We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“alright place for some cozy local flavor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manuel Antonio Estates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quepos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel Antonio Estates
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“alright place for some cozy local flavor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you are looking for some type of hotel which has 0 dust and 0 dirt and round the clock butlers at your whim, this is definitely not the place for you. But this is kind of more like a local cozy environment, not the best in terms of cleanliness but I didn't really mind that much when I went with my girlfriend. We had the whole villa to ourselves! Excellent view and the rooms were a pretty decent size. Only problem is that I would have liked to live in one villa for a few days then another the next just to see what they were like - obviously kind of hard since there were other tenants at the time.
We only had time to go on about 3 of the tours offered but those were great enough to see and experience the natural environment surrounding us.
Remember not to bring food that the monkeys can steal from you :)
Also I would have liked it to be a little cheaper but I'm always stingy that way. I think if more people went it would make it more economical as you are paying for a whole house I assume you could fit as many people as you would like into it! Not that I have tried..

Room Tip: check out the website for this place to have a preview of the different villas available -each one i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    37
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
64
38
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our 10 year anniversary and it was absolutely amazing. We stayed in the Romantic Wood Chalet for two weeks. We couldn't believe how wonderful the hotel was for only $750 per week, making it one of the least expensive vacation that we've taken. The place was a little smaller than we thought it would be, but was perfect otherwise. The website says 550sqft, so I suppose I should've expected it. The wildlife came near the hotel, but were never a nuisance. The staff was great and gave plenty of tips throughout our stay; without their guidance, I'm pretty sure that we would've been lost. We hiked in the rainforest near Manuel Antonio during the day and would relax on the veranda with cocktails in our hotel room in the evenings. The wife went to the spa while I golfed on a few of the days, both were top notch. The place really was like a fairy tale, I've been to Costa Rica two other times and this time was the best. As soon as we save a few bucks, we're headed back during the summer.

Room Tip: For an anniversary or honeymoon, I highly recommend staying in the Romantic Wood Chalet; to be fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was in Costa Rica with my family for a wedding a few months ago, and after the wedding we were looking for somewhere more spacious to stay. We chose the estates, and their Toucan Villa. The villa was over 2000 square feet, and the flora and fauna surrounding were simply incredible. The view of the ocean from the house was incredible, and sitting in the hot tub, listening to the monkeys was a blast.

Our only issue on the trip was a bulb out in a lamp, but when we called the management they fixed it in an instant, so I was thoroughly impressed. They wouldn't even fix it that fast at the four seasons.

I've been all around Central America, so let me offer one piece of advise. Absorb the culture. Sometimes when you visit a luxurious place like the estates you get complacent. Some of the best food I've ever eaten has been street food. Some of the most fun I've had in my lifetime has been had while engaging with locals... And now back to the review.

The villa was great, but to all you fellow world travelers out there, be active. Quepos was one of the most perfectly designed places for an active lifestyle I've ever been to. There are some awesome hiking trails in the park that I'd highly recommend visiting, and if you miss the snorkeling, you're missing out big time. That was my family's favorite activities.

The MA estates are definitely on my list of places to come back to, and if you follow my advice, you'll love it just as much.

Room Tip: Next time I go, I want to try the Manakin Villa. Ours was great, but that looked like a huge villa...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank seatrate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario, Can
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed for the month of oct and nov in an Eco condo at MAE while I attended school in Quepos. I loved the condo and the views. The monkeys every morning on the roof was my Costa Rican alarm clock.
The pool was under renovations the duration of my stay here but I was informed before my stay.
Jessica my housekeeper was very sweet and accommodating:)
The location was great for me, bus stop was 2 mins walk, the beach was a 10 min bus ride and my school was a 8 min walk
I had a great time here and would return, if you don't have a car and are walking , there is a large steep hill to climb up to the condos and a lot of stairs:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaRepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Our family recently spent 8 wonderful days in the Villa Jacana. We loved the monkeys on the deck, the 3 toed sloth in the tree and endless visits from the Iguanas. Our stay was made even better by the great care that we received from the office and the daily help that was provided.
Thank You to the staff of Manuel Antonio Estates for making our family adventure a success!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Just stayed here recently with family in the Villa Jacana. It was a great week and I would recommend to anyone. Both Richard and Dorit as well as the rest of the staff were accommodating and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

This place is a dump and way overpriced. We could not get rid of the bugs - there were even bugs in the beds. The mold is everywhere. We would have moved after the first night but the owner would not refund our money. So, don't pay cash. The maids do not speak or understand english. Therefore, we could not communicate. Next time we visit Costa Rica we will stay in a resort which will cost us less and where we will have a comfortable vacation. Multiply all the negative comments in the reviews by 100 and that will provide you with an accurate assessment of this property.

Room Tip: stay anywhere else but this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerfromthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemire, Owner at Manuel Antonio Estates, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for your review, I'm very sorry to read your comments,
Could you please let us know the dates of your visit and the villa you stayed?
Will be happy to review the your reservation and if appropriate credit you for your next visit in Costa Rica.
I may add that the maids been working for over 5 years and they may not speak English but they do understand the basic cleaning issue with the villa. And we also offer a concierge service that do speak English, German, Spanish and French it is to bad you couldn't communicate with her directly not sure why!
As the owner I do not recall having a discussion about a refund, please refresh my memories,
as you can read most clients that stay with us have a very good experience. and it is unfortunate that you would go on and write this after your stay with out mention any during your stay!
Look to heard back from you!

richard lemire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
0.6 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Condotel Las Cascadas
Condotel Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 16 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Manuel Antonio
Hotel Manuel Antonio
#31 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manuel Antonio Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel Antonio Estates

Property: Manuel Antonio Estates
Address: Manuel Antonio Estates, Quepos 12-6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas, homes and condos at Manuel Antonio Estates, offering rentals by the week for all group sizes & budgets! All villas offer private pool, blue Pacific Ocean views, proximity of the bustling fishing village of Quepos, spectacular famed beaches of Manuel Antonio nearby, monkeys, 180 species of birds, essence of luxury & pure tranquility. Peacefulness awaits in our lush tropical jungle w/world class Spa. Our accommodations suit every need and taste from cozy eco condos for 1-4 people to premier/deluxe homes for 18 of your closest amigos. Exciting Tours! Rainforest Canopy, Horseback, Mangrove Monkey, ATV Sportfishing, much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manuel Antonio Estates Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing