We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, Great Owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only
Ranked #2 of 15 Quepos B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
“Beautiful B&B, Great Owners”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is a great little B&B. Mike and Paul have done a fabulous job in making their gardens gorgeous, softening the site walls and making the pool & rancho areas wonderful places to relax. My room was beautifully designed and comfortable, making effective use of the space. (The glass-brick walled shower/commode feature another writer mentioned is a common feature across Costa Rica) Breakfasts were excellent and timing flexible. The dogs were very sweet, gentle and friendly. The provided beach sarong was very useful.

The B&B is well placed between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. It's a quick 15-20min walk downhill to Quepos but steep so be prepared to take bus/taxi back unless you like hiking. Bus is cheap but ask for bus stop locations as none are signed. Quick trip to Manuel Antonio and walking distance to restaurants as well.

Regarding sound levels, it is as noisy/quiet as every other B&B/Inn close to town that I've been too. The overwhelming soundscape of Costa Rica is roosters, dogs and motorcycle engines. Best to choose a remote inn (at the expense of access) or a bigger hotel chain for a quieter sleep. But as most tours start very early, waking up with the roosters isn't necessarily a bad thing...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
83
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Coyaba Tropical is a charming B&B with helpful owners, and we had a great experience. We stayed in one of the rooms facing the road - it's quiet at night but motorbikes and lorries started roaring past and waking me up around 5am every morning. The room was sparkling clean and beautifully decorated (though the people-behind-barbed-wire artwork on the walls was cool but a bit disconcerting). This was the nicest room we had in Costa Rica by far - a real treat. Also the best breakfasts, freshly cooked and served around their attractive pool area. We enjoyed both their small pool and their jacuzzi while we were there. It was nice that they provided beach sarongs, pool towels and bathroom towels. NB they have 3 friendly dogs. They also have a convenient honesty bar with beer, water and soft drinks and it was my own fault for not asking the prices beforehand, but when I got the bill and found they'd charged $2.50 USD for each 500ml bottle of water, I felt that was a bit excessive... Be aware. The location is good - most hotels in this area line the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio and we made ample use of the frequent bus which cost 285 colones and took about 15 mins to the beach and park.

Overall I was very happy with this accommodation and great service, and as part of a gay couple, I appreciated it being explicitly gay-friendly (which indeed many places are in this area) - though they have a wide range of guests.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coyabatropical, Owner at Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello again ladies, we're so pleased to have been a part of your vacation experience. We take pride in offering our guests a warm and inviting place they can call home during their stay. All of our rooms have been individually decorated using locally made furniture and original artwork from local artists.

As you already noted, we offer a small selection of ice-cold beverages for guest convenience, with the price set to cover our cost for the product and refrigeration. However we are slightly puzzled why you would not know the prices since they are clearly marked inside the sign-out binder.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us, and for taking time to share your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I am a very light sleeper and our room was right next to the road, on a hill with traffic going up and down 20 feet away. If you stay here be sure to request a room much farther away from the main road. Limited parking if you are driving and we had to park on the street.

Mike, the innkeeper, was good about us cancelling our return stay on the way back from The Oso and we appreciate that very much. The breakfast was outstanding and the pool was great after a day of driving. The restaurant he recommended was very good - "Coconuts" and the folks there were absolutely great.

Remember - that Manuel Antonio Park is closed Mondays which had a lot to do with us making a change on our way back. Did not know this and Mike was very helpful. I would recommend staying here in a room away from the road. Room was interesting in that bath/commode was just a glass wall from the room itself.

Room Tip: Be aware of street noise if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deercrossing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coyabatropical, Owner at Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for your comments, we really appreciate knowing you were impressed with our breakfast and that our pool area was a pleasant place to relax, however sorry you found Manuel Antonio too busy for your return stay.

During our renovations, we made considerable modifications to minimize ambient noise with new windows, doors and modern A/C with compressors mounted outside. As we discussed during your stay, Traffic is something we cannot control... and we share this information on our website... ``Coyaba Tropical is a fully restored Spanish Colonial property, located near the road to Manuel Antonio National Park which is one of the most popular tourist destinations in Costa Rica``. While there is very little traffic at night, however one of the realities of life in Central America is that Motorcycles are a part of the fabric here, and we appreciate these machines can sometimes be intrusive for some people, which is why we offer ear plugs for guests who may be more sensitive.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely hope the information provided about the National Park and local attractions was useful to help you plan the rest of your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had a nice stay here for 5 nights. The location is good, although getting to the beach requires some form of transportation (car, taxi, bus) - but this is true for most hotels. The rooms are well appointed, but noisy - they're all on the busy main road. With earplugs, we slept well. The bathroom and toilet clogged occasionally, and had a weird setup. The garden is gorgeous, and the tiny pool looks nice (didn't get to try it - the beach is much more inviting.) Overall, a relaxing atmosphere and great value. Best for gay travelers but all are welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david666m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful trip to Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. Coyaba Tropical was the perfect spot for us; an affordable piece of paradise. Admittedly the traffic noise was a little intrusive in the bedroom, but earplugs took care of that. The proximity to the road between Quepos and the beautiful Manuel Antonio National Park gave us plenty of options for dining and exploring (regular bus and taxi service so no need for a car) and the beautiful secluded pool area was simply heavenly. Thank you - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaBeauJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

WOW!!!!What a wonderful experience staying at the Coyaba Tropical in Quepos,Costa Rica.This B&B is beyond GORGEOUS!A very relaxing and inviting place to stay.The rooms are adorable and the breakfast we received every morning was Fantastic!.And I am a foodie!The pool is great as well as the rates.Mike,one of the owners goes above and beyond with guests such taking us around in his own vehicle,recommending places to go eat,suggesting and booking excursions we would surely enjoy,etc....And there housekeeper does a GREAT job cleaning the rooms every morning and everything else she does.HIGHLY RECOMMEND staying here.Everything you want.....And more in a relaxing vacation!You will not be disappointed at all!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bcooper1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Elegant and beautifully planned and decorated, Coyaba Tropical provides easy access to both Quepos and Manuel Antonio by inexpensive and frequent bus service at the door. Mike is the consummate host - personable, helpful, always available for questions and suggestions.

Breakfasts were generous and varied, served poolside. Air conditioning was effective, but the covered guest area and lush pool area were so inviting that we spent little time in our room, outside of sleeping.

We were tempted to just stay at the pool and forget about excursions and tours....in fact, one day, about 20 squirrel monkeys appeared , to our delight. Three dogs completed the entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,535 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
722 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Mansion Inn
La Mansion Inn
#9 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only

Property: Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only
Address: Apartado 392 | Manuel Antonio, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Tropical B+B - Adults Only, offers modest priced quality accommodations. Each one of our rooms is uniquely different and tastefully decorated using locally made furnishings and artwork. You have the freedom of choosing a stay that has no-breakfast" included, however most guests enjoying our home-cooked breakfast every day, with locally grown coffee and herbal teas, fresh tropical fruit and home-made bread. We offer complimentary high speed internet Wi-Fi inside your room and throughout the property, parking is available as well as the local public bus every 30 minutes which stops just outside our gate, going to Manuel Antonio National Park/Beach or into the Port town of Quepos. We're glad to help recommend local tours/attractions, and Nature Guides, as well as booking adventure tours and arranging transfer services. Please feel free to e-mail us with any questions or if you would like assistance planning your visit to Manuel Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Tropical Bed And Breakfast - Adults Only Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing