We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for a place to stay? Look NO further.”
Review of Villas Jacquelina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villas Jacquelina
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
“Looking for a place to stay? Look NO further.”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I was part of a group of 17 university students traveling to Costa Rica from Canada. When our bus left the paved road and bounced along a dirt one for a while we were worried about what it would be like at this hostel we had booked. Minutes lates we arrived and to our delight we realized that this hostel is not only beautiful but is perfectly situated in a rural setting, just far enough away from the bustle of Quepos to fully relax in their brand new pool, sit atop the hostel roof and drink in the stunning view, or to fall asleep to the sounds of nature only possible when you're right in the middle of it. That's just the setting. The people at Villas Jacquelina are legendary. They were so accommodating of our large group and became some of the best friends we met in all of Costa Rica. Esteban and Steve (owners) even took us along on runs through Quepos and the surrounding area! Honestly, you will not want to leave that place when you get here.

Room Tip: Any room is good. For couples... they have some ones that would be especially nice (they are a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    37
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
17
88
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Villas Jacquelina is walking distance from all ammenities and has really nice employees. Its a great deal to stay there, and the rooms are nice too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megamega154910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Could not have asked for a better place to stay while visiting Manuel Antonio! For starters, the staff is incredibly welcoming, friendly, and helpful. The hostel itself is in a great location, walking distance from downtown Quepos and the bus that takes you to the beautiful Manuel Antonio beaches. Accommodations are very clean and the building itself is really cool with some nice common areas to hang out and a rooftop patio. I would definitely recommend Villas Jacquelina to anyone visiting Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2012

That's really what Villas Jacquelina felt like while I was there. My friends and I found Villas as we were looking for accommodations in the Manuel Antonio area. We decided to stay in Quepos as MA is FAR more expensive.The vibe of the hostel and the community of Quepos is so low key and everyone at Villas did everything they could to make our stay as fun-filled and comfortable as possible. The location of the hostel is fantastic as it has a rural feel (being slightly outside of Quepos,) but is also very very close to a countless number of activity options such as tours (which you can book through the hostel for a discount!) and the Manuel Antonio national park. The property is beautifully kept, the food is incredible, the owners and employees are unbelievably friendly and helpful. If you want an affordable, truly Costa Rican experience while in the Quepos/Manuel Antonio area, Villas Jacquelina is an absolute must.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb... There are different room options to choose from *(ie: dorm, single, doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and had a blast. Food was great, BBQ highly recommended. Staff are super helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make sure you have a great stay. Readily willing to help you book tours and usually end up with a deal and pick up from the hostel. Spectacular view from the roof especially of sunrise/sunset. I would readily stay here again and highly recommend that anyone else do also!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaagenDaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Esteban and Steve (owners) are awesome, friendly and know all the best places for whatever you're looking to do! They've got great hook-ups with the tours and set us up for river rafting, scuba diving, the sunset tour and more! They made it so easy. Moreover, Yara is a fantastic cook! The breakfasts were delicious and Steve also cooked us up some wonderful BBQ.

At Villas Jacquelina, you're completely comfortable. It's also only a $0.50 bus ride to the Manuel Antonio beaches which are a must see if you're going to Costa Rica! Being in Quepos you get a not-so-touristy/busy vibe and the beaches are still super close. It's the best! I'd recommend Villas Jacquelina to anyone, no questions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I had the pleasure of spending 3 nights at Villas Jacquelina with my friends. We had an excellent stay because the the villas a are clean, spacious and quiet when you need your rest after a hot Costa Rican day! One great addition to the facilities is the free breakfast they provide for you every morning, a traditional Tico breakfast. Ban and Steve(owners) do a great job at making you feel right at home :)

I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Quepos and Manuel Antonio. The price per night is fair and the hospitality is priceless. The rooms are clean and so are the bathrooms. Another perk, they have A/C in certain rooms!!! I hope to be there again sometime in the near future!

Thanks Ban and Steve!

Room Tip: Ask for the A/C rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arturo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 13 in Quepos
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
430 reviews
2.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hostel Vista Serena
Hostel Vista Serena
#3 of 32 in Manuel Antonio National Park
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas Jacquelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Jacquelina

Property: Villas Jacquelina
Address: Finca los Alfaro, Quepos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Jacquelina is an eco friendly Bed and Breakfast / Hostel located on the outskirts of Quepos, less than a mile from the towns center. Villas Jacquelina specializes in affordable rooms, enjoyable guest amenities, amazing mountain views, great evening vibes and quality guest service. Guests at Villas Jacquelina most often arrive as strangers and leave as friends, due in part to the American/Costa Rica family who runs and owns the business. Guests enjoy the villas spacious, cool, and clean bedrooms and bathrooms which complement well, the refreshing pool, spacious guest patios, elevated rooftop gardens and outstanding views. These Villas are special and have the guest reviews to prove it. Ranking #1 their first 2 years in business on tripadvisor, hostelworld and hostelbookers for Quepos, Costa Rica , Villas Jacquelina has quickly become THE place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villas Jacquelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Jacquelina Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing