We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well done guys from the two Aussies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only
Ranked #2 of 15 Quepos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well done guys from the two Aussies”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We recently stayed at Coyaba and had a lovely stay. Mike and Paul were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. They went out of there way to ensure that we were looked after the whole time.
We started with the upstairs room but relocated to the lower room due to another booking. We had decided to extend our stay. We preferred the ground floor room but both rooms were very comfortable. Mike was a wealth of knowledge re the area, places to go, restaurants, excursions and more. We enjoyed the homely welcoming feel of the B&B. The breakfasts were great and Mike even provided sandwiches one day and cappuccinos at night while watching television which we enjoyed.
The pool was lovely, the kitchen area accessible and the lounge area very nice and cozy. We took many pics of the monkeys and the humming bird at the front of the property. Restaurant wise, we particularly enjoyed SALT and visiting the local gallery. Highly recommend the catamaran trip. Ask the guys about the cafe where homemade cakes are made as they are superb. Quepos is a short walk away and there are plenty of buses. Would definitely stay again and highly recommend Coyaba.

Room Tip: We personally preferred downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRAIG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
83
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great home, excellent renovations, wonderful rooms, well decorated and very comfortable, beautiful landscaping, great pool and lots of welcome monkey visitors. Michael and Paul are good hosts and they have a beautiful home and B&B. Breakfasts are good and they know the area well and provide great tourist and other information to their guests. There are a couple of downsides, the location is quite a distance from the beach/park at Manuel Antonio as we both like to have our early morning and late afternoon ocean swim. Taxis and buses are plentiful, but it is too far to walk to the beach or park. Restaurant options are limited with walking distance although SALT and the Hotel Gaia are good options as well as Ana's restaurant for local cuisine. The traffic noise is deafening at times if you want to sleep in or sit on your deck if you have the deluxe room as the B&B overlooks the main road from Quepos to MA and starts up at 5am and finishes after midnight. The enclosed courtyard with swimming pool, living room area, and dining area is beautifully done, but be prepared to listen to TV at a volume which is not relaxing to guests.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, take one of the lower rooms as the traffic noise is a bit less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deuxvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coyabatropical, Owner at Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thanks again for staying with us and for reviewing our property, we take great pride in giving our guests personal attention in a "guesthouse" experience. Very few properties in Manuel Antonio are near the beach, and as you most likely noticed, many of the buildings are close to the only road to the National Park which is why we replaced exterior doors and windows during our restoration project, as well as installed split-unit A/C's with the compressor mounted outside. Traffic is busiest during early-morning when tourists are going to the beach or tours, and then again late afternoon/early evening when people are coming back to their hotels... otherwise there is little movement outside these times. There are a total of 6 restaurants within a 5 minute walk of Coyaba for guests who do not have a car, as well as a wide variety of restaurants with many different cuisines just a short bus or taxi ride away.

We do apologize for the louder than normal TV volume you experienced lounging next to the Pool during your final evening, our other guest wanted to watch a 2 hour Music Competition from his Patio Chair which is also next to the Pool, and we would have definitely lowered the volume or asked him to move into the TV Lounge area if you had raised the issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I will never stay anywhere else in Manuel Antonio! Mike and Paul are awesome hosts and they really made our stay memorable--they practically planned our last day for us and they had awesome tour recommendations. The breakfast is delicious and the lodging is more than comfortable. They really love what they do and they go out of their way to make your stay worry free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

It was a home, awesome location, AMAZING hosts with delicious breakfasts. They were so helpful and gave really insightful and local recommendations. They recently redid their pool and jacuzzi and it was better than a resort. The outdoor living room was beautiful, and again, the hosts were welcoming and fun (and their three little dogs were cute).

The rooms themselves had character and had much more value than we paid for - you can't find this value anywhere else! Great ventilation, our damp stuff dried overnight, and it was just so cozy.

Again, these guys are great resources and on our last day they gave some really great tour recommendations and were well connected with the community.

Don't stay anywhere else! We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coyabatropical, Owner at Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hello again guys, thanks again for choosing to stay with us. We strive to treat every guest the same way we would like to be treated when travelling. We hope that you have many happy memories of your visit to Costa Rica and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Coyaba Tropical is a recently renovated smaller B&B conveniently located on the main road between Quepos and the Manuel Antonio National Park. A delightful swimming pool and new patio area backing up against beautiful gardens were completed within the year. Complementing the attractive surroundings, the owners (Mike and Paul) are able to offer great advice on area attractions and restaurants, willingly book tours, and Paul cooks an outstanding locally themed breakfast each day. We're not talking danish and coffee but a real full breakfast with copious local fruit options! Adding to the "homey" feel, the owners' well behaved dogs mill about entertaining guests. For those missing their dog back home, it's very much welcomed!

The location is good and while the hills can be challenging to walk, inexpensive bus and/or taxi service just outside the front door is easy to use. Having said that, several very good restaurants are within easy walking distance. We had a rental car and were able to park inside the gated area.

Our street facing room was spacious and very comfortable with a small outdoor porch. It should be noted that light sleepers or those wishing to sleep late may find the road noise annoying. Because Coyaba Tropical is located along a sharp curve on a hilly road, full throttle acceleration by trucks and motorcycles with minimal mufflers is not uncommon just outside the front windows. In addition, the rooster across the street does what roosters do at sunrise. Use of the AC certainly helps, and it is part of the Latin American travel experience. Those wishing a sanitized travel experience may be happier in Cancun resort.

It is worth noting that we spent a week during the green season this trip; our 4th to Costa Rica but first during the green season. While we had exceptionally good weather, after to speaking to several locals (and researching it in advance of the trip) it does NOT rain 24/7 in the green season. Mid to late afternoon showers following sunny mornings are normal -- reminded me of Florida in the summer in that respect. If you like to shop, sightsee, hike the park, or go on tours in the morning, chill out reading or relaxing in the afternoon, it's a great time to go. You avoid the high season crowds and the landscape / jungle is incredibly lush. We were disappointed that the only heavy tropical downpour happended once at 4:00 AM - it would have been fun to watch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonTravelers00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coyabatropical, Owner at Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello again guys, thank you ever so much for the glowing review... are you sure you don't work for a travel magazine??? It was a genuine pleasure meeting and having you stay as our guests and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

BTW, we had the opportunity to experience Emilio's Cafe "to die for" Almond Cookies the other day and completely understand why you had to stock up before leaving Manuel Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had a wonderful time at Coyaba Tropical. The rooms were clean, modern yet very authentic. The home-made breakfast was extraordinary. It was easy to reach to the beach and the Manuel Antonio park. And the hosts were very friendly at the same time, professional. The overall experience was unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayhan111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We just can't say enough good things about our stay at Coyaba Tropical. Mike and Paul were the perfect hosts as they made fabulous breakfasts for us and gave us tips on the local area. Their establishment is so beautiful! They have this neat outside kitchen area with TV and comfy chairs. The pool is perfect, we liked that alot.

It is safe and convenient to the bus line. As the gate is closed our rental car was also safe!

I highly recommend the Coyaba Tropical!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with easy access and no stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#17 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Plaza Yara
Hotel Plaza Yara
#5 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.1 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only

Property: Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only
Address: Apartado 392 | Manuel Antonio, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coyaba Tropical B+B - Adults Only, offers modest priced quality accommodations. Each one of our rooms is uniquely different and tastefully decorated using locally made furnishings and artwork. You have the freedom of choosing a stay that has no-breakfast" included, however most guests enjoying our home-cooked breakfast every day, with locally grown coffee and herbal teas, fresh tropical fruit and home-made bread. We offer complimentary high speed internet Wi-Fi inside your room and throughout the property, parking is available as well as the local public bus every 30 minutes which stops just outside our gate, going to Manuel Antonio National Park/Beach or into the Port town of Quepos. We're glad to help recommend local tours/attractions, and Nature Guides, as well as booking adventure tours and arranging transfer services. Please feel free to e-mail us with any questions or if you would like assistance planning your visit to Manuel Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coyaba Tropical Bed and Breakfast - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coyaba Tropical Bed And Breakfast - Adults Only Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing