We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Jacquelina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Jacquelina
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Spent two nights here and had a great time. Manuel Antonio is a touristy spot with aggressive street/beach vendors, so it was nice to escape to Villas Jacquelina where we were welcomed by Stepghen and Esteban. They offered us plenty of advice about the local attractions without it ever feeling like they were trying to sell us something.

I had been worried about the fact that we did not have cars, but I we never had any trouble with the walk to and from town nor did were we ever overcharged by taxi drivers. I highly recommend this spot over trying to stay in downtown Quepos.

The room that we stayed in was the "honeymoon suite." It was large enough for two people but the curtain is a bit flimsy and if the grounds had been fully booked I would have been worried about people walking by our room and being able to see through the curtain at night.

Overall, an awesome deal. Best hospitality we experienced on the trip was at Jacquelina.

Room Tip: The room that we stayed in was the "honeymoon suite." It was large enough for two people b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    34
    6
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
81
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aarau, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I visited with my girlfriend and their spirit of the owners really swaped on their guests. Lovely community area to eat, hang out and read a book. Hammocks, sport/yoga area on the roof... Folks are keen on helping people having a great time around Quepos. It's true, it's far from the centre, but in turn you get a great sun rise and no accoustic drawbacks. And... once in a while you have a movie star hopping by :) Also, pretty clean, I'd say. Thanks for that stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrayanZimmerli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

So so glad we stayed here during our weekend trip to Quepos. The staff were nothing but friendly and relaxed and the atmosphere on the balcony had us spending more time there than on the beaches. As three college kids traveling on a budget this place was the best we could find for being so clean. Beautiful view from the balcony and the owner is extremely nice. Definitely stay here!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonietta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We have spent two nights at Villas Jacquelina and we will come back again without doubt. Staff is always there, willing to hep you with suggestions or with everything you need in order to enjoy your stay. The rooms are nice, the place is perfect for relaxing after your visits to the area (Manuel Antonio, of course!). If you are looking for a perfect place where to combine relax and good people (on a budget), don't hesitate to come here and enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roser P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Needed a good, reliable home base for 4 nights out of our 8-night visit to Cost Rica.

This place worked out, and then some, as my wife, our one-year-old, and I were comfortably accomodated in this "Villa" style residence compound.

You get the safety of many friendly neighbors, the advantage of a Tico-US family running the place, and lovely architecture to boot.

Bring your play-pen for the toddler/infant like we did (anywhere in C.R. the rugged landscape lends itself to dangers of natural occurence.)

We absolutely loved this place, and most of all for the following reasons:

- large, equipped, shared kitchen, meaning our family was independent of the working hours of the nearest 'soda' lunch counter.
- we chose the 3-bed suite with its own bathroom,
- as mentioned, plenty of trustworthy neighbors, and lots of extra eyes on the kid and her surroundings.

Thanks!

Room Tip: It's a variegated multi-level compound running up a uniform slope, so in other words ask your ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weeger_7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Usually when you economize where you are staying when traveling abroad you expect to sacrifice some things. Cleanleness, staff helpfulness, etc. However, with Villas Jacquelina you sacrifice none of the comforts you'd expect with a more expensive place and in turn have a unique Costa Rica experience in the heart of the jungle. Located just north of the central bus station in Quepos these Villas are truly a gem. The staff is amazingly accommodating and knowledgable, the rooms are clean, the beds comfortable, the showers hot, and the views spectacular. The Villas is set up like a hostel in that there is a shared main room where you can cook your own meals and socialize with the other guests, but it is also a large enough facility where you can also have your privacy when desired. While there my wife and I were able to meet people from Germnay, England, and Canada which gives the Villas a great international vibe.
The owners Esteban and Steve are so nice and helpful and will set you up on any local tour you want, and arrange any transportation that might be needed, which really makes things easy. They have bikes to rent on site when you feel like exploring. The Vilas are a 15 minute drive from the amazing Manuel Antonio beaches. All in all Villas Jacquelina is a wonderful place to spend a few nights as your travel throughh the amazing country of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Do not look for another place to stay, you just found the best one ! At first, we planned to stay 2 nights but we extended it for one more night. The place is great : swimming pool, 3 huge balconies, hammocks, shisha... and the staff is always here for you even if they are nor actually here. You can reach them by 'talky-wacky'. They gonna give you awesome advice to eat, to visit etc . You have plenty access to the kitchen and you can buy some smacks directly in the living rroom if you do not want to go to the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexbraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#2 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#1 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
5.0 mi away
Kayak Lodge
Kayak Lodge
#1 of 13 in Quepos
4.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Jacquelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Jacquelina

Property: Villas Jacquelina
Address: Finca los Alfaro, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Jacquelina is an eco friendly Bed and Breakfast / Hostel located on the outskirts of Quepos, less than a mile from the towns center. Villas Jacquelina specializes in affordable rooms, enjoyable guest amenities, amazing mountain views, great evening vibes and quality guest service. Guests at Villas Jacquelina most often arrive as strangers and leave as friends, due in part to the American/Costa Rica family who runs and owns the business. Guests enjoy the villas spacious, cool, and clean bedrooms and bathrooms which complement well, the refreshing pool, spacious guest patios, elevated rooftop gardens and outstanding views. These Villas are special and have the guest reviews to prove it. Ranking #1 their first 2 years in business on tripadvisor, hostelworld and hostelbookers for Quepos, Costa Rica , Villas Jacquelina has quickly become THE place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villas Jacquelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Jacquelina Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing