilets, sporadic electrical currents and cats & dogs all around the dining room & bar.... The staff went to the wrong room to mop while we were waiting in the giftshop. It speaks volumes if there is more than one sewage-laden room that has to be cleaned and they don't even know they didn't mop the right one.

Room Tip: In any other hotel in the area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kayla P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Great setting to spend your nights after touring around the Quepos and Manuel Antonio area! The rooms are comfortable, decently sized and clean. The room I stayed had a little balcony which was great to sit on and read while listening to all of the jungle sounds. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and there are multiple pools to swim in, which is a great break from the mid day heat. The wifi is accessible in the rooms and common areas and is quite fast. The staff are friendly, the restaurant has good food and is reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atelid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I often go to Manuel Antonio on business trips. It's the best value I've found and the food is pretty decent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marxalenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
273 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is already the second time I stayed here. Rooms are nice, they have two categories, so you can choose depending on your budget. The cheaper ones are without air con and smelled a little bit dump (but I think that was the typical hot tropical dump kind of smell). They were definitely clean! No matter which room you choose you can use any area of the hotel. There are two nice swimming pools, gardens with tropical plants and beautiful flowers, generally speaking the ambient is very good. The hotel restaurant is all right, but somewhat expensive for what it is. Since the hotel is on the cliffs on the way to Manuel Antonio park, there is no sea access, unfortunately neither a view at the Pacific. But you can take a bus that runs the main street (just in front of the hotel) every ten minutes or so and you are on the main Manuel Antonio beach in less than 10 minutes.
PD: The hotel owner attended us very well, but the general staff wasn't very helpful, somewhat slow and sometimes it seemed they don't even know the area.

Room Tip: Go for the better rooms with air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
2.1 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mono Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mono Azul

Property: Hotel Mono Azul
Address: Manuel Antonio Road | On The Road To Manuel Antonio National Park, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mono Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mono Azul is a comfortable, environmentally-friendly oasis in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We are also closely related to Kids Saving The Rainforest (KSTR). Our hotel has 2 swimming pools, a full service restaurant with breakfast and dinner and bar, free WiFi, and tour booking. We offer a wide range of lodging options. Hotel Mono Azul is under new management as of December 1st, 2014 and continues to be owned and managed by Americans and has been a pillar in the Manuel Antonio Community for over twenty years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mono Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mono Azul Hotel
Mono Azul Quepos
Hotel Mono Azul Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing