We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“stay away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“stay away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff is more than unfriendly: Upon arrival I asked, if it was possible to shorten the stay from 4 to 3 nights. The receptionist threatened me and told me that I had to pay a fine for that. In the end, I could shorten it without paying, but the way I was treated was not correct and we didn't really feel safe there. Next to the hotel is a casino and there are many bars: As a consequence of this, dubious persons were hanging around in front of the hotel. From 11 pm to 5 am drunken people do the best to let you not fall asleep! The noise was really unbearable. The included breakfast is not worth mentioning: You have to pay extra for eggy, omeletts, croissants. You better choose a nice hotel between Quepos and Manuel Antonio...
By the way: The water quality in Quepos is not good at the moment, so you can't go swimming there. So why choose a beachside hotel, if you can't enjoy the sea and the beach?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Very sorry for your inconvenience, we will discuss with our staff to find out this situation, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using this review to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We would like to clarify that we did return of your money when you did check out.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    85
    60
    30
    18
See reviews for
41
84
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

we stayed 3 nights at BEST WESTERN Hotel Kamuk. The hotel located in the central Quepos. The room was clean, but the room is close to the swimming pool, it's really noisy during the night. The AC in our room was broken on the 3rd night, so they gave us the key to the premium room with no extra charge, which was nice of them. The staffs in the hotel are helpful and nice. The hotel has its own casino, but sometime during the night you'll see some drunk people hanging out. Overall it's a great hotel with good value, it has free breakfast, free wifi, and many more...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our return from Playa Matapalo en route to San Jose. We were given a room next to the street. If you stay here, ask for another location, perhaps next to the pool. We were kept awake by the street noise. We did have fun going out onto the balcony and watching the locals visiting the bar across the street. For a younger person, I guess noise wouldn't be a problem just join in the revelry. The room was comfortable enough, other than noise. Complimentary breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Get a room located away from the street if quiet is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTraveler6756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelKamuk, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment, we really appreciate your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Level Contributor
114 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is not your typical Best Western. From the outside it looks mundane but, once you cross inside, you will be dazzled by the charming Spanish decor.

Check-in was very professional and our room on the 2nd. floor was generous, charming and definitely a notch more upscale than your average Best Western. Spotlessly clean and super, daily, room service. We stayed there 3 nights.

Staff was always courteous and very helpful with our myriad of questions. The included breakfast in the Mira Olas restaurant upstairs is pretty basic but the view is great and, if you are really hungry, you can always order more food from the extensive menu. Or, step outside and enjoy the food from the multitude of little local shops on both sides of the street. Dinner was excellent at that restaurant.

The hotel is located in a busy part of Quepos but it was low-season and that surely helped to keep the noise level low. The advantage is that it’s walking distance to the waterfront, great restaurants and many shops.

Room Tip: In high season you may wnat to try to get a room further away from the "casino".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivette, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My standard room was a bit cramped, but with a very nice, but cramped bathroom. There are some homeless people sleeping on the street outside the hotel. The cops wake them up in the morning and tell them to go away. I didn't see homeless people in Jaco like I did there. I was there during low season so there were not a lot of people in town. There is a very nice view from the the 3rd floor restaurant of the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful in helping me look for tours. They also helped me to find nice restaurants to eat at. I wouldn't recommend Quepos in general. I was not impressed.

Helpful?
Thank Darrell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

From the outside it looks ordinary, but the Best Western kamuk is anything but ordinary. Lovely Spanish architecture, incredibly helpful staff, excellent bed and great views. We found the room was large and well appointed, the service really good and the bar and Restaurant excellent value. Recommend it particularly as we were here in the wet season. The room we were initially given was small, but it was no trouble to change and nicest. Good laundry service also.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AustralianToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night. The hotel was booked for us by Coast to Coast adventures for the night before the start of their C2C trip. Smart enough hotel just across the road from the Pacific. We arrived too early to check in, but the reception staff were happy to store our bags and give us directions to the bus station to get the bus to Manuel Antonio.
Nothing majorly good or bad to say. The rooms were OK, the pool was a bit grubby, but OK. The restaurant was pretty good. The hotel was very quiet....none of the noise experienced by other people and definitely no parties of 'guys'.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#2 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#3 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#6 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.5 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
2.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino

Property: BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Address: Central Ave | PO Box 18-6350, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino is the only full service hotel in Quepos. Located just a few steps from the Quepos Marina our 44 comfortable rooms are divided in 3 diferent categories: Standar, Superior and Primium, they all have air-conditioned, hot water, cable TV, free WI-FI Internet and most with balconies as well some of the rooms have ocean view. The Restaurant & Bar "Mira Olas" is open for breakfast from 6-9am every day to serve complimentary breakfast to our guests including the typical Costa Rican gallo pinto with fried or scramble eggs. We also have a casino on premises for those who enjoy gaming, conference room for 50 people and the outdoor pool for our guests who prefer to relax in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino Costa Rica/Quepos
Best Western Quepos
Quepos Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing