We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better”
Review of Hotel Malinche

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Malinche
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Reviewed March 19, 2011

The room price was fair. The rooms were okay sized. No televisions and no a/c. The showers were fairly cold. The noise level from outside was very loud early in the morning. The staff at the front was not friendly, but it was okay. The bed was not comfortable. The location was nice. It was a short walk to the bus station, close to restaurants and stores. The parking lot was very small. The wi-fi did not work in the room. You had to sit pretty much on top of the window in order to get a small signal.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coriander82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Malinche
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2010

Not quite what I was expecting. Room was nice apart from the damp around the much needed air con unit. Didnt always have hot water. Good tv. Wifi but no computer on site. One night was very noisey, other nights were of medium noise level. One night was spent jumping into a cold shower every 5 mins due to the air con not being turned on at the mains in reception and no staff on duty. All staff were as helpful as possible but only one staff member spoke english. They organised 3 good tours for me (Canopy, jet ski and horse ride). Located in the centre of an urban area. Good transport link as interbus pick up from there and tours pick you up directly. At $30 per night it was ok.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2009

Beginning of November I booked a room at the Hotel Malinche per phone. I was offered a single room for three nights, with fan for 15$/night. However, upon arrival the rate was 30$/night (not expensive but double the price I booked the room for!).
Furthermore, the room was damp, dark and utterly unappealing. According to the very unfriendly and unhelpful staff, another room was not available though the hotel seemed not to be fully booked.
Immediately, I went looking for another room and found a very nice on at the Hotel Sirena! Very nice owner, clean and sunny room. And even a small breakfast included!

Katrin

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I recently stayed at the Hotel Malinche, for the second time, while in Quepos. They gave me a small room with a fan for $15 per night. I have found the desk staff to be very professional, although not as outwardly friendly as some of the other CR hotels I have stayed in. The hotel has its own gated parking area in the courtyard, so if you come with a car it will be safe and close to your room. Aditionally the 24 hour security gaurd keeps the place safe from the local riff raff (lots of that in Quepos). Malinche is close to all the best restaurants in Quepos and there is a really good laundry service just across the street. I will be staying at Malinche again during my next visit to Quepos.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROBR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

The Malinche is certainly not the five star you might wish for, but the rooms are very comfortable. The place is clean, location excellent, and the folks who own and run the place are very pleasant. I have stayed here many times in the last few years and while the place will not many awards, the location is second to none. On top of that, there is a great portrait in the lobby of the Malinche's number one customer, Dick Minton! I love the Malinche!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jxmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2005

I really loved my staying at the Hotel Malinche. This hotel is not a 5 stars hotel so you can´t expect luxury all around but anyway, there isn´t any luxury hotels in Quepos actually. I think this hotel represents a great value as the prices are quite reasonable and the rooms have air conditioning (that really works), hot water and cable color TV. The staff is friendly and always looking to keep the rooms cleaned. The hotel is very close to the finest restaurants in the Quepos area as it is located in Quepos main street. Access to transportation to the outstanding Manuel Antonio beaches and parks is very close. In the hotel is an office where you can book scuba diving and sport fishing tours. The actual owners of the hotel live there so the staff and personal is always attending their jobs as the owners are ALWAYS looking how things are going in the hotel. Quite recommended and will stay there again without hesitation as the hotels in the Manuel Antonio area are very similar and can charge you up to three times more.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank miercoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2005

I arrived expecting to have a room that I reserved, for the price I was quoted, and got neither. Quoted through their on web-site, I was quoted a low price of $10.00 for a room with fan, or $25.00 for a room with A/C. When I got there, and told them I had a reservation, I recieved a blank stare and a reply that the rooms were $25.00 with fan, and $40.00 for A/C.

Having flown all night, and driven from San Jose, I did not feel like arguing...took the fan room, and listened to disco music from down the street for hours. Even though it was the "green season" temps never got below 80 degrees that night in my room.

needless to say, that was the only night I stayed at the Malinche, and I would not stay there again if I had ANY choice. There were many other choices avalible at this that time of year, up the road tward Manuel Antonio. Shop around, and get the better deal.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank terryoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 14 in Quepos
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#9 of 14 in Quepos
55 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malinche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malinche

Address: Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range: $45 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Malinche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malinche Hotel Quepos
Hotel Malinche Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing