We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kayak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kayak Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Quepos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The owners of this place are great. Very welcoming and helpful. Tasty home cooked, made to order breakfast and consistent hot showers. AC worked great and beds were fine. Our room had a tv and mini-fridge as well. The only downside to this place is that if you're using it as a launching point for Manuel Antonio, it is a few kilometers outside of Quepos, but definitely worth the few extra minutes in the car. Kayak Lodge is a great value for your money, has plenty of parking and even has monkeys that are easily spottable in the trees surrounding the hotel. We were sad that we didn't have the time in our trip to take one of the kayak tours the place offers, which look fun and relaxing. The owners have a sweet little poodle who loves to make new friends, for those who are like me and really love dogs!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geauxredsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
61
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I called Marlene "mi mama de Costa Rica" because she was really like a caring mom during our whole stay. Since we were staying 4 days, she gave us a bigger room (3 double beds, a big fridge and a microwave). She also gave us access to a full outside kitchen so we could cook (we used it a lot as we could prepare our lunch to take with us to the beach or other activities!) The beds were super comfortable, the A/C worked well, everything was clean and in good condition. Breakfast are amazing and you get to choose from a menu!(5 to 6 different options!) Kayak Lodge is split in 2 sections: The main section is where the dining room, reception, living room, recreation area(pool, foozball), garden and swimming pool. The other section (where we were staying) is across the street by the river and the mangrove and just as nice. We did kayaking in the mangrove all the way to Isla de Damas and the ocean. You can also book different tours with a guide to explore the mangroves as well. It is recommended to have a car to stay here. It is about 15 minutes drive to Manuel Antonio, 30 minutes to Dominical and 45 minutes to Playa Uvita.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcVl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We came to the Kayak Lodge after a long and hard drive, which we got robbed during it. after having this terrible day Bernard welcomed us with a worm and friendly hospitality, calmed us down and took us to a nice restaurant. The next day we were upgraded to one of the biggest hotel rooms i've seen, with around 4 rooms, 2 bedrooms (not that we needed it) TV sets and AC with a fan, a huge kitchen and a balcony to Damas river. We didnt have to pay extra for the upgrade. The next morning we woke up to monkeys scream and we saw monkey just in front of us, eating bananas from the balcony! amazing.
the place is a bit far from the city and the resort, but who cares? Bernarad made us feel like home, took care of us, he even put some Jewish traditional music to cheer us up. he and his lovely wife helped us so much and all our bad feelings disappeared. This is much more important to us then anything else

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms on the other side, next to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007theshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked this Lodge due to the reviews. Was not mistaken to have chosen it. The owners went over and above the call of duty. So warm, friendly and hospitable. The breakfasts were amazing!! The kayak tour of the mangroves was an experience I will never forget. We were really made to feel like part of their family. Got to see the monkeys up close and personal.
I feel like going back to Costa Rica, just so I can visit with these awesome people again and stay at their establishment.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Apart from the comfortable rooms, the hosts make you feel special at this quiet and relaxing lodge next to the mangroves a few blocks off the main highway. My friends daughter was celebrating a birthday and Marlene and Bernie played "Happy Birthday" lit a candle and made her feel special. We used this as a base for the very crowded Manuel Antonio Nat'l Park and the hosts let us shower and freshen up when we returned past check out time with no hurry as the room wasn't reserved that next night. The breakfast was delicious and filling. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevezimcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

During our first trip to Costa Rica, with a family of four (with two
daughters: a twelve-year-old and nineteen-year-old), we found the Quepos area to be one of the best due to our stay at Kayak Lodge. We were initially met with a bit of confusion; for some reason Marlene (the hotel owner, along with her husband, Bernard) thought that we had reserved two rooms, when in fact we only had one. Expecting a big delay because of this, we were quite happily surprised when Marlene simply gave us the larger of the two rooms without hesitation! The room, known to be the “family room,” was marvelous! It had two bedrooms, each with a queen bed and TV, one large bathroom, a front room consisting of another twin bed and two big couches (also capable of being slept on), a dining area, and a decently-sized kitchen. It was more than an enough area for a family of four to live comfortably.
Right outside our room--which we referred to as a “house” because of its size—we had a porch on which we could sit on rocking-chairs and look over the beautiful mangrove. We were also very happily surprised when we saw many different animals right on our porch throughout our stay—from monkeys to iguanas! If you stay in the lodge, do not miss out on this room (there’s only one)!
Though the room was spectacular, what really made our stay something we will never forget was Marlene’s genuine hospitality. Luckily, our older daughter speaks Spanish, so we were able to converse with her easily (Marlene speaks very little English, but Bernard is fluent—but Bernard was out of town most of our stay). She is truly one of the most benevolent people we have ever met! When we asked for a cab, she insisted that she drove us (we came during the rainy-season, so we were the only guests in the lodge at the time—a treat of its own!) She took us to dinner each night, where of course we loved having her company as we dined! She also was more than flexible with our schedules; even when breakfast is not scheduled to open until seven, when we wanted to eat at 6:30am, she was more than happy to oblige.
She also would be the one to drive us where we needed to go, even that early! We cannot thank Marlene and Bernard enough for their amazing hospitality, making our stay in the Quepos area the best of our trip.

Room Tip: Choose bigger suite for family as described in the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Bernal and Marlene were wonderful during our stay at the Kayak Lodge! My wife and I were just married the previous week in Mexico and they gave us the honeymoon treatment. We had planned to stay for four nights in a standard room, which is small (but adequate), but Bernal and Marlene upgraded us to the Suite for the first 3 nights, since it was not going to be occupied, at no extra charge. The suite was spacious and amazing, with two rooms and a patio that opened up right to the Mangrove. The capuchins came by each day before dark and my wife was quite content spending most of her evenings with them, as they feed on some of the nearby fruit trees. Marlene and Bernal are always smiles and do truly make you feel special the entire stay. If it is your first time in the area, Manuel Antonio and Quepos can be a bit overcrowded and hectic at times, so the location of the Kayak Lodge worked out great (especially if you have a rental car) as you are not too far from the action, but we could come back to the lodge for some peace and tranquility at the end of the day.

Room Tip: It is worth it to stay in the suite if it is available, as it is right on the Mangrove.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMadrid21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
5.6 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 15 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 15 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sueno Tranquilo
#10 of 14 in Quepos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayak Lodge

Property: Kayak Lodge
Address: Calle Estero de Damas No. 80, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayak Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Kayak Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast establishment. Located in front of tropical mangrove forest, at Costa Rica's central pacific coastline, committed to the natural environment. 10 Miles away from Manuel Antonio National Park. The Lodge has 20 rooms with air conditioned, free Wi-Fi, direct dial telephone, cable/satellite TV, bathroom with hot water, outdoor pool and parking. All rooms have access and may use the guest kitchen/dining area in the Main Lodge, outdoor pool and parking Kayak Lodge has an organized paddling activity: "Mangrove Forest Kayak Tour" You can also book here for other tours: Rainforest Canopy and Superman zipline, horseback riding, rafting, sportfishing, catamaran, ATV, Manuel Antonio National Park guided tour, Surfing Lessons, Paddle boarding (SUP) and boat through the mangrove wildlife. Other visits: Biesanz Beach: 20 minutes by car. Matapalo beach: 30 minutes by car. Damas Island Beach: 30 min by boat. This place is visited by white-faced monkeys and iguanas live here. There are a variety of birds and fauna. You can see the phenomenon of tides and its relation to the excursions in the mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kayak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayak Hotel Quepos
Kayak Lodge Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing