We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“noise, prostitutes and poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
London
1 review
“noise, prostitutes and poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

the positive is that theh hotel is reasonably priced in comparison to accomodation in manuel antonio. Stayed 2 nights, first in deluxe room at front of hotel and after complaining about noise which kept us awake until 3am we were moved to the back of the hotel which was marginally better but not much.

Unfortunately the hotel is located next to one of the main Quepos gringo bars and prostitutes looking to serve their sport fishing clients. We were amused by the regular and noisy interaction from prostitutes on the streets to the men/clients on balcony of the BW hotel seeking to find out if they intend to visit the bar later.

Service standards differed between staff and ranged from appalling to nonchalent which is a shame for the Best Western brand.

Breakfast is tokenistic and not of a standard expected . Service in the restaurant was shocking.

Room Tip: overlooking the pool in the middle of the hotel woud be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OttieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We are very sorry to know you did not enjoy your stay with us, sometimes it is difficult to fight against factors such as prostitution and noise occurring outside our walls and into the surrounding streets. We work every day to solve this kind of problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    85
    63
    30
    18
See reviews for
43
85
27
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darien, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Right in the center of town.

The hotel isn't too bad... and the staff was nice... but being across the street from Wacky Wanda's it was very noisy until early am (even on a tuesday)... The "free" breakfast was fruit, cereal, and toast... had to order off the menu even for eggs.

WiFi was spotty.

At Hotel Mimos now (3km up the road)... much nicer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianARice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear BrianARice,

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quepos hotels

Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

In Quepos,costa rica this is the best happy hour and great sunsets. the food was good and service was slow, you can hear the ocean from your table. we did not stay at the hotel, but the place is nice. would go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, for us it is a pleasure to serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

if you want the best happy hour in Quepos stop by Kamuks, the food is good and the sun sets are the best, looking out at the ocean. we did not stay at the hotel. service is a little slow, but who in a hurry.enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costaricacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff is more than unfriendly: Upon arrival I asked, if it was possible to shorten the stay from 4 to 3 nights. The receptionist threatened me and told me that I had to pay a fine for that. In the end, I could shorten it without paying, but the way I was treated was not correct and we didn't really feel safe there. Next to the hotel is a casino and there are many bars: As a consequence of this, dubious persons were hanging around in front of the hotel. From 11 pm to 5 am drunken people do the best to let you not fall asleep! The noise was really unbearable. The included breakfast is not worth mentioning: You have to pay extra for eggy, omeletts, croissants. You better choose a nice hotel between Quepos and Manuel Antonio...
By the way: The water quality in Quepos is not good at the moment, so you can't go swimming there. So why choose a beachside hotel, if you can't enjoy the sea and the beach?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Very sorry for your inconvenience, we will discuss with our staff to find out this situation, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this review to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We would like to clarify that we did return of your money when you did check out.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

we stayed 3 nights at BEST WESTERN Hotel Kamuk. The hotel located in the central Quepos. The room was clean, but the room is close to the swimming pool, it's really noisy during the night. The AC in our room was broken on the 3rd night, so they gave us the key to the premium room with no extra charge, which was nice of them. The staffs in the hotel are helpful and nice. The hotel has its own casino, but sometime during the night you'll see some drunk people hanging out. Overall it's a great hotel with good value, it has free breakfast, free wifi, and many more...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our return from Playa Matapalo en route to San Jose. We were given a room next to the street. If you stay here, ask for another location, perhaps next to the pool. We were kept awake by the street noise. We did have fun going out onto the balcony and watching the locals visiting the bar across the street. For a younger person, I guess noise wouldn't be a problem just join in the revelry. The room was comfortable enough, other than noise. Complimentary breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Get a room located away from the street if quiet is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler6756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Property: BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well some of the rooms have ocean view. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-9am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Quepos
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing