We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Nice ambiance.”
Review of El Gran Escape

El Gran Escape
Ranked #12 of 85 Restaurants in Quepos
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: El Gran Escape is proud of our long tradition of using local produce and seafood, and homemade tortillas, bread, desserts, as well as our commitment to being involved in the local community. We use only biodegradeable and recycled to-go containers and paper products, as well as a variety of other sustainable and eco-friendly practices. We hope you love your time in Costa Rica and hlep us do our part to keep this beautiful country Green!
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food. Nice ambiance.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We have just order burguers, soup and ceviche. The price was ok and so was the food. It is a good option in Quepos.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    147
    66
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Will come back for the seafood”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The service was great and in English, the general atmosphere of the place was just so deliciously vintage, but what really pushes me to come back to El Gran Escape is the delicious seafood. I had the giant California roll, it was beautifully presented and perfectly prepared. Also, best piña coladas in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LudovicMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“only ok”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

we went here because one of our tour guides said he loves the arroz con pollo here, and it's his special weekend treat. being a lover of arroz con pollo, i was a little disappointed in the dish. it was not as flavorful as some of the other ones we had on the trip. our service was also a little spotty - we were there at 2:30 pm, which i realize is not a typical time for lunch... there were only 2 parties in the restaurant, and maybe a few people at the bar, and it still took a while for our order to be taken.

prices are average to a little pricey. our arroz con pollo dish was $10 - while i've seen it for more in costa rica, i've also seen it for less. this restaurant definitely seemed to be geared towards tourists.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank shaomai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Had a gorgeous meal at this place while enjoying the nice temperature and ocean breeze coming through. I'd highly recommend the fresh fish ofthe day; we had a choice of four different sorts of fish with three different ways of preparing it. Tastiest dish we had while in cr!

Helpful?
Thank Mizyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food - Great Service!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We went here for a birthday dinner as our menfolk were fishing out of Quepos that day. The appis were wonderful and the fish extremely tasty. Best thing on their menu is hands-down, the macadamia pie ...its like your grammas butter-tarts but in pie form with toasted macadamia nuts in it!! DON'T share it, you won't get it back (thats what happened to me!) - ENJOY!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank deneenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gran Escape also viewed

 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Gran Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing