We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden gem”
Review of La Cubanita

La Cubanita
Ranked #46 of 83 Restaurants in Quepos
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Seafood, Spanish, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Waitstaff
Description: One of the best places in Quepos downtown to have a fantastic meal, the best food and also the best prices
orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My husband and I found this little place in back of town. Best breakfast in town. Prices are so great we are goingback for dinner. Jonathan the owner makes the best breakfast potatoes. Yum! Cant wait to go back for dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty Food & Cheap!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

La Cubanita is by no means a fancy restaurant. It is a homely, inviting place that serves large portions at an affordable price. We ordered plates full of fresh fish and chicken with veggies that were made right on the spot! The food had a nice tasty flavor to it and we were given so much we had leftovers to take. I recommend La Cubanita for travellers on a budget or big eaters that want to get a bang for their buck. The staff was very helpful and attentive, making us feel very welcomed. After our meal, we headed over to the center of Quepos for desserts. I look forward to returning to La Cubanita in the future!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cbreeze2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were pointed to this restaurant by one of our hotel's employees. He was right on. Delicious food cooked fresh. We order the seafood soup and mixed seafood. Both were delicious. Prices are very accessible. The server was very nice with us. This is a Pop & mom restaurant. Nothing fancy. I would eat there again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
248 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cuban and Costa Rican Food!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We ate here twice while staying at a 5 star resort in MA with our kids (10,12,14) and loved it. It will take a 1/2 hour to get your food because it is all being cooked fresh in La Cubanita's open kitchen. The owner is very nice and speaks some English. We watched her cooked and learned how to make a tasty yucca dish. The stuffed calamari is great as is the casada plate (the "typical costa rican faire), which is $5 (calamari was $9.) The friend yucca was everyone's fav! So save yourself some money, eat some great food (lunch and dinner) and get a little culture.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WKCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
“A nice experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very clean. Simple food. The guacamole was the best that I've ever tried. We had lunch for two with the guacamole as apettizer, as main entree we had shrimp stuffed calamary in a sauce that was a bit rich for my taste but edible, and a whole fried fish that was plain, meaty and just delicious. The food was freshly made practically in front of you.To drink three cokes. All that for a total of $33 US. They do not take credit cards, only colones or dollars. The restaurant is in the front part of the owner/waitress/cook's house and it's kept extremily clean including the small bathroom that was spotless. It's very easy to get to, there's a main plaza that is a football soccer field witha church across the street. Stand with your back to the church and looking at the football field. To your right hand side there is a walking passage, take it and walk to the end of the field, as soon as it ends there will be a street, turn right and keep walking a few feet. There will be a little bridge over a creek, after you cross it the restaurant will be on your right hoand side and yes there is a sign over with the name "La cubanita".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mhidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cubanita also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Province of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
 

Been to La Cubanita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing