We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishing in Quepos”

JP Sport Fishing Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Quepos Fishing.Book with the best!!, JP Sport Fishing has been providing services since 1993. Our experience has made us send Anglers back home with a great big smile on their faces and a gratifying feeling of a wonderful fishing vacation, we are proud owners of 34ft Sea Lady & 34ft Wild Lady. We specialize in Fully Inclusive Packages or simply a Fishing Charter Day. We will definitely try our best to get you that Sailfish or Marlin you've always wanted to catch!! Quepos, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Fishing in Quepos”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I just returned from a week-long fishing trip in Costa Rica and want to thank Carlos and his crew at JP Sport Fishing for an excellent trip. We fished 3 1/2 days and caught 27 sailfish, one large dorado and 3 rooster fish inshore. We had a wonderful trip and couldn't ask for better coordination for our travel and stay in Quepos. If you are planning an off-shore fishing trip in Costa Rica, I would highly recommend JP Tours

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roddy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    12
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Carlos and the crew are very professional. We had a great day of fishing and caught 3 dolphin, 6 sailfish and 1 blue marlin. When we arrived to the boat the captain, Kurt, asked what we wanted to fish for. We told him billfish and specifically marlin, and he delivered. The mate, Roberto, was outstanding and friendly. Just a great experience. I would book them again without question.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tobin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip - Kids' Firsts, A Great Day on the Water!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I fish all over, but Costa Rica is truly special... and the best way to fish it is to have a Captain and crew who know the area, have the right equipment, and work with you to accomplish what YOU want. Carlos and the team at JP Sportfishing truly do that. For me, my kids’ having a great first experience is the most important thing. JP works to understand and deliver, especially with young fishermen. The joy in Ian’s face as he landed his first Sailfish, watching Genie working his sail as it launched itself airborne; these are truly precious memories that last a lifetime. Carlos and JP delivers this kind of memorable experience with no hassle - you tell them what you want, and they advise ou on how to get that kind of experience the best way possible for the fishing conditions then and there. Check out their fishing reports to target the species you want a first with. Enjoy the pictures; they say it best if you can't be there yourself!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3 days of great fishing!!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We did 3 days of fishing. July 13, 14 and 15th. Day 1 We caught a sail and 5 wahoo. Day 2 we caught a bigger sail, 3 small yellowfin tuna and a 30+ lbs amberjack. Day three another sail and we had another sail hit our live baits when we were bottom fishing but missed it almost jumped in the boat lol, then we caught a 10 lbs snapper. All in all we caught a bill and some food each day what more could you ask for....Eric & Roy are very experienced fisherman and are working the entire time trying to put you on to a fish. Even when Roy is making lunch he is the first one ready on the rods lol. I need to come back next time with them to catch some rooster fish as I hear it is a blast..

Tight lines Eric and Roy
From Jordy

Helpful?
1 Thank BC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mahi Mahi and Sailfish...Excellent Day!!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

June 20,2012
My wife and I went out for a 3/4 day trip. The crew Roy and Eric were amazing and they knew exactly what they were doing. Our first fish was a 56 in Mahi Mahi, which put up a killer fight. We then landed to others that were pretty good sized as well. Just before the day came to an end, we landed an 8 foot Sailfish. It jumped 7 times!!! We do a lot of offshore fishing off of Cape Cod, but this was by far the best day I have had on the water. Very friendly staff, and a great boat to fish from. If you are in Quepos, you must use JP Sport Fishing!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JP Sport Fishing Tours also viewed

 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to JP Sport Fishing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing