We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but location is not family friendly at night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel, but location is not family friendly at night”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

a friend and I stayed at the best wetern hotel & casino in quepos, on the pacific coast

the hotel staff was attentive. the rooms unlike in tortuguero, were air conditioned, which is a plus. my friend and I stayed in a larger room overlooking the ocean, a bit more expensive but worth it. the restaurant is located on the second level and has stellar smoothies. and the food was acceptable, although I prefer to go out an look for food in smaller mom and pop like sodas or the like. more authentic and less expensive. one side note, the night life is alive in downtown quepos, not the most family friendly after lets say 6 pm, so keep that in mind. during the day it is fine. I would give this hotel a pass, but might suggest you check out the other hotels closer to manuel antonio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberpa_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatiana A, Manager at Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Good Morning

Thank you very much for visited the BEST WESTERN Kamuk

We hope to see you soon¡¡¡
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    98
    76
    33
    21
See reviews for
55
101
28
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
banff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel as soon as we walked into the casino dan the guy in charge of the poker room spotted us and started giving us the low down on quepos and the casino. If your playing cards you get free booze and they bring out food sometimes. The game is pretty cheap to buy into 50cent 1$ but there's action

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in that hotel in April 2011. The room is big and has everything you need. The location is also great since the hotel is located in the city center. Moreover, the hotel offers numerous activities for scuba divers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank iarce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hi,

We stayed in his hotel for a night and our experience is very poor.
Location is not good and this is on top of a casino playing loud noise and we could not sleep also we see hookers roaming around in the night.

Wifi did not work and breakfast was a farce

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sris834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quepos hotels

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

After spending 5 days at a friend's home without air, the Best Western Hotel & Casino was refreshing. We weren't looking for anything luxurious, just a place with some a/c and a pool and the Best Western was just what we needed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but just fine. It was a little noisy next to the restaurant, but it wasn't an issue because we were so tired. The pool is small, but again it was perfectly fine for us. The food in the restaurant was tasty and we had an excellent view of the ocean while we ate. Overall, we were pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: It may be quieter getting a room in the interior rather than on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rules_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

No wifi and nonsmoking room reeked of smoke upon arrival. Went to the restaurant on the third third floor and despite being only one of a few people there, service was super-slow and then non-existent once my husband joined me. Quepos isn't as traveler-friendly as Manuel Antonio - just stay there. Better service, reliable Internet, more to do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottymotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here the 1st week in March 2013. I had a room on the 3rd floor overlooking Wacky Wanda's. Believe me there was no shortage of entertainment right from my balcony. I saw a hooker fight that lasted a good 20 minutes. The hooker that got the beating needed her but kicked because the day before she walked into Wanda's where I was drinking and just grabbed my drink and started drinking it. She was a fat pig! I really didn't have a problem with the noise...I slept fine but I'm sure the 20 or so rum and cokes before bed helped. The room was fine with the exception of the bed, it was to hard and to low to the ground, making it hard for fat guys like me to get up. I liked the casino but stay away from the texas holdem table. It's run by a guy named Dan who has it rigged. He uses at least 1 American College kid in his scam, possibly 2. Play carib stud and you'll be fine. Coctail waitress' in there were great and when it got late they came around with sandwiches. Like I said...all in all not bad for the price but not a place to bring the wife.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Le Priss
Hotel Le Priss
#8 of 15 in Quepos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk

Property: Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Address: Av Central | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well some of the rooms have ocean view. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-9am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kamuk
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing