We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was a good hostel. The staff was very helpful, they had internet, close to the bus, walkable to Quepos (take the bus to Manuel Antonio). We had 3 people in a 4 person room and it was very comfortable.

They also have real mattresses, not the pieces of foam that you find most places in Costa Rica. The only complaint would be that the rooms face the road and there are a lot of loud trucks rolling by at all hours of the day.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristopherT246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 300 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2012

I was in this hostel this month, for 2 nights.... And finally I stay 10 nights !!!
It's a typical hostel, for sure sometimes there no hot water but this is Costa Rica ! And sincerely, with the hot temperature in this country, hot water is not realy necessary....
The location it's just between the town of Quepos and the Manuel Antonio beach and Park. There are a bus stop next the hostel.
The 2 things that I prefered were, the atmosphere of this place due to a real enjoyed staff, always ready to help you to organize your travel, or for sweet evening or amazing party !
The other thing is that every day you are directly in contact with the nature, white monkey face, squirel monkey, iguana, toucan or frog,.... There is even a frog which is called 'Paula' !
I would like to thank you Virginia and its team for my stay with us :-)
Pura Vida ! ! !

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777PinkPanther777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This "hostal" over rates itself. The supposed communal kitchen is unlit, filthy, and there are no basic ingredients with which to cook. You share it with others, and there is no hot water for cleaning dishes. They say there is hot water in the showers, but we had no evidence of this. They closed the common area at 10:30, so all guests had to go to their tiny, over-priced rooms to listen to road noise.
I would avoid this place, there are other much better options in Quepos, but better yet, go up to Manuel Antonio for fresh air, quiet, and some reasonable options like the Costa Linda, which has tiny cramped rooms but a terrific, cheap breakfast and much better vibe overall.

Room Tip: don't even bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Jesus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las habitaciones en los pisos superiores son mas tranquilas y con mejores vistas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
1  Thank Dixiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Maren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 14 in Quepos
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
0.7 mi away
Hostel Q' Tuanis
Hostel Q' Tuanis
#11 of 32 in Quepos
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
Backpackers Manuel Antonio
#13 of 41 in Manuel Antonio
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabinas Maria Teresa
Cabinas Maria Teresa
#26 of 32 in Quepos
4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wide Mouth Frog
Wide Mouth Frog
#6 of 32 in Quepos
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio

Address: Main Road, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range: $18 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio We have fully stacked and always CLEAN communal kitchen with microwave, toaster oven, 2 large fridges, plenty of work space, some spices are included, and 2 stoves to cook on... We have many different styles of private rooms, with private bath or shared bath with HOT water showers, some rooms have safes and lockers. The dorm rooms we have 2 types to fit your budget Rooms are being cleaned daily and we are very particular and meticulous about the cleanliness o our hostel, the common areas and the rooms. We have excellent location in the pure jungle right outside of Quepos. We have Titi Monkey's that are regular visitors with us and you will be falling asleep with night sounds of the rain forest. Right around the hostel you can spot many incredible animals: Toucans, close to extinction Titi Monkeys, White Face Monkeys, Sloth, Mega Size Iguanas and our personal pet: Luna (black cat). We are walking distance to Quepos where everything is MUCH CHEAPER - because you are getting local prices, with tons of restaurants, shops, grocery shops, bars, night life, fresh farmers market (Friday and Saturday), marina and local public beach. We have a bus stop right in front of the hostel - that for less than 0.50$ Will take you to Manuel Antonio National Park and Manuel Antonio Center where everything has "tourist prices" in few minutes. Bus leaves every 20 minutes. We have excellent, happy and always smiling, bi-lingual staff that has incredible and waste knowledge of the local area, tours, shuttles, and of Costa Rica. We can help you arrange all your activities, your next hostel stays, recommend off the beaten track attractions (like the Secret Waterfall -where you can jump into it, or Playa Biezans) Come to stay with us if you want to meet great people from all over the world, have fun, party and experience the real Pura Vida Atmosphere, clean hostel and fantastic staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pura Vida Hostel - Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing