We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sushis!!!”
Review of Tropical Sushi - CLOSED

Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good sushis!!!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We took the all you can eat sushis offer and we ate so much! We were the only ones in the restaurant so the service was pretty quick. The fish and seafood were fresh, and the different kind of sushis were really good. If you are s sushi lover it is definitely worth the 20 bucks!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derf_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    5
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful fresh sushi personally delivered by the Japanese chef”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

During our stay in Quepos, we had dinner twice at Tropical Sushi. The first visit sparked our enthousiasm for a 2nd visit, where the Japanese chef / owner / waiter exceeded our expectations with marvellous tuna and delicious eel! Too bad we had to leave the day after and were not able to visit a 3rd time...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quepos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

By far the best sushi I have had in a long time, maybe ever. We moved to Costa Rica from Austin, TX about a month ago. Taking into consideration the trips we have made previously, we have dined at our fair share of restaurants in the area. As far as sushi goes, Tropical Sushi rates far above anywhere in Costa Rica. The rolls are simple, incredibly fresh, and just perfect. Reading the other reviews written, maybe the fish they had wasn't in season? I can't imagine how anyone could complain about freshness. I honestly think the tuna and salmon we had came off the boat the same afternoon.

All you can eat sushi is a great deal if you can eat your fair share of sushi and we did not have to wait long at all for more to come our way. This may be because the restaurant was not busy, it's the low season right now but the owner makes everything to order so even if the restaurant was full it would be worth the wait. Not to mention, most of the rolls on the regular menu are available on the all you can eat menu so if you're going to get several rolls all you can eat is the way to go. If you want to just go by the menu though, the price combined with the quality can't be beat. On top of everything, the server was incredibly friendly, attentive and helpful. The owner came and talked to us and was very nice as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beware of the "all you can eat" sushi offer !”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We went there solely for the all you can eat sushi offer. Even though the offer is valid, there are so many restrictions that we regretted our choice. For example our offer per choice was limited to 5 which could be reasonable if the orders were coming soon the one after the other. Nonetheless, we had to wait 30-45 min between our orders, while in the restaurant there were only 2-3 other small groups. As you can realize we barely reached 2 orders as we were fed up and extremely frustrating by the whole “process”. To make matters even worst, the quality of the sushi was from really poor to average. It was by far our worst experience in terms of restaurant dinning during our whole trip in Costa Rica.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MikeLS199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We ate at this restaurant twice during our week stay because it was so good. Reasonable prices and easy to find parking near the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropical Sushi also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing