We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly place to stay!”
Review of Kayak Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kayak Lodge
Ranked #1 of 16 Quepos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Our stay was very lovely and the owners treated us like we were very special. The food was very reasonable at the lodge although limited in variety. The room and bathroom were very clean along with everything else at the facility. This facility is geared toward visitors who want to experience the real Costa Rica and who are outdoors oriented. I would recommend it for families or active couples. My wife and I appreciated our time with Bernal and Marlene and their efforts to make us feel welcome.

Room Tip: The rooms on the main courtyard are more desireable.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitey179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
There are newer reviews for Kayak Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 123 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2011

I thought that nothing could beat our stay in Monteverde (check out the other review I posted - also an excellent experience). I have been proved wrong.
Marlene and Bernal have immediately become like an extended family, literally within the first 15 minutes they made us feel like we have come back to our second home. It is the small things, gestures and general feel that count, so I won't list it all here, but from what we saw and seen on TripAdv we are not the only ones who noticed that :) The hosts love what they do and they do it with passion.

On a more hard data side:
The hotel is in a remote location, but someone will usually give you a lift to town or Manuel Antonio..
The kayak tour - personalized and run specially for us by Bernal was outstanding. We have seen tons of animals including a baby croc.
As for animals - monkeys, iguanas, crabs, hummingbirds - you can all see it on the property.

Rooms are not the most spacious out there - well, we had a tiny one to tell the truth, but it didn't detract from the lotsa fun we had at Kayak Lodge.

RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: The regular rooms are tiny (no wardrobe, just hangers) so if you are looking for space, make sure yo...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrImpressa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

There's not much I can add to the other reviews. The Kayak Lodge is a great place and Bernal and Marlene are fantastic hosts. We only stayed here for 1 night, but felt home right away. Weather was not on our side, so we were very glad to be able to stay in such a nice place. Due to the rain, we had to cancel the kayak trip we had planned in the afternoon. Bernal was nice enough to take us with him on his kayak tour the next morning, really early.
We've stayed in a lot of different lodges during our Costa Rica trip, but the Kayak Lodge was by far the best.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lt_Frank_Drebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We're actually at the lodge now, night 2 of 3. I have neve met 2 nicer hosts! Marlene and Bernard. From the moment we drove on the compound, and once you see what they built, you'll understand my use of the word compound. Bernard designed the hotel and every part of it shows his careful attention to detail.

The second I arrived and I introduced myself I felt like we were old friends. They are that special of people here.

Today Bernard took maybe 10 of us on a personal kayak tour of the mangroves. We learned about tides, about the 3 different kinds of mangroves.

The breakfast is lovely. Whatever you like the kitchen staff will make. Great coffee, fruit, eggs....

We stayed in 4 different locations on this amazing Costa Rica adventure. We would felt cheated if we somehow missed out on this one.

If you want to feel at home, to meet hosts that love people and what they do, come to Kayak Lodge!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We chose to stay at the Kayak Lodge because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. Marlene and Bernal are probably the cutest couple ever and they were excellent hosts. The lodge is a bit outside of Quepos, but we had a car so it was no problem at all. I'm sure you can catch a bus into town as well. I would definitely recommend doing the kayak tour to Damas Island. You go through the mangroves to get there and the beach is totally empty. We were served a lunch of fresh fish and fried plantains while we were there - it was the best meal we had on the whole trip. Kayak Lodge is a great alternative to staying in the super touristy Quepos/Manuel Antonio area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiegwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

If you are looking for an adventure and an experience in and around Manuel Antonio area this is the place to stay! Unlike Manuel Antonio itself the lodge is situated in an area that is not as tourist laden....the results? Monkeys, Boa Constrictors, Iquanas, and other wildlife (including a possible crocodile siting at night in the Mangroves)....my husband and I loved this place....if you like to fish bring your pole. At slack tide you can catch a Snook the size of your leg (okay, we saw it and wished we had our fishing poles). We took the Kayak tour with the owner Bernal and saw crabs, white face monkeys, and other regional wildlife. If you decide to buy any jewerly then make sure it's made by Bernals wife Marlene. She hand makes it and it costs a quarter of the price you pay in Manuel Antonio! Thank you Marlene! This was an extraordinary experiene made so much richer by the owners who were just good people!

Room Tip: If the lodge is not booked then ask for the upgrade to the apartment sized lodging....all the rooms...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livinginthemoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2011

Great place, beautiful, modern, clean, spacious. Bernal and Marlene upgraded us to their suite that had a large living room, dining/kitchen. What i liked was the view and access right out to the mangroves. Marlene called her monkeys (friends) over for us. Staying here is not your typical hotel where the manager/owner is a stranger. Instead, Bernal and Marlene were gracious hosts and went out of their way to make sure we enjoy our stay.

It is 20 minutes drive to Manuel Antonio Park/beach and that's the only reason for my 4 star. But the mangrove is right in your back yard if that's more of your thing. I enjoyed both.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank IceKream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
6.0 mi away
Hotel Mono Azul
Hotel Mono Azul
#1 of 13 in Quepos
392 reviews
5.2 mi away
Serenity Boutique Hotel Quepos
5.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel & Casino Kamuk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
6.3 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#5 of 13 in Quepos
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayak Lodge

Address: Calle Estero de Damas No. 80, Quepos 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Quepos
Price Range: $63 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kayak Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Kayak Lodge is a Bed & Breakfast establishment. Located in front of tropical mangrove forest, at Costa Rica's central pacific coastline, committed to the natural environment. 10 Miles away from Manuel Antonio National Park. The Lodge has 20 rooms with air conditioned, free Wi-Fi, direct dial telephone, cable/satellite TV, bathroom with hot water, outdoor pool and parking. All rooms have access and may use the guest kitchen/dining area in the Main Lodge, outdoor pool and parking Kayak Lodge has an organized paddling activity: "Mangrove Forest Kayak Tour" You can also book here for other tours: Rainforest Canopy and Superman zipline, horseback riding, rafting, sportfishing, catamaran, ATV, Manuel Antonio National Park guided tour, Surfing Lessons, Paddle boarding (SUP) and boat through the mangrove wildlife. Other visits: Biesanz Beach: 20 minutes by car. Matapalo beach: 30 minutes by car. Damas Island Beach: 30 min by boat. This place is visited by white-faced monkeys and iguanas live here. There are a variety of birds and fauna. You can see the phenomenon of tides and its relation to the excursions in the mangroves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Kayak Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayak Hotel Quepos
Kayak Lodge Costa Rica/Quepos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing